Most pages about medical tuition in Ukraine give you a single confident number. This one gives you something more useful: the figures Ukrainian universities have actually published for international students, each with the year it applies to and a link to the source, so you can check it yourself.
That means some entries here carry a date and some are marked as undated. We have not smoothed that over. A dated figure and an undated one are different kinds of information, and treating them the same is how students end up budgeting against a number nobody stands behind.
We are not quoting you a price on this page. These are published figures, some of them from previous intakes, and none of them is a guarantee of what you will be charged. For a confirmed current figure for your university and programme, ask us and we will obtain it in writing or tell you plainly that we could not.
How to Read This Page
Each university below carries one of three labels:
- Dated — the source itself states the academic year or intake the fee applies to.
- Undated — the figure is published by an official source, but that source does not say which year it applies to. Treat it as indicative only.
- Nothing current published — we could not find official international fee figures at all.
We use only the university’s own publications and the Ukrainian government’s official study portal. We do not use agency websites as evidence for fees, because they overwhelmingly reproduce each other’s older figures without a source.
Ternopil National Medical University — Dated 2025/2026
The clearest source we found. The university’s international students’ faculty publishes a full schedule and states explicitly that the figures are as set up for the 2025/2026 academic year, in US dollars, not including other minor obligatory expenses or the hostel fee.
General Medicine — the university describes this as an MD, Medical Doctor Degree, equivalent to MBBS. Duration 5 years 10 months.
- English: $3,500 for year one, then $4,100 per year — $24,000 total
- Ukrainian: $3,000 for year one, then $3,700 per year — $21,500 total
Dentistry — 4 years 10 months. English $22,000 total; Ukrainian $18,500 total.
Pharmacy — 4 years 10 months. English $18,800 total; Ukrainian $16,900 total.
Nursing — BSN and MSN, instruction in English, $2,800 per year, described as stable across all years.
Public Health, Paramedic and Physical Training — $2,800 per year in English.
Accommodation: the university publishes hostel costs for September 2025 to August 2026 at 1,390 to 1,825 UAH per month for one bed in double or triple occupancy rooms.
Deadlines: 1 November for the autumn semester, 1 March for the spring semester.
Source: tdmu.edu.ua international payment information. Read our full profile of Ternopil National Medical University.
Ivano-Frankivsk National Medical University — Dated 2025 Intake
The university publishes a table headed, in Ukrainian, “tuition in US dollars for foreigners entering IFNMU in 2025”. The page it sits on is titled for 2026, but the table itself specifies the 2025 intake, so that is how we have labelled it.
This source is unusually complete: it gives both the annual fee and the full-course total.
- Medicine, Master’s, English — $4,000 per year, $24,000 for the full course
- Medicine, Master’s, Ukrainian — $3,700 per year, $22,200 total
- Dentistry, Master’s, English — $4,300 per year, $21,500 total
- Dentistry, Master’s, Ukrainian — $3,800 per year, $19,000 total
- Pharmacy, Master’s, English — $3,600 per year, $18,000 total
- Pharmacy, Master’s, Ukrainian — $3,200 per year, $16,000 total
- PhD, full-time — $3,200 per year, $12,800 total; part-time $1,550 per year, $6,200 total
The university states that payment is made in the hryvnia equivalent at the National Bank of Ukraine rate on the day of payment, by bank transfer, under a contract for the provision of paid services. See the section on exchange rates below, because this matters more than it looks.
Source: ifnmu.edu.ua cost of education. Read our full profile of Ivano-Frankivsk National Medical University.
National Pirogov Memorial Medical University, Vinnytsia — Dated Orders for 2025–2026
The university’s admission page for foreigners lists two official fee orders — №330-3 and №330-4, both dated 19 May 2025, establishing tuition for foreign citizens and stateless persons for the 2025–2026 academic year. Those orders are published as PDF documents; the amounts are inside the documents rather than on the page itself, and no 2026–2027 order was listed at the time of writing.
Separately, the Ukrainian government’s study portal lists figures for this university which carry no stated year. Because we cannot show that these portal figures are the same as the dated 2025–2026 orders, we present them as undated:
- Medicine, English — $3,500 in year one, $4,000 in year two, $4,900 in years three to six, $27,100 total (undated)
- Stomatology, English — $23,400 total (undated)
- Pharmacy, English — $20,000 full-time, $14,850 extramural (undated)
Sources: vnmu.edu.ua admission for foreigners and the government study portal. Read our full profile of National Pirogov Memorial Medical University.
Bogomolets National Medical University — Undated
Bogomolets publishes a complete schedule on its international-student portal, but the portal does not state which academic year the figures apply to, and we could not establish it independently.
- Medicine, 6 years, 360 ECTS — English $3,500 year one, then $4,700 per year; Ukrainian $3,000 then $3,600
- Dentistry, 5 years — English $3,600 year one, then $4,975 per year; Ukrainian $3,600 then $4,100
- Pharmacy, 5 years — English $3,700 year one, then $4,075 per year; Ukrainian $2,800 then $3,300
- Preparatory Department, 1 year — $1,200
Source: foreign.nmuofficial.com. Read our full profile of Bogomolets National Medical University.
Official but Undated Figures
For the following universities the figures come from the Ukrainian government’s official study portal, which lists an annual cost in US dollars for foreign citizens but does not state an academic year. Treat them as indicative.
Danylo Halytsky Lviv National Medical University — General Medicine Ukrainian $4,000 / English $4,900 per year; Dentistry $4,300 / $5,200; Pharmacy $3,500 / $4,000. Source. The university’s own PDF for international students exists but we were unable to load it.
Kharkiv National Medical University — Medicine Ukrainian $4,500 / English $4,800 per year; Dentistry $4,980 / $5,400; Nursing $4,100; Physical Therapy $4,300. Source. The university’s own international tuition page returns a 404 error.
Sumy State University — Medicine Ukrainian $3,850 / English $4,300 per year; Dentistry $4,000 / $4,400; Nursing and Emergency Medicine $3,000 / $3,200; Public Health Master’s $2,200. Published on the university’s own site without a year: source. Its dated fee orders for foreign citizens run only to the 2021–2022 year.
One Piece of Evidence Worth Knowing
The government portal’s figures for Ivano-Frankivsk match that university’s own 2025 intake table exactly — $3,700 and $4,000 for Medicine, $3,800 and $4,300 for Dentistry, $3,200 and $3,600 for Pharmacy. That tells us the portal’s undated data is at least 2025 vintage rather than current. It is a good reason not to assume that a figure is up to date simply because the page is still online.
V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University — Nothing Current Published
We could not find current published international degree fees. The university’s page of tuition fees for foreign citizens is dated 5 February 2019 and gives only preparatory course figures of $1,500, or $1,700 with English as the medium of instruction. Its School of Medicine page for international students dates from November 2022 and contains no figures, directing students to email instead. A 2025/2026 fee announcement exists but applies to domestic contract students. See our profile of V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University.
The Trap: Ukrainian Domestic Fees Are Not International Fees
This is the single most useful thing on this page, and it explains why so many published “MBBS in Ukraine” figures are wrong.
Ukrainian universities set two entirely separate fee schedules. One is for Ukrainian citizens, published in hryvnia. The other is for foreign citizens, normally published in US dollars. They are different documents, different amounts, and only the second one applies to you.
The problem is that universities publish the domestic schedule promptly and the international one slowly. At the time of writing:
- Kharkiv National Medical University publishes a current schedule for the 2026–2027 year explicitly headed “for domestic citizens”, in hryvnia — Medicine 410,700 UAH for the full 5 years 10 months, Dentistry 366,000 UAH. Its international page, meanwhile, is a dead link.
- Lviv had 2026–2027 contract prices reported in the Ukrainian press — Dentistry rising to 130,000 UAH a year, Medicine to 95,000 UAH. Those are domestic contract figures carried by news outlets, not the university’s international schedule.
- Sumy State University published a 2026–2027 fee order in May 2026, but it belongs to the general full-time schedule. Its dedicated foreign-citizens section has not been updated since 2021–2022.
If someone converts those hryvnia figures into dollars and presents the result as your MBBS fee, the number will be wrong — and usually wrong in the direction that makes the course look cheaper than it is. A fee figure that is not explicitly labelled for foreign citizens should not be trusted as an international fee.
Why the Dollar Figure Is Not the Amount You Pay
Ivano-Frankivsk states this plainly, and it is worth understanding before you budget.
The fee is quoted in US dollars but charged in hryvnia, converted at the National Bank of Ukraine’s rate on the day you pay. The dollar amount is a reference figure, not the sum that leaves your account.
Two practical consequences. First, the hryvnia amount you owe changes with the exchange rate, so paying on different dates can cost different amounts. Second, the currency risk sits with you rather than the university. Budget with some headroom, and ask what the payment schedule is before you commit.
How Payment Actually Works
Because the conversion happens when the money arrives rather than when you accept an offer, the sum leaving your account is not fixed in advance. What the universities publish about the mechanics is worth reading before you budget.
Tuition goes directly to the university’s own bank account. Ternopil states that the student is the only person responsible for payment and that it must be transferred directly to the university bank account, and it publishes separate accounts for US dollars, euro and hryvnia, each routed through a correspondent bank abroad. Ivano-Frankivsk states that payment is made by bank transfer under a contract for the provision of paid educational services. Expect an international transfer to take several working days and to attract intermediary bank charges, which sit on top of the tuition figure rather than inside it.
Take the account details from the university itself, never from a third party — including us. Published banking details change, they differ between a university’s own pages, and a misdirected international transfer is very hard to recover. Use the details on the university’s own website or, better, the ones in the contract you sign.
Fees are charged per academic year, and the deadlines are real. Every schedule we reviewed sets a separate amount for each year of study rather than one sum for the whole course. Ternopil publishes a payment deadline of 1 September, extended to 15 September for fifth and sixth-year students, and states that students who have not paid by that date — including payment for medical insurance — will be expelled. It also notes that paying after a stated earlier date means attending classes only with written permission.
Deferral may be possible at some universities, but it is not a general instalment scheme. Ternopil publishes a specific process: payment may be deferred where an original supporting document is provided, such as a certificate from a hospital or bank or a letter from an embassy, and it requires a preliminary payment of at least 700 US dollars plus an application to the Dean’s Office by a stated date. That is one university’s published policy. It is not a feature of Ukrainian higher education generally, and we would not assume any other university offers the same. If splitting a year’s fee matters to your circumstances, ask that university before you accept an offer and get the answer in writing, in the contract.
What Tuition Does Not Include
Tuition is not the total cost of studying. Depending on the university, you should also expect to budget for:
- Accommodation — Ternopil publishes 1,390 to 1,825 UAH per month for a hostel bed; other universities vary.
- The invitation letter and its official registration
- Visa costs, document translation and legalisation
- Medical examination and health insurance on arrival
- Living costs, travel and residence permit registration
Our pages on accommodation, invitation letters and student visa requirements cover those elements in detail. If your language or academic preparation is not yet sufficient for direct entry, a preparatory course adds a year — Ternopil and Bogomolets both publish preparatory fees.
What the Published Totals Actually Show
We are deliberately not publishing an average fee for Ukraine. An average calculated across figures from different years, different programmes and different currencies would look authoritative and mean nothing.
What we can say factually is narrower and more useful. Three universities publish a full-course total for English-medium medicine, and those totals sit close together: Ternopil at $24,000 for 2025/2026, Ivano-Frankivsk at $24,000 for the 2025 intake, and Vinnytsia at $27,100 in undated government portal data. Annual English-medium medicine figures across all the official sources above fall roughly between $3,500 and $4,900, with first years usually at the lower end.
That is a planning range drawn from labelled sources — not a quote, not an average, and not a promise.
Get a Confirmed Figure for Your Programme
Every figure on this page is published by someone else and carries the date we found on it. None of it is a commitment from a university to charge you that amount.
Tell us the university and programme you are considering and we will go and get the current figure in writing, together with a full breakdown covering tuition, the invitation letter, application processing, accommodation and airport pickup. If we cannot obtain a current confirmed figure for that institution, we will tell you so rather than repeat an old one.
Start by reading the admissions requirements, then apply online or send us your documents. If you are still choosing between institutions, our guide to medical universities in Ukraine sets out what actually separates them, and studying medicine in Ukraine covers the whole route.