Kyiv, Since 1841 — and the One Profile Where We Have Official Fees

Bogomolets National Medical University

GOOGLE REVIEWS

Trusted by International Students

★★★★★

“Study in Ukraine Today is the ultimate choice when it comes to student admission services. I was recommended to them 4 years ago and this year I am graduating with a Bachelor's degree in International Economics.”

Kioi Charlz

★★★★★

“I never knew much about Ukraine but I found Study in Ukraine Today through Google. They guided me through the whole process from Kenya until arrival.”

Kevin John

★★★★★

“Study in Ukraine Today is the best agency for students who want to study in Ukraine. Great team and they help with everything.”

Murtaza Nuruddin

View Google Reviews

Bogomolets National Medical University (NMU) in Kyiv is one of the oldest and largest medical schools in Ukraine, and it is the only university on this site for which the institution itself publishes a full tuition schedule for international students. That matters, because it means the figures further down this page come from the university rather than from us, from an agency, or from a guess.

Everything below is drawn from the university’s own official website and its international-student portal, with dates and sources stated. Where the university does not publish something — or publishes it without saying which year it applies to — we say so rather than fill the gap.

1841: Twenty-Nine Students

The university dates itself precisely. The Council of St. Volodymyr University in Kyiv approved the opening of a medical faculty in September 1841. Teaching began on 9 September 1841, when Professor M.I. Kozlov delivered the first anatomy lecture, followed on 12 September by Professor V.O. Karavaiev lecturing on the encyclopedia and methodology of medicine. The first admission was twenty-nine students.

By 2010 the university records its student body having grown to around 10,000 people. That is the arc: from a first-year cohort you could fit in one room to one of the largest medical universities in the country.

How It Became Independent — and Why That Year Keeps Recurring

In 1920 the medical faculty was separated from St. Volodymyr University and reconstituted as the Kyiv Institute of Health Care, uniting the faculty with other medical schools in the city. It was renamed the Kyiv State Medical Academy in 1921, later became the Kyiv Medical Institute, and in 1946 was given the name of O.O. Bogomolets, President of the Academy of Sciences of the Ukrainian SSR. In 1992 it was reorganised as the Ukrainian O.O. Bogomolets State Medical University, and in 1995, by Decree of the President of Ukraine, it received national university status.

If that 1920 date looks familiar, it should. The same year, in Kharkiv, the medical faculty of the Imperial University was separated out and merged into what became Kharkiv National Medical University. Ukraine’s major medical schools were largely detached from their parent universities in the same wave of Soviet reorganisation. It is a genuine historical pattern rather than a coincidence, and it explains why several Ukrainian medical universities appear to share founding dates with a general university in the same city.

In 2011 the university joined the Magna Charta Universitatum association, on its 170th anniversary.

Faculties

The university lists nine teaching units, and the range is wider than most Ukrainian medical universities:

  • Medical Faculty No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3
  • Dental Faculty
  • Pharmaceutical Faculty
  • Medical Psychological Faculty
  • Faculty for Training Doctors for the Armed Forces of Ukraine
  • Faculty for Training Foreign Citizens
  • Educational-Scientific Institute of Public Health and Preventive Medicine

Two of these are worth pausing on. A dedicated Medical Psychological Faculty is unusual. So is a faculty specifically for training doctors for the armed forces — a reminder that this is a working national institution with obligations beyond international recruitment.

Alongside the faculties the university operates a medical professional college, a library founded in 1841 alongside the faculty itself, and a simulation centre.

Programmes, Languages and Published Tuition

The university’s international-student portal states that students have the ability to study in the state language or in English, and publishes the following programmes and fees.

Medicine — 6 years, 360 ECTS credits. Ukrainian-medium: $3,000 for year one, then $3,600 per year for years two to six. English-medium: $3,500 for year one, then $4,700 per year for years two to six.

Dentistry — 5 years, 300 ECTS credits. Ukrainian-medium: $3,600 for year one, then $4,100 per year. English-medium: $3,600 for year one, then $4,975 per year.

Pharmacy — 5 years, 300 ECTS credits. Ukrainian-medium: $2,800 for year one, then $3,300 per year. English-medium: $3,700 for year one, then $4,075 per year.

Preparatory Department — 1 year, $1,200.

Primary Specialization in General Medical Practice — 12 months, $3,600.

Two honest caveats, and please read them before you budget against these numbers. First, the portal does not state which academic year these fees apply to, and we have not been able to verify that independently — so treat them as the published schedule at the time of writing (September 2026) and confirm the current year’s figures in writing before you commit. Second, tuition is not the whole cost: accommodation, the invitation letter, visa costs, insurance, translation and legalisation of documents all sit on top. We will give you a complete breakdown for your situation.

If your language is not yet strong enough for direct entry, the preparatory year exists for that purpose — see our guide to the preparatory course in Ukraine.

International Students: What Changed

This is where we want to be precise about the difference between what was true and what is true, because most pages about this university are not.

Before the full-scale invasion, the university’s portal records approximately 3,000 international students from 70 countries. The portal’s current statement is that representatives of 33 countries study at the National Medical University. Those are two different figures describing two different periods, and any page quoting the pre-war number as though it were today’s is misleading you.

On study format, the university states that Ukrainian education has adapted to distance and mixed formats of providing educational services, and its main site carried a notice in September 2026 about transitioning to a mixed form of education. So the honest summary is: currently mixed, and you should confirm what that means for your specific programme and year of study before applying. Ask particularly about clinical rotations, which are the part of a medical degree that cannot be delivered online, and about what a period of mixed study means for the licensing body in the country where you intend to practise.

Kyiv is not Kharkiv — it is far from the front line and functions as a capital city — but it is still subject to air raids, and you should read your own government’s travel advice for Ukraine before deciding.

Accommodation and Student Support

The university reports dormitory capacity of 1,072 beds in rooms of two to three people, and states that dormitory costs are regulated by current Ukrainian legislation and remain affordable for students. It operates an International Student Center handling document processing, housing and adaptation, and states that translator-mentors are on duty around the clock in the dormitory.

That last detail is a genuinely useful one for a nineteen-year-old arriving alone in a country whose alphabet they cannot yet read.

For more on the city itself, see our guide to studying in Kyiv.

Admission Documents

The portal states that applicants need complete secondary education and lists the documents required: a document confirming previous education (the original plus a notarised copy in two counterparts), a notarised copy of the passport, eight applicant photographs at 30×40 mm, and an invitation to study.

The portal does not publish application deadlines, which we could not verify from any official source — so ask directly and early, because intake dates drive everything else in your timeline.

For the full document package we require before opening an application, see admissions.

Accreditation — Documented, but Dated

The university’s own documents page records accreditation at the fourth (highest) level by decision of the State Accreditation Commission of 10 June 2003, minutes No. 45, under certificate RD-IV No. 118966, and a Ministry of Education licence, series AG No. 582604, approved by commission decision of 24 November 2011, minutes No. 91. The licence covers Medicine — including General Medicine, Paediatrics, Medical Psychology and Stomatology — and Pharmacy, together with internship, residency, postgraduate and foreign-student instruction. The page also notes that graduates receive a Diploma Supplement developed jointly by the European Commission, the Council of Europe and UNESCO/CEPES.

We are reporting those exactly as published, and noting equally plainly that the validity dates shown on that page are historical and we could not verify the current accreditation and licensing position from it. Confirm current status directly with the university.

Separately and more importantly: recognition of any Ukrainian medical degree is decided by the licensing authority in the country where you intend to practise, not by the university and not by us. See is a Ukrainian medical degree recognised for the principle, and put the specifics to your own regulator in writing.

How Study in Ukraine Today Helps

We handle the process: preparing and submitting a complete application, obtaining your official invitation letter, and guiding you through the Ukrainian Type D student visa requirements. We do not begin applications on incomplete files, because incomplete files fail later at the university or the embassy.

If you are still comparing institutions, our guide to medical universities in Ukraine sets out what actually separates them, and our overview of studying medicine in Ukraine covers the route end to end.

When you have a shortlist and a complete document set, apply online.

How the Admission Process Works

1

Submit your application

Use the Apply Online form, along with your international passport and your highest educational certificate.

2

Our admissions team reviews

We review your documents and academic background to match you with a suitable university and course.

3

We contact you directly

By email, phone, or WhatsApp, to confirm your application and request any additional documents if needed.

4

You receive your invitation letter

Along with guidance on the next steps, including visa support and accommodation.

Frequently Asked Questions

When was Bogomolets National Medical University founded?

The Council of St. Volodymyr University in Kyiv approved the opening of a medical faculty in September 1841, and teaching began on 9 September 1841 with the first anatomy lecture by Professor M.I. Kozlov. The first admission was twenty-nine students. The faculty became an independent institution in 1920 as the Kyiv Institute of Health Care, was named after O.O. Bogomolets in 1946, and received national university status by Presidential Decree in 1995.

Does Bogomolets National Medical University teach in English?

The university's international-student portal states that students have the ability to study in the state language or in English, and it publishes separate tuition rates for Ukrainian-medium and English-medium study, which indicates both are offered. Confirm the language of instruction for your specific programme, and specifically for the clinical years, directly with the university before committing.

How much is tuition at Bogomolets National Medical University?

The university's international portal publishes the following: Medicine, six years, 3,000 US dollars for year one and 3,600 per year thereafter in Ukrainian, or 3,500 for year one and 4,700 per year thereafter in English. Dentistry, five years, 3,600 for year one then 4,100 per year in Ukrainian, or 3,600 then 4,975 per year in English. Pharmacy, five years, 2,800 then 3,300 per year in Ukrainian, or 3,700 then 4,075 per year in English. The preparatory department is 1,200 for one year. Important: the portal does not state which academic year these figures apply to, and we could not verify that independently, so confirm current fees in writing before budgeting. Tuition also excludes accommodation, invitation letter, visa, insurance and document costs.

How many international students study there?

The university's portal records approximately 3,000 international students from 70 countries before the full-scale invasion, and states that representatives of 33 countries currently study at the university. Those figures describe two different periods and should not be conflated.

What faculties does the university have?

Nine teaching units: Medical Faculty No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3, the Dental Faculty, the Pharmaceutical Faculty, the Medical Psychological Faculty, the Faculty for Training Doctors for the Armed Forces of Ukraine, the Faculty for Training Foreign Citizens, and the Educational-Scientific Institute of Public Health and Preventive Medicine. It also operates a medical professional college, a library founded in 1841, and a simulation centre.

Is teaching currently on campus or online?

The university states that Ukrainian education has adapted to distance and mixed formats, and its main site carried a notice in September 2026 about transitioning to a mixed form of education. The accurate summary is that teaching is currently mixed. Ask the university in writing what format applies to your specific programme and year, and how clinical rotations are handled, before you apply.

What accommodation is available?

The university reports dormitory capacity of 1,072 beds in rooms of two to three people, and states that dormitory costs are regulated by current Ukrainian legislation and remain affordable. An International Student Center assists with document processing, housing and adaptation, and the university states that translator-mentors are on duty around the clock in the dormitory.

What documents are needed to apply?

The university's portal lists a document confirming previous education, being the original plus a notarised copy in two counterparts, a notarised copy of the passport, eight photographs at 30 by 40 millimetres, and an invitation to study. Complete secondary education is required. The portal does not publish application deadlines and we could not verify them, so ask early.

Contact Us

Get in touch

Ready to start your education journey? Study in Ukraine Today is here to help! Get in touch and let’s make your academic dreams a reality.

WhatsApp Us
Apply Online WhatsApp