Admiral Makarov National University of Shipbuilding in Mykolaiv is a higher education institution which trains specialists for the shipbuilding and allied industries of Ukraine. The university is named after the Russian admiral, Stepan Makarov, who was born in the city.
In April 1901, the Ministry of National Education of the Russian Empire announced the Mykolayiv Industrial Technical School. The school opened on 1 July 1902 at 3 Kuznechnaia street (now 5 Skorohodova street) marking the beginnings of the NUS. Teaching began on 18 September 1902 with courses including shipbuilding, mechanics, electrics and road building that was carried out in a department of works and in the school itself. The school had the status of a higher education institution: after three years of study, graduating students received the qualification of engineer.
In 1926 and 1927, the school was reorganised to teach technical shipbuilding and the course of study was lengthened to four years. The school was equipped with laboratories for metallurgy, chemistry, thermodynamics and engineering. In 1929 the Mykolayiv Shipbuilding Technical School was merged with the Mykolayiv Technical Night School and renamed the Mykolayiv Machine-building Institute and in 1930, in association with the ship building department of the Odessa Polytechnic Institute, it was renamed the Mykolayiv Shipbuilding Institute (MSI).
In 1941, at Russia’s entry into WWII, the MSI employed 94 teachers and was training almost 700 students. Approximately 500 students, teachers and employees were conscripted to the Red Army and sent to the front. Others were tasked with building defensive structures and harvesting crops. The MSI was evacuated, first to Stalingrad, then to Astrakhan and later to Przhevalsk, Kirghiz Soviet Socialist Republic. During the war, the MSI maintained 22 departments and trained 370 students. On 30 June 1944, it was decided to return the MSI to Mykolayiv and on 1 October 1944, it reopened. In 1945, 36.5 million khrb was allocated to a five year plan of restoration and development.
In 1946, the MSI was accredited for postgraduate study in marine engineering and steam and internal combustion engine design. Links were made with other institutes of science. In 1949, the MSI was renamed Admiral Makarov MSI for Stepan Makarov, a native of Mykolayiv, a naval admiral, and a marine engineer. By 1955, over eighty percent of the teachers at the Admiral Marakov MSI were involved in research.
18 September 1970 marked the 50th anniversary of the school and by decree of the presidium of the supreme rada of the USSR, the school was awarded the order of the Red Flag for merit in preparation of engineering workers and for its achievements in the development of scientists. On 17 May 1971, a new building was opened and work was begun on the construction of a thirteen story hostel that would house 1295 students. In 1971, 50 economists of engineering graduated.
In 1994, by the decision of the Cabinet of Ministers Council of Ukraine, the Admiral Makarov National Shipbuilding University received the highest level of accreditation, (level four), which gave it the status of a university and it adopted the new name, Ukrainian State Maritime Technical University. The president (chancellor) was Romanovskiy Georgiy Fedorovich. Then and now – Ryzhkov Sergii Sergiiovych.
Since 1941 MSI has trained over 1700 marine engineers and altogether, 55,000 industry ready workers. NUS has 8 institutes, 3 faculties, a school at sea, a campus in Kherson and representation in three cities of Ukraine. It has links with its community and with industry. A student population of 12,000 read in twenty-six areas and in thirty specialties. The university offers bachelor, expert and masters’ degrees; a doctorate of science; and academic and teacher education. The university employs 68 doctorate staff and 256 scientists specialising in new ship design, safety at sea, unmanned underwater craft, structures and works (such as welding), marine metallurgy and marine power (such as low pollution alternative energy sources for the marine industry). The university also provides certification of polymetric systems for metrological maintenance of onboard and coastal complexes; improvements of marine electric equipment and automatic systems, and methods and means of increasing the efficiency of touch maintenance and information complexes of hierarchically organised control systems.
The Ukraine ministerial committee on industrial policy and education (USSTU), recognized the university as a key provider of marine welders. In association with the German organization, NUS prepared 20 marine welders with qualifications matching European standards.
On 25 March 2004, the president of Ukraine gave the university a national status and it was renamed, Admiral Makarov National University of Shipbuilding. The NUS has associations with educational institutions of other nations, giving students the opportunity to study abroad.
Educational Scientific Centre of International Cooperation
Admiral Makarov National University of Shipbuilding international first year students.
The university’s Educational Scientific Centre of International Cooperation (ESCIC) organises the NUS associations with other universities in the US, Great Britain, Germany, Norway, China, Poland, Romania, Turkey, Bulgaria, Iran, Spain, Vietnam and the CIS. The ESCIC facilitates requests by NUS students for scholarships, international grants and exchanges. It liaises with, for example, the German academic exchange service, or DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst), the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, Germany), the Fulbright Program and International Research & Exchanges Board (IREX) in US, and the Education for Democracy Foundation (Poland). International students from many nations study on a contractual basis at NUS.
The Institute of Shipbuilding. Departments are:
Structural mechanics, fluid mechanics, hull construction, maritime technologies, ship theory and design, and shipbuilding technology.
The Institute of Computer, Engineering and Technological Sciences (faculty of technology). Departments are:
Faculty of technology, welding engineering, design and production of composite materials, material sciences and technology, computer science faculty, automated system software, project management, and, information system and technologies.
The Institute of Mechanical Engineering. Department (faculty of power engineering). Departments are:
Conditioning and refrigerating, marine and stationary power plants, thermal physics and steam-generating units, turbines, mechanics and ecology, internal combustion engines, ecology, marine mechanical engineering technology and mechanics and mechanical engineering.
The Institute of Automatic Control and Electrical Engineering. Departments are:
Computer assisted control systems, ship electrical equipment and information security, electrical power systems, automatic control engineering, theoretical electrical engineering and electronic systems, impulse processes and technologies, and, marine instrument engineering.
The Institute of Humanities. Departments are:
Theory and history of the state and law, law, applied linguistics, social studies and humanities, modern languages, design, Olympic and professional sports theory, and, physical training and sports.
The Institute of Extramural and Distant Learning, (faculty of mobile technologies). Departments are:
Theoretical mechanics, engineering graphics, life safety and civil defence, natural sciences, higher mathematics, physics, and, philosophy and cultural studies.
Engineering and economics
Kyiv educational and consulting centre.
Tockmak educational and consulting centre.
Yuzhnoukrainsk distant learning centre.
Kirovohrad distant learning centre.
Institute of postgraduate studies.
Alfred Nobel University, Dnipropetrovs’k, Ukraine
§Directions of Training
Accounting and Auditing
Commodity Analysis and Commercial Activities
Finance and Credit
Department of International Finance and Banking
Department of Sociology, Philosophy and Psychology
Department of Enterprise Economics and International Business
Department of Economic Cybernetics
Department of Informatics and Mathematical Methods in Economics
Foreign Language Department
Department of Second Foreign Languages
Department of International Economics and Economic Theory
Department of International Audit and Accounting
Department of Practical Psychology
Department of Applied Linguistics and Methods of Teaching Foreign Languages
Department of Commodity Analysis and Commercial Activities
Department of Physical Education
Translation Theory and Practice Department
July, 1993 – The shareholders’ meeting on the issue of founding Dnipropetrovsk Academy of Management, Business and Law (DAMBL)
September, 1993 – The commencement of the first year of studies at DAMBL with students specializing in Finance, Fiscal Management and Interpreting& Translation
June, 1994 – The Ukrainian Ministry of Science and Education license obtained entitling DAMBL to train students in Business Economics, Finance, Accounting and Auditing, Marketing and Translation
November, 1994 – The first issue of DAMBL magazine “The Academic Review” published
January, 1995 – DAMBL resumed its activities in a new group of buildings in Naberezhnaya Lenina Str., 18
June, 1995 – The first graduation with Specialist Degrees on the basis of preceding higher education
June, 1997 – Awarding for the first time Bachelor Degrees in Business Economics, Finance, Accounting and Auditing, Marketing and Translation
September, 1997 – The formation of Staff Retraining Institute and Pre-Tertiary Education Institute
September, 1997 – The establishment of Publishing Centre
October, 1997 – The first admission of Law students to the National Academy of Internal Affairs affiliated with DAMBL
November, 1997 – The commencement of MBA training at DAMBL Business School
December, 1997- The DAMBL affiliate in Reni, Odessa region, founded
June, 1998 – Post-graduate courses opened
June, 1998 – Awarding for the first time of Specialist Degrees in Enterprise Economics, Finance, Accounting and Auditing, Marketing
September, 1998 – Training commenced in such majors as “Commodity Analysis and Commercial Studies”, “Business Cybernetics” and “Management”
September, 1998 – DAMBL affiliate in Kremenchuk, Poltava region, founded
June, 1999 – Awarding for the first time of Specialist Degrees in Translation
September, 1999 – Training commenced in such majors as “Banking” and “International Economics”
June, 2001 – The Presidents of Ukraine and Poland participate in founding “Ukraine-Poland Centre for Management, Entrepreneurship and Encouragement of Investment”
June, 2001 – The formation of DAMBL Law Department
December, 2001 – DAMBL transformed into Dnipropetrovsk University of Economics and Law (DUEL)
February, 2002 – Commencement of doctorate studies
June, 2002 – Specialized Scholarly Council organized for defense of dissertations in Economics
June, 2002 – Awarding Master Degrees for the first time
January, 2003 – First dissertations defended at DUEL’s Specialized Scholarly Council
May, 2003 – The Nobel Prize Winners in Economics Commemoration Hall opened May, 2003 – DUEL’s museum opened May, 2003 – Television and radio broadcasting company “Spivdruzhnist” founded by DUEL went on the air
September, 2004 – Foundation of the Career Counseling Office
May, 2005 – DUEL was granted the 4th (highest) level of accreditation by the Ukrainian Ministry of Science and Education
November, 2005 – Commencement of implementation of Bologna Declaration principles in DUEL
October, 2006 – The first issue of scholarly journal “The European Vector of Economic Development” founded
October, 2006 – DUEL added to the National Register of Research Institutions
February, 2007 – Training commenced in such a major as “Psychology”
September, 2007 – DUEL joined The Magna Charta Universitatum
January, 2008 – Implementation of the international scientific and educational project TEMPUS/TACIS
May, 2008 – Creation of the Charitable Foundation “The Planet of Alfred Nobel”.
September, 2008 – Holding the International Nobel Economic Forum “World Economy of the 21st Century: Cycles and the Crises”. The memorial symbol “AlLFRED Nobel Planet” unveiling ceremony.
March, 2009 – The Virtual Session of the International Nobel Economic Forum
May, 2009 – DUEL was granted the 4th (highest) level of accreditation by the Ukrainian Ministry of Science and Education
September, 2009 – May, 2010 – at the initiative of Dnipropetrovs’k University of Economics and Law the International Nobel Students’ Internet Contest was held
October, 2009 – at the initiative of the University a joint project “University of the Third Age” was started? Which provides training to more than 400 listeners of pension age
November, 2009 – at the University in cooperation with the International Association for Institutional Research, the 7-th International Conference “Problems of Modern Economics and Institutional Theory” was held
December, 2009 – the University was recognized as”Industry Leader” according to the rating calculated according by official statistics (second place among the educational institutions of Ukraine)
February, 2010 – University started preparation for the introduction of English language training program through beginning the process of validation of Bachelor in International Management program with the University of Wales
May,2010 – According to the annual ranking “Ukrainian Compass”, the University ranked first among non-state private educational institutions in the quality of training economists and the second – in the quality of training lawyers.
May, 2010 – The Second International Nobel Economic Forum “The World Economy of the 21st Century: Crises and Cycles”.
June, 2010 – By the decision of the International Economic Ranking “Best League” Dnipropetrovs’k University of Economics and Law received the national certificate “Factory of the Year 2010”.
October, 2010 – Dnipropetrovs’k University of Economics and Law was given the name of Alfred Nobel.
October, 2010 – the University has received a Certificate of European Business Assembly “European Quality” for compliance with European standards in education.
November, 2010 – The University of Wales completed the procedure of validation of Bachelor degree program in International Management in Alfred Nobel Dnipropetrovs’k University of Economics and Law named after Alfred Nobel.
November, 2010 – at the exhibition “Education and Science”, held in Kiev, the University received the Gold Medal in the category “Development of logistics”.
May, 2011 – The Second Virtual Session of the International Nobel Economic Forum “The World Economy of the 21st Century: Cycles and Crises”
August, 2011 – Alfred Nobel University of Economics and Law transformed into Alfred Nobel University.
May, 2012 – Third Session of the World Nobel Congress in Economics in Alfred Nobel University
American-Ukrainian School of Computer Science was founded on April 16, 2004 as the result of cooperation between Ternopil National Economic University (TNEU) and University of Maine (UMaine). It is the first school in Ukraine of such type, where education is provided in English and Ukrainian, involving lecturers from the American universities, representing the Peace Corps. The school is acting as a structure within the Faculty of Computer Informational Technology at TNEU and is in Ternopil, Ukraine.
American-Ukrainian School of Computer Science was established at April 16, 2004 as the result of collaboration of Ternopil National Economic University (Ukraine) and University of Maine (USA). Such collaboration become possible after one-year visit of professor Anatoly Sachenko (at that time dean of the Faculty of Computer Informational Technologies at TNEU) as the Fulbright professor to the University of Maine and Bowdoin College, both in Maine, in 2002–2003.
During his visit he discussed idea of creating of such school with professors George Markowsky (Department of Computer Science at UMaine) and Allan Tucker (Bowdoin College). After his return to Ukraine, a General Agreement of Cooperation was signed between TNEU and UMaine in 2003. And a year after that, school was established. Markowsky became first director of the school.
A year after that, Sachenko became director of the AUS. An agreement about cooperation was signed between TNEU and University of South Carolina Upstate in 2006.
Students are studying according to the American (strong practical knowledge) and Ukrainian (strong fundamental knowledge) education standards;
Education process is performing with the Computer Science;
Best students (up to five) from the school yearly may study during a semester or two in UMaine;
Education grants for studying abroad are available from UMaine;
Transfer system allows students transfer to any AUS partner university.
University of Maine
University of South Carolina Upstate
American University in Bulgaria
Students, according to their wishes, will have the opportunity to continue their studies at any partner university and get an American diploma in Computer Science after completing three academic years at AUS. After successful education completion in a partner university and gaining American Bachelor degree, alumni can continue studying at graduate school at a partner university and apply on master’s or Ph.D. degree. AUS students who have neither possibilities nor desires to complete education in the U.S.A. study their during fourth year in Ternopil and, after the successful examinations, obtain the Ukrainian Bachelor degree in Computer Science. Students can continue their education in the master department of TNEU or in foreign universities after the fourth year.
The lectures at the AUS are conducting by faculty from the U.S.A., European and Japanese universities, Peace Corps representatives and leading instructors of the Faculty of Computer Information Technologies.
From the beginning of the school, the best students got the possibility to study in American universities.
2004-2005: Vitaliy Vitsentiy got a grant to study according to the Master program at UMaine. After graduating he continued studying as a Ph.D. student in Queensland University of Technology of Brisbane, Australia.
2008: AUS students Iuirii Ferents and Olexandr Shepchenko got grants to study in UMaine during spring 2009.
Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University is a higher education institution. The University was established by Kyiv municipal council through reorganization of Kyiv regional Teachers Training Institute named after B. D. Grinchenko. The University belongs to communal property.
According to the decision of Kyiv municipal council of 8 October, 2009 Kyiv Municipal Pedagogical University named after B.D. Grinchenko was renamed to Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University and the University’s status also changed. The University was transformed from pedagogical profile to a multi-profile classic educational institution, which enabled the University to expand its activities and have more educational majors, ensuring full satisfaction of educational requirements of Kyiv dwellers, meeting the needs of Kyiv and its region. In implementing these tasks the University’s activity is aimed at achieving high standards and becoming an institution of European level.
The University consists of six Institutes and 1 university college with more than 8000 students. There are 35 operating departments. The scientific-pedagogical staff at the University includes 49 PhDs, 184 EdSs., 434 teachers. The University offers 10 Master, 12 Specialist and 12 Bachelor level programmes. Each year around 6000 teachers and school principals enhance their skills and get qualified at the University. The University provides PhD and Doctorate training.
The University: consists of six Institutes:
Institute of In-service Training in Education
Institute of Society
Institute of Human Sciences
The Leaders of the University
Victor Ogneviuk – Rector, Doctor of Philosophy, Professor, Full Member of the National Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine.
The University history began in 1874 with the establishment of Pedagogical courses for Teacher training in Kyiv.
In 1919 Borys Grinchenko Pedagogical Institute began operating, to be later reorganized into Kyiv Pedagogical Courses named after Borys Grinchenko. These courses assimilated a few other similar pedagogical courses, which lead to foundation of Kyiv Teacher Training Institute in 1939.
In 1993 Kyiv Teacher Training Institute was given the name of Borys Grinchenko. It was providing in-service training for teachers of Kyiv schools.
In 2002 it was reorganized into Kyiv Municipal Pedagogical University named after Borys Grinchenko, and it started offering to receive degrees in teaching.
In 2007 a new era began in the university’s development. A new rector, Viktor Ogneviuk, has made a commitment to transform the university, making it a modern, dynamic and European-oriented educational institution. On 8th October, 2008 the university was renamed into Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University, becoming a classical university and now having the opportunity to offer different majors, not only teacher training. This has allowed to enroll more students and increase diversity.
September, 2008 – University Academic Council developed and approved the Concept of University Development for 2008-2012 years.
January 1,2008 – Institute of Psychology and Social Pedagogy, Humanitarian Institute, Institute of Pre-School, Elementary and Art Education, University college were established and included into the University structure
May 20, 2008 – a new University building opened its doors for the University academics and students.
September, 1, 2008 – Institute of Leadership, Education Legislation and Politics started its work in the structure of the University.
2008-2009 academic year – ten specialties (majors) got the highest (IVth) accreditation level
October 8, 2009 – Kyiv Municipal Pedagogical University named after B.D. Grinchenko was renamed into Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University.
2010 – Six Institutes (Humanitarian, Pedagogic, Arts, Leadership and Social Sciences, Psychology and Social Pedagogy, In-Service Training) and a University College, as well as scientific and methodological centres and research laboratories have been functioning in the structure of the University.
2010 – Borys Grinchenko Museum was opened in our University.
June, 2010 – University obtained the highest (IVth) accreditation level
September 1, 2010 – number of students is six thousand. University trains specialists in 7 Junior Specialists programs, 12 Bachelor programs, 11 Master’s programs.
September 2010 – Viktor Ogneviuk, Rector of the University signed the University Magna Charta in Bologna, Italy
2010-2011 – University started the social project “With Kyiv and for Kyiv”
August 22, 2011 – monument to Borys Grinchenko was opened for the charitable contributions of academics, students and education employees with the support of Kyiv.City Council
On the 14th – 17th 2011 in Malmo, Sweden, the General Assembly of European Association for the Education of Adults (EAEA) approved the application form of Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University as an Associate Member of EAEA.
June 26, 2012 – University held the seventh place in the official ranking of Ukrainian classic universities.
August 28, 2012 – University Academic Council renamed the Institute of Leadership and Social Sciences into the Institute of Society
September 1, 2012 – number of University students is more than 7 thousands. University trains specialists in 12 Junior Specialist programs, 34 Bachelor programs, 18 Master’s programs and 18 PhD programs.
October 4, 2012 – Center of Practical Students Training was opened for the students specialized in Elementary Education and Pre-School Education headed by Tamara Proshkuratova, the Hero of Ukraine, Honorable teacher with a 25 year teaching history..
November 15, 2012 – Viktor Ogneviuk was re-elected for the second term as the Rector of Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University.
November 19, 2012 – University became the member of the International Association of the Universities.
On the 25th of January 2013, in Istanbul, the last EUA Council has approved Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University application for an individual associate membership.
The University education and scientific base
In December 2007, two reading rooms for students, graduates and teachers were open in the University. The funds of the University Library increased significantly (360 thousand copies). New major steps were made in the fields of information studies: information computer center was launched, as well as four computer labs and laboratory of innovative technologies studies.
Each year on December 9 the University celebrates Borys Grinchenko’s birthday, and this day means the Day of the University.
Actual science issues of University Activity are constantly discussed by the Academic Board of the University, as well as by Student scientific society.
To improve the professional skills of the faculty scientific-methodological seminar regularly operates at the University.
The collection of scientific works ‘Teacher Education: Theory and Practice. Psychology. Pedagogy’ is being published by the University since 2001. It is included into the list of scientific professional publications by the State Accreditation Commission of Ukraine.
Scientific research work is carried out in a spirit of cooperation and fruitful contacts with the National Academy of Pedagogical science of Ukraine and its research institutions. Respective cooperation agreement was signed in 2007.
In 2007 postgraduate major 13.00.04 – Theory and Methods of Professional Education opened in the University on a permanent basis.
The Student Scientific Society works at the University. The magazine of the student’s research papers ‘Scientific studies of the students ‘grinchenkivtsiv’ has been published since 2007, the best scientific works of future teachers are published there.
The University has a cooperation agreement with a range of foreign institutions. Among them are: International Association of University support Waldorf Education, Pedagogical University of Heidelberg (Germany), University of Szczecin (Poland) and others.
The University has its original image and is an integral part of Kyiv City education.
Borys Grinchenko Kyiv University has a structure that includes:
General university departments of educational, scientific and methodical nature (centers, laboratories);
General university departments of administrative character (departments, accounting);
The university has distributed campus structure, which includes:
Administrative building (at 18/2 Bulvarno-Kudriavska street);
Academic buildings (at 17 Tuchiny ave., 13b Tymoshenko str., 16 Gagarina ave., 18 /2 Davydova Blvrd.)
Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University Ukrainian: is the leading Ukrainian institution for higher education in northern Bukovina, in Chernivtsi, a city in western Ukraine.
See also: Franz Joseph University (disambiguation)
The University was founded as a Franz Josephs Universität in 1875 on the basis of the Czernowitz Higher Theological School. Originally, the main language of instruction was German with separate departments for Ukrainian and Romanian and literature. During the period of Austro-Hungarian rule the university operated three faculties: Orthodox theology, law and philosophy. At the time the majority of the students were Jewish and German Austrians, while Ukrainians and Romanians comprised for about 20%–25% of the student body.
Universitatea Regele Carol I
In 1918, after Bukovina became part of the Kingdom of Romania, the university was renamed Universitatea Regele Carol I din Cernăuţi. The current building of the university dates from 1920–22, and was commissioned by the Romanian government. From 1919 to 1940 the university was largely Romanized; the Ukrainian department was abolished, Ukrainian professors were dismissed and instruction was fully switched to Romanian. In 1933, of 3,247 students, there were 2,117 Romanians, 679 Jews, 199 Germans, 155 Ukrainians (decreasing from 239 out of 1671 students in 1920), 57 Poles, 26 Russians and 4 of other nationalities. Ion Nistor, a prominent Romanian historian and one of the most vocal proponents of Greater Romanian nationalism was the university rector for many years.
Chernivtsi State University
Upon the 1940 Soviet takeover of northern Bukovina, the territory was attached to the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic and the primary language in the university was switched to Ukrainian. The university, renamed Chernivtsi State University, was significantly expanded and reorganized. Teaching of science was greatly increased and the theological department was dissolved and then reopened in 1996. In 1989 the university was named to honor Yuriy Fedkovych, a prominent Ukrainian writer, a native of Bukovina. In the Soviet years, the number of Romanian students at the university declined sharply. In 1991–92, the last year of Soviet rule, the number of Romanian students was only 4.44% (434 out of 9,769). Among teaching faculty, the breakdown by nationalities is as follows: Ukrainian teachers 465 (77.1%), Russians 102 (16.9%), Moldovans 9 (1.4%), Romanians 7 (1.1%), Belarusians 6 (0.9%), etc.
Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University
Since 2000, when the university was awarded National status, it operates under its current name, Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University.
By decision of Session of Council of European University Association, held in Brussels on January 15, 2009, Yuri Fedkovich Chernivtsi National University was granted a full individual membership in European University Association.
Campuses and buildings
Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University consists of 17 buildings, with the total amount of 105 units. The total area is 110.8 thousand square meters, including training buildings – 66 square meters.
The architectural ensemble of the main campus of the university, the Residence of Bukovinian and Dalmatian Metropolitans is included on the list of UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Faculty of Biology, Ecology and Biotechnology
Faculty of Geography
Faculty of Economics
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Modern European Languages
Faculty of History, Political Science and International Relations
Faculty of Computer Studies
Faculty of Applied Mathematics
Faculty of Pedagogics, Psychology and Social Activity
Faculty of Physics
Faculty of Philology
Faculty of Philosophy and Theology
Faculty of Chemistry
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Physical Training and Health
The university library was founded in 1852 as Krayova Library — the first public library in Bukovina. By 2004, its total book stock included 2,554,000 copies and among them 1,215,000 copies of scientific literature, 171,000 of textbooks and manuals, and 648,000 of fiction. The fund of foreign books contains 376,000 works in German, Romanian, English, Latin, Polish, Ancient Greek, French, Hebraic, Yiddish and other languages.
The scientific library includes 11 departments: collection, scientific processing, native fund preservation, foreign fund preservation, rare and valuable books, book borrowing, reading halls, branch, cultural work, information technologies and information-bibliographic.
Notable professors and alumni
Sydir Vorobkevych (1836-1903), Ukrainian composer and writer.
Alois Handl (1837-1915), Austrian physicist.
Anton Wassmuth (1844-1927), Austrian physicist, member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.
Anton Marty ( 1847-1914), Swiss philosopher.
Alexander Georg Supan (1847 – 1920), Austrian geographer.
Leopold Bernhard Gegenbauer (1849 – 1903), Austrian mathematician.
Georg Elias Müller (1850 – 1934), German experimental psychologist.
Friedrich Becke (1855 – 1931), Austrian mineralogist and petrograph.
Eusebius Mandyczewski, (1857 – 1929), Ukrainian musicologist, composer, conductor, and teacher.
Raimund Friedrich Kaindl (1866 – 1930), Austrian historian.
Ivan Franko (1856 – 1916), Ukrainian poet, writer, social and literary critic, journalist, interpreter, economist, political activist.
Friedrich von Kleinwächter (1838 – 1927), Austrian economist.
Eugen Ehrlich ( 1862 – 1922), legal scholar, one of the primary founders of the modern field of sociology of law.
Josef Geitler von Armingen (1870 – 1923), Austrian physicist.
Victor Conrad (1876-1962), Austrian-American physicist, seismologist and meteorologist, professor of Harvard University.
Joseph Schumpeter (1883 – 1950), one of the most influential economists of the 20th century, professor of Harvard University.
Hans Hahn (1879 – 1934), Austrian mathematician, one of the founders of modern functional analysis.
Josip Plemelj (1873 – 1967), Slovene mathematician.
Nikolay Bogolyubov (1909-1992), Soviet mathematician and theoretical physicist.
Arseniy Yatsenyuk, Ukrainian politician, economist and Ukrainian Prime-Minister.
Leonid Kadeniuk, the first astronaut of Ukraine.
Lina Kostenko, Ukrainian poet and writer.
Heinz Fischer, the President of Austria.
Ray Hnatyshyn, 24th Governor General of Canada.
Roy Romanow, the 12th Premier of Saskatchewan (1991–2001).
First Ukrainian mystery thriller (The Shadows of Unforgotten Ancestors (Tini nezabutykh predkiv)2013) was directed mostly on the territory of Chernivtsi University.
Crimea State Medical University named after S. I. Georgievsky (CSMU) (Ukrainian: Кримський державний медичний університет ім. С. І. Георгієвського; Russian: Кры́мский Госуда́рственный Медици́нский Университе́т и́мени С. И. Гео́ргиевского, Krímskiy Gosudárstvennyy Medicínskyy Universitét ímeni S. I. Geórgievskogo) is the institution of higher medical education situated in Simferopol (Crimea, Ukraine). According to some independent estimations it is one of the most prominent medical schools of Ukraine. The university has 6 faculties and 54 departments. As at 2009, 4700 students are studying here (approximately 1700 are foreign citizens from 34 countries of the world). The university was decorated with Order of the Red Banner of Labour (1981) and is certified by the International Education Society as AA-level high school.
The history of CSMU begins with the medical faculty of Tavrida University, which was founded on 10 May 1918. R. I. Gelvig was the first rector of the University and the dean of medical faculty at the same time. The first graduation of doctors had taken place in 1922; totally 523 doctors have been graduated during the faculty’s existence. In 1925 the University was reorganized as a Pedagogian Institute and the Medical faculty was liquidated.
Due to development of Crimea as a health resort, it was decided in 1930 to organize higher medical school here. The solemn opening of the Crimean Medical Institute (which consisted of one Treatment-and-prophylactic faculty only) has taken place on 1 April 1931. The first graduation (97 students) occurred on 17 February 1936. The second faculty, that is Pediatric, was organized in 1938. In 1939 the Treatment-and-prophylactic faculty was renamed into the Medical one.
In the time of the German invasion of the Soviet Union, the University continued working in evacuation (at first in Armavir, then in Jambul, Orjonikidze, Baku, Krasnovodsk, Kyzylorda). In sum, since June 1941 till July 1944 the Institute prepared 850 doctors. In the spring of 1944 the institute returned to Simferopol.
In 1951 S. I. Georgievsky was appointed a director (subsequently a rector) of the institute (the university carries his name now). In the fifties the material base of the Institute was considerably expanded. Since 1961 the Institute begins preparation of medical shots for the countries of Asia, Africa and Latin America. In 1970 new rector, professor V. I. Zyablov was appointed. In 1978 a new faculty (Stomatologic) was opened. In 1979 the faculty of Postgraduating Studies was launched. In 1981 the Institute was decorated with Order of the Red Banner of Labour. In the late eighties the Crimean medical institute was included into ten top medical high schools of the USSR. In 1989 professor I. V. Bogadelnikov was elected as a new rector. Since 1992 the Institute begins commercial trainings for foreign citizens, and since 1994 – for the citizens of Ukraine.
In July 1995 the Crimean Medical Institute was accredited on IV (higher) level with autonomy granted. On 8 December 1995 the Institute was named in honor of S. I. Georgievskiy for his personal contribution for institute’s restoration and development. Since September 1996 professor A. A. Babanin heads the Institute. On 26 January 1998 the Cabinet of Ukraine decided to transform the Crimean Medical Institute into the University.
Rankings and reputation
Crimean Medical Institute is ranked at 13,572 out of 20,000 universities in the world by the Webometrics world university ranking and ranked at 8204 out of 11,000 universities in the world by 4icu world university ranking.
The university is a prominent scientific and medical center of Crimea. More than 50 scientific themes are being carried out here, about 5–10 doctoral and 25–30 master’s theses are being defended annually. The university participates in 16 international research programs and publishes several scientific periodicals. The total amount of students is about 4700 (1700 students are foreign citizens, who study in English).
Campuses and buildings
The territory of the university (without the clinical bases) occupies 17.3 hectares. It has 16 educational buildings, five hostels, covered track and field athletics arena, sport centre (with stadium and swimming pool), several cafes. The library fund of university is about 600,000 books. University has also its own publishing centre.
The structure of the university
The University consists of six faculties: First Medical, Second Medical, Stomatologic, International Medical, Pharmaceutical and faculty of Postgradual Education. The university has 54 departments, medical college, 47 clinical bases and own clinic.
The staff of the university consists of about 700 teachers (c. 100 doctors of sciences and c. 350 candidates of sciences). 39 professors of the University are academicians and corresponding members of domestic and foreign Academies.
Notable sciencists and teachers of CSMU:
Anatoly Babanin (present-day rector)
Konstantin Efetov (prominent biochemist and entomologist)
Honorable doctors and famous alumni
Babanin A.A., a Corresponding Member of National Academy of Medical Sciences of Ukraine, D.M., Professor, was awarded the order of President of Ukraine “For Achievements of the III degree”, the Albert Schwietzer gold medal. He is the founder of the original scientific school of clinical and experimental morphology. He was the first in Ukraine to suggest the original methods and approaches to medicolegal estimation of visceral pathology at alcoholic and alcoholic-narcotic intoxication with the use of complex of new pathomorphological methods.
Bliskunov A.I., D.M., Professor, a prominent orthopedic surgeon, he was the first in the world to invent a completely implanted regulated structures which allow to elongate long bones. He elaborated a new direction in correction of limb length. He was awarded the Large Gold medal of the Intellectual property of the United Nations, the Honourable Distinction of President of Ukraine.
Efetov, K.A. – Doctor of biological sciences, Professor. For his scientific achievements in biology and medicine, he is awarded with four gold medals in Great Britain and USA. In honour of K.A. Efetov, scientists of Austria, France, Ukraine, and Russia named 4 biological species and a subgenus of living organisms. His main scientific interests are in the field of molecular immunology, evolutionary biology and biosystematics; he has described 7 new genera and 11 subgenera of living organisms, discovered and described 28 new biological species.
Zagoroulko A.K., D.M., Professor, the founder of school “Surfactant system of human lungs and introduction of native surfactant preparations into practical medicine of Ukraine”, was awarded the silver medal and Diploma of International Biographic Centre, of Cambridge, as a prominent scientist of the 21st century
Kubyshkin V. F., M. D., Professor, Laureate of the International academic rating “Gold Fortune”, was awarded the Strazhesko medal for achievements in elaboration of diagnostic criteria and methods of treatment of patients with cardiovascular diseases and interdependent cardiorespiratory pathology, criteria of cardiohemodynamic disorders.
The university was to be named in honor of the victory of Perekop, but instead it was named in honor of Mikhail Frunze. Later it was named in honor of Joseph Stalin until April 1956).
Probably the most well-known graduate of CSMU was the world famous traumatologist Gavril Ilizarov (he was graduated during the war, when the institute was working in evacuation).
Awards and reputation
Year 1981. The Institute was awarded the Order of the Red Banner of Labour.
69th place in rating of higher schools of Ukraine within UNESCO project “TOP 200” 2011 year
Danylo Halytsky Lviv National Medical University (Latin: Universitatis Medicinalis Leopoliensis), (Ukrainian: Львiвський Національний Медичний Унiверситет iм. Данила Галицького) — formerly known as the Lvov State Medical Institute, earlier the Faculty of Medicine of the John Casimir University and, before that, Faculty of Medicine of the Francis I University — is one of the oldest and biggest medical universities in Ukraine. It is one of the leading medical universities of the IV level of accreditation. LNMU begins from the Medical Faculty of Lviv University, which was opened on November 16, 1784, according to the privilege of the Austrian emperor Josef II. In 2009 University celebrated its 225 anniversary.
The building of the University.
The history of Lviv Medical University goes back to 1661, when on 20 January the Jesuit Collegium in Lviv by the privilege of Polish King John II Casimir acquired the status of academy. It consisted of four departments and was awarded the title of the university. However, until the break-up of the university in 1773, the full-blown medical department was not established.
On 16 November 1784, according to the privilege of the Austrian emperor Joseph II, signed on 21 October 1784, Lviv University was revived with four faculties: theology, philosophy, law and medicine. Since then Danylo Halytsky Lviv National Medical University started counting its age.
Beginning from 1961 University provides education for foreign citizens. During 50 years over 2,5 thousand doctors and pharmacists – foreigners have got education here and have been working successfully as doctors and pharmacists in many countries of the world. Education is provided in Ukrainian, Russian Language, and since 1997 the teaching of foreign students in English has been launched and is rapidly developing. Now 70% of University foreign students study in English Medium Program.
22 scientific schools actively function and develop in University: of obstetrics and gynecology, biochemical, hygienic, of infectious diseases, of history of medicine and pharmacy, microbiological, morphological, of neurology and neurosurgery, of oncology, of otorhynolaryngology, ophthalmological, of pathological anatomy and pathological physiology, pediatric, psychiatric, of dentistry, of internal diseases, pharmacological, physiological, of phtisiatry, of chemistry and pharmacy, of surgery.University library contains more than 530000 volumes of textbooks, manuals and other relevant medical literature. Library has modern computer equipment.
Ranking & Reputations
Lviv University is ranked 7246 in the world by Webometric’s world University ranking and ranked at 4681 in the world out of 11,000 universities by 4icu world university ranking
Taking into account state and international recognition of university activity, great contributions to the development of national education and science, Danylo Halytskyi Lviv State Medical University was conferred the status of National Medical University on 21 August 2003 by the President’s decree #872/2003.
Faculty and Staff
At 78 University departments, at the Institute of Clinical Pathology, in the Central Research Laboratory (CRL) and Laboratory of industrial toxicology are working 1211 scientists: 134 Doctor of Sciences and more than 620 PhD degree holders, including 113 full professors, 369 associate professors, 50 senior tutors, 662 assistant professors, 17 researchers. Among them there are 23 Members, 7 Corresponding Members of Academy of Sciences, 12 Honored Workers of Science and Technology, 7 Honored Workers of Education, 19 Honored Doctors, 1 Honored Worker of Physical Culture and Sport, 8 Laureates of the State Prize of Ukraine in Science and Technology.
Today Danylo Halytsky Lviv National Medical University combines 6 faculties, medical college, 78 departments (including 48 clinical departments), 14 academic buildings, 41 affiliated hospitals, University dental medical centre for more than 2000 attendances during shift, teaching drugstore, botanical garden, CRL and Laboratory of industrial toxicology, Institute of clinical pathology, research centre for investigation of anticancer drugs, scientific library, 8 student hostels, sanatorium, student cafes and canteens, sports and health recovery camp “Medyk”.
There are 40 amateur groups, clubs, workshops in University. Among them three amateur groups have the high degree of National. These National amateur groups are: folk dance ensemble “Horytsvit” (Adonis), folk choir “Muses of Hippocrates”, folk ensemble “Medicus”. There are 23 sport-public and recreation and sports clubs in the University.
About 2746 students are studying at 38 departments here. 484 foreigners are studying at the faculty as well. The teaching process is carried out by 500 teachers – academicians, professors, assistant professors, senior teachers and assistants. The annual university amount of students is more than 19100 persons, which includes 5426 undergraduate students (including more than 1000 foreign students), 62 students of Preparatory Course, more than 1500 internship doctors, 50 students of Master’s program, 70 students of PhD program, 70 Postgraduate doctors (Clinichna Ordynatura), around 11000 students of Faculty of Postgraduate training, 312 students of Medical College. Students of all Faculties study according to the credit-module system. University library contains more than 530000 volumes of textbooks, manuals and other relevant medical literature. Library has modern computer equipment In 2011 the first graduation of students, who studied according to the demands of “Bologna” process, took place.
Oles Honchar Dnipropetrovsk National University (Ukrainian: Дніпропетровський національний університет імені Олеся Гончара) is one of the leading establishments of higher education in Ukraine. It was founded in 1918. The first four faculties were history and linguistics, law, medicine and physics and mathematics.
Nowadays the university has level IV accreditation, with 20 faculties and nearly 1,300 professors, 850 of them PhDs. The university has about 22,000 Ukrainian students and offers 87 majors. It has about 3,000 international students from 20 countries.
It has strong ties with one of the largest world’s rocket space centres, Yuzhnoye Design Bureau, and other major industrial and scientific organizations in the Donetsk-Pridneprovsk area with population of more than 15 million people. Being a big educational and research center, DNU provides training of all qualifications levels: Master’s degree, Specialist’s degree, Bachelor’s degree. It prepares researchers and university teachers at the post-graduate and doctor of science courses. One can obtain the second higher education.
Oles Honchar Dnipropetrovsk National University boasts its enormous army of alumni. For the whole period of the university functioning about a hundred thousand specialists without whom one could hardly fancy any sphere of our life have been prepared. Among them there are statesmen, public figures, heads of enterprises and institutions of science and culture, schools, commercial enterprises; famous scientists, teachers, journalists.
According to the decision of the Intersectorial Accreditation Collegiums and to the order of the Ministry of Sciences and Education of Ukraine Dnipropetrovsk National University has been accredited as a higher institution of the 4-th level accreditation.
According to the UNESCO poll DNU takes the 6th place of all Ukrainian higher education institutes due to its academic and research indexes.
At present DNU has 63 agreements with higher education institutes and research centers from many countries of Europe, Asia, the USA, Canada. Almost since the beginning of TEMPUS Program’s activity in Ukraine the DNU has joined its work. The first project on reforming of economic was won in 1993. Since there the DNU has won 14 projects (including three more Tempus projects in 2009) for the terms from 1 till 3 years in different sectors of science and education such as economics, management, university managements, social informatics and international economics. Due to this indicator the DNU is a regional leader. The DNU’s University Library has 2,600,000 volumes and computer library rooms. DNU has enough computer rooms with high-speed fiberglass access to the Internet, so all visitors can be provided by computer working place. DNU library with several millions books is one of biggest in the region and can supply all educational needs of guests. Since 2007 DNU has been taking part in Erasmus Mundus Project “External Cooperation Window” which is closely corresponded to DNU’s development plan. First, in the plan there is a special paragraph about development of close relations with EU universities, strengthening of exchange programmes. Second, the participation should contribute in realisation of the item of raising the level of professional skills of DNU teachers and improving the style of teaching. And, third, the project can give us a possibility of progress in implementation of Bologna standards, including ECTS, quality issurance, etc.
Ekaterynoslavsky University (now – Dnepropetrovsk National University of Oles Gonchar) was founded during the Ukrainian Hetman Pavlo Skoropadsky state in 1918, this university was building as a classic of historical and philological, legal, medical and physical-mathematical faculties.
At the initial stage of operation of the university, which came on in 1918–1920, laid the first tradition of research and teaching activities of the faculty, initiated major areas of fundamental and applied research in the humanities, natural sciences and engineering. During the establishment of Soviet power school experienced difficult times. In 1920 Ekaterynoslavsky University was transformed into Ekaterynoslavsky (later in Dnipropetrovsk) Institute of Education, which operated until 1933
A new page in the history DNU began in 1933, when the Dnepropetrovsk State University has been restored – challenges the first Soviet five-year plans necessitated fundamentalization educational affairs and research. However, the revival of the university actually coincided with the intensification of Stalin’s totalitarian regime, which led to mass arrests in a university setting, irreparable losses of personnel. Tremendous human and material losses suffered University during World War II. Some faculty and students went to defend their homeland from the Nazi invaders; others approached Victory Day, working in the evacuation. In the postwar period is the second revival DSU, healed the wounds of war.
Particularly dynamic university developed in the period from mid-1960 to mid-1980 DSU is gradually becoming one of the basic classical universities of the country. At this time the growth of human resources, the development of fundamental theoretical and applied research, new schools and areas, is searched in the areas of teaching and educational work, unseen building campus, a marked strengthening of material and technical base.
New horizons opened before Dnipropetrovsk University during the formation of independent Ukraine on the verge of 20th–21st century. MUT is not only stood the test of the modern era, and was able to update and modernize many areas of work. It is quite natural that in September 2000 by the President of Ukraine Dnepropetrovsk State University acquired the status of national institutions, and in June 2008 – a name famous graduate – Oles Gonchar.
Today the University, which in 1998 headed by Doctor of Physics and Mathematics, Professor, Academician of the Higher School of Ukraine, Honored Scientist of Ukraine, winner of Prize. Yangel National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Rector MV Polyakov, preserves and multiplies the leadership of one of the leading universities in Ukraine.
Thanks to the efforts of scientists and faculty housing at DNU created and successfully developing widely known scientific schools in mathematics, mechanics, Radiophysics and Electronics, rocketry, neurocybernetic, biotechnology, organic chemistry, history of Ukraine, Historiography and Source of History of Ukraine, archeology, German, literature and linguistics, etc.. There is a further integration of the University to the European and global scientific and educational spaces, which is strategic priority for university life.
DNU has modern logistics, which allows the educational process, to conduct research. This 17 teaching and laboratory buildings (“Main Building» № 1, which is located at Dnepropetrovsk, Gagarin, 72), developed social infrastructure, which includes 7 dormitories for students at 3,500 seats, sports facilities and recreation (Sports Palace with a swimming pool, water station, shooting, hockey playground, outdoor stadium, dispensary, sports camp), the Palace of students (with an assembly hall with 500 seats and a small hall for 120 seats), library with about 2, 2 million copies.
Faculty and Staff
DNU rector Polyakov Mykola Viktorovych, doctor of physical-mathematical sciences, professor, actual member of the Academy of Sciences of the Ukrainian higher institute of learning, honored man of science and technics of Ukraine, born in 1946, graduated from mechanical-mathematical faculty of Dnipropetrovsk state university in 1971. He worked as dean of mechanical-mathematical faculty from 1989, as pro-rector of educational work from 1996. He is rector from November 1998. He is rewarded with orders “For merits” of all three degrees. 
The university comprises 4 higher education institutions of the first and second level of accreditation, 16 faculties, 46 research laboratories, 3 research institutes (Biology, Geography, Power Engineering) the Faculty of Distance and Part-time Education, the Faculty of Continuous Education, the Faculty of Postgraduate Education, the Faculty of Pre-university Preparation, Regional Center of Continuous Education “Prydniprovye” including eight schools, one lyceum and the one gymnasium. Some of the 19 faculties of the university include:
Physics, Electronics and Computer Sciences
Biology, ecology and medicine
Geology and Geography
Mechanics and Mathematics
Physics and Technology
List of specialties in Dnipropetrovsk National University in 2011/12 academic year.
2. Accounting and Auditing
3. International Economic Relations
4. Management of Foreign-economic Activity
5. International Relations
8. Enterprise Economy
9. Personnel management and labor economics
10. International economics
12. Russian Language and Literature
13. Translation (English Language and Literature)
14. Laboratory Diagnostics
15. Language and Literature(English)
16. Language and Literature(German)
17. Language and Literature(French)
18. Language and Literature(Chinese)
19. Language and Literature(Japanese)
20. Translation (German Language and Literature)
21. Translation (French Language and Literature)
24. Ukrainian Language and Literature
25. Economic Cybernetics
26. Social Work
33. Microbiology and virology
34. Ecology and environmental protection
38. Political Science
39. Publishing and Editing
40. Economic Statistics
41. Automated System Programming
42. Intellectual Systems for Making Decisions
43. Computer Systems and Networks
44. Information Control Systems and Technologies
45. Food Technologies
47. Fine and Crafts Arts
49. Radioelectronic Devices, Systems and Technologies
52. Automatics and Management in Technical Systems
53. Apparatus of Radio Connection, Radio Broadcasting and Television
54. Archives Studies
55. Applied Physics
56. Microelectronics and Semi-conductive Devices
57. Biotechnical and Medical Apparatus and Systems
58. Physics of Solids
59. Radiophysics and Electronics
60. Technologies and Means of Telecommunications
62. Chemical Technology of High Molecular Compounds
63. Applied Mathematics
Students’ self-government functions at the faculty not first year. A paramount task of the Council of the faculty students is to protect the rights and responsibilities of students, to improve and to make different the students’ life, to open a creative potential of the young people.
The teachers and scientists of the faculty created a Regional center of the Ukrainian language history and development, where students’ scientific association “Philologist” functions. The deepening of the knowledge, working out the skills of scientific researches is an urgent direction of students’ association activity. An annual collection of students’ scientific publications “The young people are eager to comprehend the word” was founded.
A French speaking students’ theatre and speaking club was founded at the Roman philology chair in 1995.
The students of the Ukrainian and foreign philology and art-criticism faculty were always the creative personalities. Evidences of it is the conduction of the days of the first-year student, author’s song contests, New Year carnivals “Masks disappear in midnight”, CFI – the contests among faculties, “Miss faculty” contests and others. But not only contests and entertainments define the students’ life of the faculty. The Council of the students organizes visits to children’s homes with festival concerts and gifts during some years.
The meeting with creators became traditional at the faculty: Irena Rozdobud’ko, Larisa Denysenko, Lesia Stepovychka, brothers Kapranov, Liubko Deresh, Yurii Andrushevych, Serhii Zhadan and others.
The students of the faculty conducted an action “Do not be indifferent, find out more about AIDS”.
Students take an active part in cultural life of the university: national circus studio “Raiduha”, national dance ensembles “Veselka”, theter studio “Hravtsi”. An ensemble of guitar players is organized at the faculty. It is a known activity of a theatre group “Vidlunnia”, besides its plays “Roksolana”, “Marusia Churai”, “Evening at the farmstead FUPandAC” and other. A young people’s chamber choir “Yunist’” is famous which is now 35 years old, the most active participants of it were the students of the faculty during this time. Second-year students of the English philology chair organized a studio of a modern dance “Sweets”, and first-year students organized a show-ballet “Dance sensation”.
A club of talented young people “Crocus” functions at the faculty. By the initiative of students, any person can become its member if he/she writes poetry or prose, is interested in recent publications.
Students take an active part in sport life of the university. Thus, Olexander Savchenko became a prize-winner of Dnipropetrovs’k region in track and field athletics, Iryna Lopatina became a champion of Ukraine in water polo. Students of the faculty became the members of the combined team in badminton, swimming, track and field athletics, and weight-lifting sport.
Oles Honchar, a prominent Ukrainian writer, Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Lenin Prize and the State Prize of Ukraine. Hero of Socialist Labor
Yuri P. Semenov, General Designer of NPO “Energia” (Russia), RAS, Lenin Prize. Hero of Socialist Labor
Sergey Nikolsky, RAS, State Prize Laureate
Peter Trofymovych Tron’ko, head. Institute of History of Ukraine, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, laureate of the State Prize of Ukraine
Yulia Tymoshenko, Former Prime Minister of Ukraine (2005, 2007-2010)
Leonid Kuchma- President of Ukraine (1994-2005), Lenin Prize and the State Prize of Ukraine
Klaus Troich, Rector of University of Landau (Germany)
Nikolai Pavlovich Korneichuk, NAS of Ukraine, laureate of the State Prize of Ukraine
Ernst Sigmund, President of the Brandenburg Technical University (Germany).
George V. Dzyak, rector of Dnipropetrovsk State Medical Academy. Academic Sciences of Ukraine
Vladimir Litvin. Chairman of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (2002-2006), Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, laureate of the State Prize of Ukraine
Jerzy Leschinskyy Professor Dzheksonskoho State University (USA). Corresponding Member of the European Academy of Sciences
Marian Harasymyuk, rector of Lublin University. Marie Curie Skladovskaya
Ivan Sergienko, director of the Institute of Cybernetics of VM Glushkov Ukraine, Academician of the NAS of Ukraine
Andrushchenko Viktor Petrovich, rector of the National Pedagogical University. Dragomanov
Bakirov Savbanovych, rector of Kharkiv National University. VNKarazin
Michael Zgurovsky, Rector of the National Technical University of Ukraine (“KPI”)
Konyukhov Stanislav, General Director – General Designer DKB “South”, academician, Hero of Ukraine, Dnepropetrovsk graduate
Kremen Vasily, president of the Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine, academician
Krivtsov Vladimir S., Rector of National Aerospace University M.Ye.Zhukovskoho
Loskutov Alexander E., head. Traumatology and Orthopedics Dnipropetrovsk State Medical Academy
Yuri Melnikov. Professor, University of Tennessee (USA), a graduate of wildebeest
Pilipenko Victor V., academician, a graduate DNU
Victor A. Sadovnichy, rector of Moscow State University. MV University
Jose Manuel resi Espeho, professor at the University of Cordoba (Spain)
Shevchenko Vladimir, rector of Donetsk National University, academician, Hero of Ukraine, Dnepropetrovsk graduate
Skopenko Victor V., National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Professor of Kiev National University. Taras Shevchenko
Halatnikov Isaak Markovich, a prominent physicist, academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences, a graduate of DSU
Alexander S. Kapto known diplomat, statesman and public figure, Ph.D., professor, graduate of DSU
Lothar Otto, Rector of the University of Mittweida (Germany)
Vladimir Gorbulin, honorary member of the Presidium of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor, Graduate DSU
Novelist Pavlo Zahrebelnyi
Poet Lyubov Sirota
Awards and reputation
Dnipropetrovsk National University took eighth place in the integrated ranking universities of Ukraine. According to Komsomolskaya Pravda, the most authoritative rankings that are referenced by experts and journalists, are national rankings UNESCO “Top-200 Ukraine”, “Compass” and the international rating “Vebometryks.” Due to the fact that each of them focuses on their priorities (employers, level of research, etc.), it was necessary to make the overall rating, which would reflect the average result.
The faculty cooperates with Ukrainian and foreign higher educational establishments: Kyiv national university named after T.H. Shevchenko, Kharkiv state design academy, Lublin university named after M. Kiuri-Sklodovs’ka (Lublin city, Poland), students have periods of probation in higher educational establishments of France ( lyceum of Moris Ravel’, Nant city), China, Japan, Swede (Fol’kuniversity), USA (Minnesota University, Minneapolis city), European university (Budapest city, Hungary), Richmond University (Virginia state, USA).
The most active connections with scientists of the University named after M. Kiuri-Sklodovs’ka has fine arts and design chair. During 2006-2007 three groups of students and teachers of this chair took part in the plenary sessions in Poland. The teacher V. Korsuns’kyi got the proposal to do 6-8-month work to write a candidate dissertation in 2006. A delegation of the University named after M. Kiuri-Sklodovs’ka presented in DNU an exhibition of Poland poster in January 2007 which was made by the students of this educational establishment.
A general and Russian linguistics chair takes part in international program realization (“The program of new generation of textbooks creation dealing with the Russian language and literature for CIS countries”), provided by philological faculty of Saint-Petersburg state university; in the limits of an agreement about scientific cooperation the chair cooperates with general linguistics chair of Sievierodvins’kyi branch of HOU VPO “Pomors’kyi state university named after M.V. Lomonosov” (Russia).
A docent of the chair O.O. Polovynko taught the Russian language as a foreign one according to the agreement about cooperation between DNU and Shandun University in Veifan city (CNR) in 2007/08 educational years. A teacher of the Polish language M. Rutkovs’ka works at the chair in the limits of intergovernmental agreement between Ukraine and Poland.
The chair is the center of the Russian language and literature teachers of Ukrainian association (Ukraine) (RLLTUA), which is the part of International association of the Russian language and literature teachers.
The chair trains foreign students and post-graduate students the Russian language as a special one and the Russian language as the second foreign language, trains ethnic students from different higher educational establishments at the specialty “Language and literature (Russian)”. A student Clair Ansel from Canada studied at the specialty “Language and literature (Russian)” at the individual schedule in 2007/08.
The translation and linguistic training of the foreigners chair cooperates with Gdansk University (Poland) and Sukhum University (Abkhazia), trains specialists with the Russian and Ukrainian language knowledge for different countries.
Russian philology chair has scientific connections with higher educational establishments of France and Russia: with the University of Nant city, Moscow state university named after M.V. Lomonosov, Belgorod state university.
The second important direction of the international activities of the university is an annual direction of students to study at the foreign countries universities. A high scientific and pedagogical potential of the comparative philology of Eastern and English speaking countries chair teachers allows to provide comprehensive training of the students in the sphere of the Eastern languages and literatures. As a result the teachers and students study in CNR, Japan, Turkey in the limits of state agreement about cooperation among countries which provides a high level of the specialists training of Ukrainian students in state educational establishments of these countries. Moreover, the government of Chinese national republic sends the best professors of leading higher educational establishments of CNR every year according to the state agreement to teach the Chinese language and special philological disciples at the Chinese philology department.
Donbas State Technical University (DonSTU) (Ukrainian: Донбаський державний технічний університет) is the university located in Alchevsk. It is a large centre of technical education and science in Ukraine.
The Donbas State Technical University was formed on October 12, 1957. At that time it had the name Voroshylovsk Mining-Metallurgical Institute.
In 1964 due to the changing of the town’s name it possessed the name Kommunarsk Mining-Metallurgical Institute. In 1992 it became Donbas Mining-Metallurgical Institute (DMMI).
By the order of Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine № 622 from July 27, 2004 Donbas Mining-Metallurgical Institute was reorganized as the Donbas State Technical University (DonSTU).
DonSTU is the largest training center, a higher institution of the IV (highest) level of accreditation. It has the following departments:
Economics and Finances;
Automation and Electro-technical Systems;
Foreign Student’s department;
Training-consulting center “Osvita”;
Institute of advanced study and advanced training courses for managers and leaders;
University has seven separate departments in the regional cities:
University has two technical schools:
industrial in Alchevsk;
mining in Perevalsk.
DonSTU has in its structure the scientific-research department, scientific-research design institute “Parameter”, State Inter-institutional Center for Laser-Location Observation for manmade Earth satellites “Orion”, having the status of National heritage of Ukraine, Donbas Department of East-Ukrainian branch of Archeology Institute of NASU, Alchevsk Branch of Institute of Physics of mining processes NASU and Ministry of education and science. Scientific and technological activity of Donbas Sate Technical University is carrying out according to priority development trends in science and engineering in Ukraine.
University issues its own newspaper “Impulse”, which has become one of the best student’s newspapers and obtained the official recognition among youth’s mass media.
University’s faculty is proud of its historical museum, as well as mining-mineralogical museum with its unique collection of minerals.
DonSTU has its sanatorium-preventorium, sport-recreation camp “Altagir” at Azov seacoast, culture and leisure centre “Talant”, art production centre “Lado”.
§Teachers & Scientists
614 regular teachers work at university (on January 2009).
15963 students studies at university (on January 2009). Among them:
day form of training – 5535;
correspondence form of training – 10428.
§Education & Science
Training and advanced training of specialists is carrying out on multilevel system, adopted in Europe. During students’ training we use present-day technologies. Much attention is paid to practical training of our students. They have practical trainings at the largest industrial enterprises and companies of Ukraine.
DonSTU is one of the Ukrainian first institutions which put into teaching process the Bologna system and was recognized as the major institution leading in the implementation of new teaching methods.
The main partners in scientific and educational spheres are the universities in Great Britain, Hungary, Poland, Russia, Slovakia and Turkey. DonSTU initiate starting cooperation with German and Chinese universities. Among the most successful recent projects are the following ones:
training the group of 20 students of DonSTU in Dunaujvarosh Institute (Hungary) on specialty “Management in Metallurgical industry”, which is organized through the support of “Industrial Union of Donbass” Corporation;
successful accreditation of DonSTU with Higher Education Board of Turkish Republic (such accreditation in Turkey possessed only three Ukrainian universities) means, that our diploma will be validated in Turkey and allows Higher Educational Board of Turkey send their students for getting higher education in our university;
international investigations of the ancient mines “Kartamysh”, holding the international conferences “Problems of mining archeology”;
scientific research of ancient underground constructions on the territory of Ukraine and Poland, having performed by the scientists of DonSTU and Kracow Mining-Metallurgical Academy.
Wide and stable international relations of the university in the field of education and science promote spreading the students’ mental outlook and adoption process of their preparation to international requirements.
Donetsk National Medical University of Maxim Gorky (abbreviated as DonNMU or DNMU) is one of the largest medical university of the former USSR. The University is considered as one of the best medical schools in Ukraine. Originally located in Donetsk, it was relocated to Krasnyi Lyman in 2014 due to the war in Donbass.
Donetsk National Medical University was established in 1930 as the M. Gorky Donetsk Medical Institute. In 1994 it was given the status of University and in 2007 it gained the status of National Medical University (DonNMU).
Rankings & Reputations
Donetsk National Medical University was recognized the best medical university in Ukraine in 2011.  DonNMU was first among Ukrainian medical universities constantly since 2001 till 2011 according to the rating of Ministry of Health and Ministry of Education of Ukraine. However, in the latest national university rankings (Top 200 in Ukraine, years 2013 and 2014), DonNMU was ranked as the second best medical university, and was the 23rd best university overall in Ukraine. When also other rankings (i.e. Scopus citations and Webometrics) were included, DonNMU kept its status as the best medical university in Ukraine also in 2014.
Due to the quality of training and comparatively low tuition fees DonNMU is an attractive Ukrainian Medical Universities for foreigners. Donetsk National Medical University is listed in the medical directories of the World Health Organization (WHO) and I-Med Schools.
Internationally, Donetsk National Medical University is ranked 3003 out of 11,000 universities in the world according to the 4icu Ranking and 2021 on the Webtronics world ranking.
Students and studies
Approximately 4 200 students study at the eight faculties of Donetsk National Medical University. They come from Ukraine, Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, USA, UK, Germany, Poland, Greece, Israel, Turkey, India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, China, Malaysia, Mauritius, Pakistan, Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Peru, Palestine, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Jordan, Syria, Tunisia, Kenya, Namibia, Zambia, Lebanon and other countries.
So far, the university has granted 45,000 degrees, to doctors, well-known scientists, researchers, health care providers from Ukraine, Russia, other ex-soviet republics and 89 countries in Asia, Africa, Europe and Americas.
At the M.Gorky Donetsk National Medical University there are eight faculties including a preparatory faculty for foreign students. The Donetsk National Medical University trains specialists along the following education or qualification levels as junior specialists, specialists, or Masters for the following specialties:
Donetsk National Medical University provides training in English, Russian and in Ukrainian languages in all faculties.
According to the Ukrainian Health Ministry Order N°148 of March 22, 2004 DonNMU has been appointed as regional centre of Bologna process managing in Ukraine. In 2005/06 academic year, DonNMU started teaching its students in accordance with the Bologna Agreement on specialists training using the credit-modular system makes it possible to obtain the European Diploma at the end of the study. Students of Donetsk National Medical University can make transfers of their credits to any other European medical university any time after completing their first year of education at DonNMU. Transfer to other European universities are made under Bologna process. M. Gorky Donetsk National Medical University has signed for cooperation and for students transfer with almost 160 different Universities of the different countries among them are the universities of CIS, Europe, Canada, USA and with some Arabic countries.
The students of DonNMU get their professional training at 26 specialized bases (including Donetsk multi-field medical and preventive organizations and research institutes) and 28 highly equipped clinical bases (including main hospitals of Donetsk) under the supervision of highly qualified specialists.
Donetsk National Medical University provides its students with accommodation and study facilities. The students’ campus has 13 study buildings equipped with 37 computer classes and libraries, 9 hostels with reading halls and sports rooms, health center for preventive care, stadium, sports and health service complexes, summer camping at the Seversky Donets river.
At present the total teaching staff at Donetsk National Medical University is 1147. Among them are 150 professors and 243 Associate Professors, academic title of doctors and candidate of medical sciences are respectively 117 and 449 people. The Donetsk National Medical University is a member of National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine and two corresponding members of AMS of Ukraine, 4 laureates of State Prize of Ukraine, 18 distinguished scientists and engineers, 8 distinguished doctors, 2 Honoured worker of Education of Ukraine, 37 full members of international and departmental academies science, and 1 Hero of Ukraine.
Donetsk National Technical University (DonNTU, formerly Donetsk Polytechnic Institute) is the biggest and oldest higher education establishment in Donbass, founded in 1921. It was originally located in Donetsk, Ukraine, but as a result of war in Donbass it was relocated to Krasnoarmiysk. In its early years, it was attended by Nikita Khrushchev.
Donetsk National Technical University (DonNTU) is the first higher education establishment in the Donbass Region and one of the first technical universities in Ukraine. 27 000 students study at 7 faculties, 60 specialities being their major. There are 28 correspondent members and academicians of different engineering academies, 18 honorary researchers and professors among the academics of the University. A number of scientists of DonNTU are honorary and full members of different foreign organizations, academies. There are professors and students whose work was supported by the Soros Fund.
DonNTU has more than 70 collaboration agreements with the universities all over the world. There is the representative office of the Siemens company at the University as well as three Engineering Faculties (German, French, and English) at which students are trained in a corresponding foreign language.The Polish Faculty has been established recently. 30 professors from foreign universities of all the continents are Honorary Doctors of DonNTU. The University has the reading room sponsored by the Goethe Institute, Germany.
The well-known people, leaders of the largest industrial companies and political boards, engineering elite of Ukraine that have graduated from DonNTU call the University the most prestigious higher education establishment of Donbass.
Donetsk National Technical University is a member of the EAU (European Association of Universities).
DonNTU is a member of
• UICEE –The International Engineering Education Centre sponsored by the UNESCO, Melbourne, Australia;
• EAIE – European Association of the International Education;
• EAAU – Euro-Asian Association of Universities;
• SEFI – European Association of Engineering Education;
• IGIP – International Association of Engineering Education (Austria)
• COFRAMA – French Council on Management Links Development with the Countries of the CIS and Russia (Lion, France); PRELUDE – International Association of Research and Links with Universities (Belgium);
• CEUME – Consortium of Management Education in Ukraine ( the USA, Poland);
• URAN – Ukrainian Educational and Research Network sponsored by the NATO and German Research Network;
DonNTU is traditionally a participant of a number of international programmes:
• TEMPUS-TACIS NCD-JEP – 23125-2002 European Studios; DAAD Eastern Partnerships ( Germany);
• Stipend of the International Board of the Ministry of Education and Science ( the German Aerodynamics Center);
• BWTZ-Programm (Germany, the Ministry of Science),
• INTAS – Publishing House ( Germany) ;
• BMEU/CEUME Business-Management- Education (the USA, Poland);
• The Jozef Mihknowski Science Development Fund ( Poland);
• Students Exchange Programmes AIESEC (Poland);
• The grant of the Ministry of Education and Sports, Poland;
• The grant of the Ministry of Education and Science ( Russia);
• The programm Dnipro (France) ;
• Grant of the Special School of Social Works, Construction and Industry (ESTP), (France);
• The grant of the Government of Chzech Republic;
• SIDA – Master’s and Bachelor’s programme Sandwich ( Sweden) and others
Donetsk National University (DonNU) (Russian: Донецкий национальный университет Ukrainian: Донецький національний університет, Donets’kyi Natsional’nyi Universytet) is the leading higher educational institution in Donetsk Oblast, Ukraine. The University’s history starts in 1937 from the moment of creation of a pedagogical institute in Donetsk (then Stalino). In 1965, the Institute was transformed into Donetsk State University. It was accorded the National status in 2000.
On July 15, 1937, a pedagogical institute was established in the city of Stalino (Donetsk) by decree from Ukrainian SSR as the Stalin State Pedagogical Institute. Its first director was Olekasandr Yevdokymenko, who was arrested in 1938 and sentenced to 10 years imprisonment during the Joseph Stalin’s Great Purge. Originally the institute consisted of two departments, of History and of Philology, and five chairs.
From 1940 to 1961 the institute was led by Serhiy Ksenofotnov and from 1961 by Mykola Khoroshailov. Since 1941 the school also included the Physic-Mathematical Faculty. Due to the invasion of the Nazi Germany of the Soviet Union, in 1941 the institute was evacuated first to Kungur and soon thereafter Molotov where it was liquidated. With the liberation of Donetsk during the World War II, in 1943 the institute was reestablished on the decision of Council of People’s Commissars of the Ukrainian SSR. In 1951 in school was established the Student Scientific Association that had two divisions historical-philological and physical-mathematical.
In 1961 the institute’s name changed to Donetsk State Pedagogical Institute. In 1964 Institute was subordinated to Kharkiv State University and became a Donetsk branch of Kharkiv State University named after Maksim Gorky. On May 28, 1965 the Soviet of Ministers of the USSR enacted a Decree on organising Donetsk State University (DonSU) based on Donetsk branch of Kharkiv State University. Professor Leonid Lytvynenko became the first rector of the university (1965–1968). In 1965 post-graduate studies were launched at the University with only 16 students at first. This was the year when faculties of biology and physics as well as students’ campus were built.
Appointed the second rector of the University, Professor Yuriy Shevlyakov managed the institution from 1968 to 1970, during which the main 12-storey building was constructed. Professor Hryhoriy Tymoshenko was the third University rector (1970–1975). In 1972, the University’s history museum was opened in the main building. Professor Hryhoriy Ponomarenko became the rector in 1975, followed by Professor Volodymyr Shevchenko in 1986. On September 11, 2000 the university was accorded national status by decree of the President of Ukraine, Leonid Kuchma. As a result of the war in Donbass, during which pro-Russian gunmen began using the campus as one of their bases, the university relocated to Vinnytsia.
Donetsk National University unites training, research and industrial centers forming a complex that includes: 12 Departments; 33 Specialties; Mariupol Humanitarian Institute; Donetsk Interior Institute; Donetsk Humanitarian Institute; 3 Technical Colleges; first in Ukraine Lyceum with Ukrainian as a training language; 6 regional Training and Retraining Centers; 3 Educational-Research-Industrial Complexes; 8 Training Complexes; 5 Departments and Advanced Training Centers; the UNESCO Department for Ecology in the Technogenous Region; Business Centre; Centre for Political Studies; Youth Centre for Legal Studies; the Laboratory for International Scientific and Technical Cooperation; Consulting Centres of the British, German and French Councils; Postgraduate Courses and Doctoral Studies.
In December 2008 a group of current and former students of the university published an appeal asking that the university be named after one of its graduates, Vasyl Stus. The letter to Minister of Education Ivan Vakarchuk was signed by more than 500 people, including the poet’s son Dmytro Stus. The Minister supported the initiative and approached the Rector of the university with a request to discuss the issue among staff and at the academic council. On 5 February 2009 National Deputy Olena Bondarenko presented a new initiative: to name the university after Volodomyr Degtyaryov, the First Secretary of the Donetsk Regional Party Committee from 1963 to 1976. The initiative was endorsed by some other National Deputies, including the leader of the Party of the Regions Viktor Yanukovych, Mykola Azarov and others. On February 17, 2009 62 out of 63 members of the university’s “Scientific council” voted against renaming the university to Vasyl Stus or Volodomyr Degtyaryov (61 voted against this), 63 voted for not changing the name of the institute. Earlier (February 13, 2009) representatives of the university’s students voted in exact the same fashion.
Vasyl Stus, Ukrainian poet, Soviet dissident
Hryhoriy Nemyria, Ukrainian politician, vice prime minister in the Second Tymoshenko Government
Ivan Dziuba, Ukrainian academician, minister of culture, literary critic, author of “Internationalism or Russification?”, Holodomor survivor, co-founder of the People’s Movement of Ukraine
Rinat Akhmetov, Ukrainian richest person
Donetsk State University of Management (Ukrainian: Донецький державний університет управління) is a Ukrainian University witch started in 1992 as the Donetsk State Academy of Management (with 31 graduates) and was awarded the status of University in 2004 by the Ukrainian Ministry of Education and Science.
Donetsk Academy of Management was established in June 1992 on the basis of Institute of Qualification Improvement of the Executives and Experts of the State Committee of Coal Industry of the Soviet Union.
The Academy was granted the status of public higher education establishment. The Charter of the Academy, its structure and Academic Council were developed and approved. Science-and-research department was organized.
Faculties of Production Management, Non-Production Management, Distant Learning, Post-diploma Education, and Faculty for Foreign Students were founded. Students’ Scientific Society was organized.
The Academy newspaper “On Academic Knowledge” began to be published.
The Academy was fully certified and accredited according to the III level of national accreditation of higher education institutions.
1996 – the Academy granted its first graduates.
Colleges of the Academy in the towns of Ugledar and Yasynovataya were opened.
Students of the Academy became the members of the Eurasian Students Association.
Post-diploma and Master Studies were opened. The College in Torez was established. The Association of the Graduates was set up.
The first agreements on cooperation with some educational institutions of Germany, Great Britain, the USA and France were signed.
The first issue of scientific journal “Manager” was published.
The Anthem of the Academy and the standards of the Faculties were approved.
By the decision of State Certification Board, DSAM was certified and accredited with the IV level of accreditation. The Specialized Academic Council on PhD Theses Defense in Public Administration was organized.
American Biographic Institute awarded Professor Stanislav Povazhny, the Rector of DSAM the title “The Man of the Year 2000”.
2001 – the Rector of DSAM was awarded the title “Honorary Citizen of Donetsk”.
According to the Rating of Higher Educational Establishments of Ukraine DSAM was among the five best higher education institutions specialized in management education in 2001.
2002 – Donetsk State Academy of Management celebrated its 10th Anniversary and the Museum of DSAM History was founded.
The Specialized Council on Doctor’s Theses Defense was organized.
The Rector of DSAM, Professor Stanislav Povazhny was titled the Corresponding Member of Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine.
2004 – by the decision of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine Donetsk State Academy of Management was accredited with the title of the University.
DSUM became the winner of the Rating of Higher Educational Establishments of Ukraine according to the results of the academic year and was awarded by Diploma of Sofia Kievskaya.
Professor Alexander Povazhny, Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs, Doctor of Sciences in Economics, Head of Department of Finance became the Laureate of President of Ukraine Award for Young Scientists.
DSUM joined Eurasian Association of Universities.
DSUM was awarded the Diploma of Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine for the high quality of training.
2007 – Professor Alexander Povazhny was elected he Rector at the meeting of the University’s staff.
The Specialized Academic Council on PhD Theses Defense of Candidate in Sociology was organized.
DSUM signed Memorandum of Understanding with United Nations Development Program in Ukraine.
2010 – English Track MA European management of international economic activities was launched.
On the 21st of August, 2012 Donetsk State University of Management celebrated its 20th Anniversary.
Campus facilities include 7 study buildings and 6 comfortable hostels where housing is guaranteed for all five years. For students’ service there are numerous computer classes with free Wi-Fi Internet connection. Students have free medical care and treatment for minor injuries at Medical Service. The University’s library is an essential support to study, teaching, and research activities. Almost 230 000 copies of books and periodicals represent important information service.
Fields of Study
Management in production sphere
Management in non-production sphere
Management of innovation activity
Management of international economic activity
Management in the field of economic competition
Management of investment activities
Management of environmental protection
Finance and Credit (specializations)
Master programs (Specific categories)
Master of Business Administration (МВА)
The University offers following faculties:
Faculty of Management
Faculty of Law and Social Management with Course MBA in Administrative Management
Faculty of Economics
Faculty of Finance and Accounting
Faculty of Part-time education
Centre of Postgraduate Education
Centre for Pre-vocational training
Centre for Foreign Students
Ugledar College carries out BA training of students in Finance and Credit, and Management. The College offers full-time and part-time forms of training.
Yasynovataya College was founded to grant students for BA degree in Finance and Credit, and Management. The College offers part-time form of training.
Torez College provides BA education for students on the following specialties: Finance and Credit, Production Management, Non-Production Management, Management of Foreign Economic Activities.
Mariupol Educational-and-Scientific Centre was founded as a structural division of Donetsk State University of Management in 2002. The Centre provides education for students at Bachelor degree programs in Finance and Credit, Marketing, Management, Production Sphere Management, Non-production Sphere Management, Management of Foreign Economic Activities specialties.
Awards and reputation
According to the rating of the best universities in Ukraine, which is compiled by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of Ukraine, DSUM in 2012 ranked 3rd place among higher educational institutions “Economics, Finance, Management, Entrepreneurship”. So far more than 16 thousand University graduates have become highly qualified specialists, who joined the ranks of management elite of Donetsk city, Donetsk region and Ukraine.
There are the following events that take place in DSUM during the year:
Inauguration of New Academic Year – students get acquainted with academic and extracurricular activity of the University.
Forum of Leaders of Students’ Self-governance Organizations – is a wonderful opportunity to spend a week at the seaside, exchanging ideas and new projects. In recent years, the number of participants of the Forum significantly increased and its format has become international.
Debut of the first year students is perfect opportunity for freshmen to demonstrate their talents on the stage.
Students’ Day is the most expected and famous holiday among the students and in frames of its celebration the following events are held:
Cossack Entertainments – folk show with traditional Ukrainian dances and jokes,Culinary Show – special event for gourmands
Hollywood Night is ball for students and the night out for funs of glamorous parties.
Humorous Show – team of DSUM with its witty jokes became permanent participant of inter-universities humorous festivals.
Beauty Contest Miss University of Management – holiday of beauty, grace and fashion.
‘University Stars – peculiarity of the show is participation of faculty and staff of DSUM in the show along with students.
There are plenty of events for sports fans as well:
Press conferences with players of FC Shakhtar with the participation of Viktor Grachev, Douglas Costa, Alex Teisheira.
Meetings with Pavel Burenko, Captain of Basketball Club “Donetsk”, as well as his teammates Max Adam Konate and Alexander Lipovoy, players of national team of Ukraine.
Meetings with players of Hockey Club Donbass.
University football team is winner of international tournaments among universities
The following are the notable alumni of the university:
Boris Kolesnikov-People’s Deputy of Ukraine
Klimenko Aleksandr Viktorovich-The Minister of revenue and charges of Ukraine
Lukyanchenko Oleksandr-Donetsk Mayor
Klochkova Yana-Hero Of Ukraine,4-time Olympic champion in swimming
Liliya Podkopaeva-Olimpic Champion gymnast
Chygrynskiy Dmytro- footballer of FC Shakhtar, winner of the UEFA Cup
Smirnov Victor-Hero of Ukraine, multiple champion and medalist of Paralympic Games in swimming
Aleksandr Revva-popular actor, showman, producer
Tìslenko Alexandr-Chairman of the Board of Directors of Altcom
Beschastnyi Viktor-Rector of Donetsk Law Institute under the Ministry of Home Affairs of Ukraine
Volodymyr Dahl East Ukrainian National University (SNU) (Ukrainian: Східноукраїнський національний університет імені Володимира Даля) is one of the leading establishments of higher education in Ukraine. It was founded in 1920, and in 1991 it was named after Vladimir Dal. It was the first higher educational establishment in which specialists in machine-building were trained. During World War II the institute was evacuated to Omsk (Russia). There it became the basis for the foundation of Omsk State Technical University.
Besides branches in Luhansk the university has branches in other Ukrainian cities (Sievierodonetsk, Rubizhne, Krasnodon, Antratsyt, Livadiya, Feodosiya, Yevpatoriya, Skadovsk).
Nowadays the university has level IV accreditation, with 24 faculties and nearly 1,083 professors, 742 of them PhD’s. The university owns 55 buildings in east and south (Crimea) Ukraine University has about 34,000 Ukrainian (and about 260 foreign) students and offers 124 majors. It used to be the largest machine-building institute in the former USSR.
In 2001 the university was named after Vladimir Dal (who is called Volodymyr Dahl in Ukrainian).
Some of the 24 faculties of the university include:
Accounting and Auditing
Internal Combustion Engines
Labour Safety and Life Security
Foreign-Economic Activity Management
Metal Cutting Machine-Tools and Instruments
Chair of Electronic Industry Equipment
Personnel Management and Economics Theory
Foreign Language Skills Development
Human Problems and Philosophy of Health
History of Ukraine
Evangel Theological Seminary (ETS) is an evangelical theological seminary based in Kyiv, Ukraine
In 1997 Ukrainian President Kuchma called a meeting of National religious leaders to plan for the 2000 anniversary celebration of the birth of Christ. During that meeting a request was made to the President that property be granted for the building of a church and seminary in the city of Kyiv. As a direct result of this request the mayor of Kyiv appropriated the present site. Plans were drawn, and through a series of financial miracles construction began, and continued for 2½ years until the building was fully completed. Since the beginning of classes in 2002, graduates are now ministering in countries throughout the former Soviet Union and beyond. The Seminary continues to respond to the need for preparing pastors, teachers and church leaders.
Evangel Theological Seminary has more than 27,000 library books, computer aids, audio/video resources and journals both in English and in Russian language.
Also have easily accessible fund of educational material for students not only books but on AUDIO, VIDIO, DVD, CD storages. It is different kinds of teaching programs, courses, lectures, books, commentaries, sermons on Russian, Ukrainian and English languages.
We have new modern library computer program which is using other major secular libraries in Ukraine and where student can find any book or resource that is needed. For student’s papers and Internet work we have a good computer laboratory.
Our Mission statement is:
“To offer advanced theological education and training that assists the church in the development of Pentecostal leaders for service in the CIS, Baltics, and Central Asian Republics.”
What we believe
• The Bible is the inspired and only infallible and authoritative written Word of God.
• There is one God, eternally existent in three persons: God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Ghost.
• In the deity of our Lord Jesus Christ, in His miracles, in His vicarious and atoning death, in His bodily resurrection, in His ascension to the right hand of the Father, in His personal future return to this earth in power and glory to rule a thousand years.
• In the blessed hope – the rapture of the Church at Christ’s coming.
• The only means of being cleansed from sin is through repentance and faith in the precious blood of Christ.
• Regeneration by the Holy Spirit is absolutely essential for personal salvation.
• In water baptism by immersion.
• The redemptive work of Christ on the cross provides healing of the human body in answer to believing prayer.
• The baptism in the Holy Spirit, according to Acts 2:4, is given to believers who ask for it.
• In the sanctifying power of the Holy Spirit by whose indwelling the Christian is enabled to live a holy life.
• In the resurrection of both the saved and lost, the one to everlasting life and the other to everlasting damnation.
The Seminary offers two degree programs: Master of Arts in Christian Studies and Master of Arts in Bible and Theology which enhances the professional level of students in the area of Pentecostal Theology, teaching and leadership skills.
The ultimate purpose of education in this program is the readiness of graduates to teach on a college level, organize new study programs, plant churches and involvement in local church ministry. Courses can be completed during a 2 year residency. Some classes are also offered at extension sites. To complete the programs: 20 completed courses are required for Master of Arts in Christian studies 24 completed courses are required for Master of Arts in Bible and Theology, for students with BA in Christian studies
The Information-diagnostic Systems Institute of National Aviation University performs training of specialists in the fields of unlawful access prevention systems, information measurement equipment, security of information in computer systems and networks, security of restricted access information and automatic processing systems, administrative management in the field of restricted access information, air navigation systems, service of air traffic, applied physics, telecommunication systems and networks.
§About the Institute
Education is provided by a professional team, which includes the first vice-president of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, academician A. Shpak, academician A. Shydlovskiy, corresponding members of the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine V. Makarov, V. Babak, as well as 28 Doctors of Sciences, professors and 120 Candidates of Sciences, senior lecturers. The Institute is equipped with computer classes, modern laboratories, where students study circuit engineering, electronics, aids of computer data processing, local and globalnetworks, transfer and protection, technique of the complex processes and systems modeling, systems of space austronavigation service and applied physics.
The graduates of Information-diagnostic Systems Institute have positions in telecommunication agencies, airlines, state establishments, bank and financial organizations and also various business structures using local and global computer systems and networks which require complex object protection or guaranteed information security. The Institute is in permanent cooperation with Antonov Aviation Complex, PJSC Pivdenmash, Meridian, scientific and research firms Electronmash, Ukraerorukh and the Universities of Munich and Dresden.
International Christian University – Kiev is a private university in Kiev, Ukraine. It was founded in 1992 in affiliation with Kiev National Economic University and International University Vienna.
Student training is based on the standard programs of Ukrainian economic universities and programs of American Business universities.
ICU-Kiev’s curriculum combines professional education and liberal arts. The institution offers a Bachelor of Business Administration degree with a choice of three majors: Management, Marketing, International Economics. Before 2007 Management information systems was offered as well. Classes at ICU-Kiev are conducted in English or Ukrainian and faculty includes American, British and Ukrainian instructors.
Activity frozen in summer 2013.
International Solomon University (ISU) is one of the leading non-governmental higher education institutions of Ukraine.
It was founded in 1991 with an emphasis on modern world standards of higher education. In 1991-1994 Professor Alexander Tetelbaum was the President-founder of ISU. Teaching at the ISU begun on September 1, 1993.
The conception and development strategy of International Solomon University were formed by outstanding scholars and public figures, among which F. Alekseev, M. Altschuler, F. Burchak, F. Gorovsky, Yu. Daletsky, L. Krasny, M. Epshtein, A. Rozenfeld, Yu. Furmanov, R. Shapshovych, A. Tetelbaum, G. Yusim, and G. Yablonsky.
The supreme body of ISU management is the Board of Founders, headed by R.M. Shapshovych. The Board of Founders and the Supervisory Council of ISU are represented by famous scholars and social and political figures. The management of the current ISU activity is carried out by the rector – Professor, Doctor of Economics A. Rozenfeld. The ISU vice-rector — Professor G. Finin. The Eastern-Ukrainian Affiliated Department in Kharkiv (director — Professor B. Yelkin) prepares specialists in History, Software, Finance and Marketing.
Interregional Academy of Personnel Management (Ukrainian: Міжрегіональна Академія управління персоналом (МАУП), translit.: Mizhrehional’na Akademiya upravlinnya personalom, English acronym: MAUP, also IAPM or IRAPM) is a private higher education institution in Ukraine. Founded in 1989 as a non-state establishment, the MAUP consists of a preparatory department, a lyceum, college, institutes and postgraduate school and has over 50,000 students in many branches throughout the country. Since 1991, MAUP has been publishing the Personnel magazine and the Personnel Plus newspaper. In 2008, the U.S. State Department published its “Contemporary Global Anti-Semitism: A Report Provided to the United States Congress” and singled out MAUP when it stated the Ukrainian-based organization “is one of the most persistent anti-Semitic institutions in Eastern Europe.”
Features and affiliations
The MAUP is the largest non-state higher education institution in Ukraine. It is accredited by and has the license of the Ministry of Education of Ukraine to carry out educational process in ten higher education specialties with the right to give out diplomas of state and international standards.
The MAUP has published in excess of 300 study plans and manuals and 200 books for a variety of educational programs. The Personnel magazine is registered by The Presidium of the State Accreditation Committee as a supplement on economics, law, psychology, pedagogy, philosophy, social and political sciences. MAUP’s editions have been recommended for use by The Ministry of Education of Ukraine. It is an affiliate member of the International Personnel Academy and European University Continuing Education Network (EUCEN).
The MAUP asserts that “Pursuant to the results of Sophiya Kyivska, the Rating of Higher Education Establishments in Ukraine (2000), and International Open Popularity and Quality Rating (1998-2000) IRAPM was recognized as the best non-state higher education establishment in Ukraine.”  (However it should be noted that private educational institutions are rare in Ukraine, as almost all educational institutions are owned by the State).
In the recent years, the MAUP became embroiled in controversies because of evident antisemitism in their publications and conferences. The MAUP maintains that their activities can be classified only as anti-Zionism, but its critics in the ADL point out traditional antisemitic propaganda traits that have no connection to Zionism, such as religious antisemitism or solely blaming the Jews for the Russian October Revolution or the Holodomor of 1932-1933 (as a part of the Judeo-Bolshevist antisemitic conspiracy theory).
During October 6, 2004 hearing of the Annual Report on International Religious Freedom 2004 and Designations of Countries of Particular Concern before the Committee on International Relations of the United States Congress, the MAUP was called “[t]he most troubling development” in Ukraine and it was asserted that it receives “significant funding from Arab and Muslim states”.
§Allegations of antisemitism
On April 14–19, 2005 the MAUP weekly newspaper Personnel Plus published an open letter to President Yushchenko, Ukrainian Verkhovna Rada Speaker Volodymyr Lytvyn and Supreme Court of Ukraine Chief Justice Malyarenko calling for a parliamentary investigation into the “criminal activities of organized Jewry in Ukraine”. The newspaper claimed that the letter was signed by more than a hundred scientific, civic, and political leaders.
On June 3, the MAUP sponsored a one-day conference entitled “Zionism As the Biggest Threat to Modern Civilization” attended by the former Ku Klux Klan leader and former Republican Louisiana State Representative David Duke of the United States. The Kyiv Post newspaper called the gathering “a disgusting orgy of racism and hatred”. In August 2005, the MAUP awarded Duke with a Kandidat Nauk degree in History.
After the Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad’s threat to “wipe Israel off the map” had evoked international condemnations, on November 4, 2005 the MAUP issued “a decisive protest against large-scale campaign, organized by Zionists, against the Islamic Republic of Iran and its President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad […] where he quoted the words of the Iranian spiritual leader Ayatollah Khomeini about future death of Israel and the USA”.
In his November 22 statement, Georgy Shchokin, the MAUP’s President who also heads the “International Personnel Academy” (IPA) and the Ukrainian Conservative Party (UCP), combined traditional Christian antisemitism with what has been defined as “new antisemitism”, and failed to mention that the UN General Assembly Resolution 3379 of 1975 (equating Zionism and racism) has been revoked in 1991 by the UNGA Resolution 4686:
“We’d like to remind that the Living God Jesus Christ said to Jews two thousand years ago: ‘Your father is a devil!’ … Zionism in 1975 was acknowledged by General Assembly of UN as the form of racism and race discrimination, that, in the opinion of the absolute majority of modern Europeans, makes the most threat to modern civilization. Israel is the artificially created state (classic totalitarian type)…. Their end is known, and only the God’s true will rescue all of us. We are not afraid, as God always together with his children!”
On December 1, 2005, the MAUP held a conference “The Jewish-Bolshevik Revolution of 1917 – the Source of the Red Terrorism and the Starvation of Ukraine”.
In the March 2006 issue of the Personnel Plus, an article revived false blood libel accusations from the infamous 1911 Beilis Trial by mischaracterizing the verdict as the jury recognizing the case as ritual murder by persons unknown even though it found Beilis himself not guilty, when in fact the defense had entirely rested on demolishing the concept of Jewish ritual murder. A week earlier, MAUP leaders had visited the grave of Andrei Yuschinsky, the Christian boy who had been the victim in the case.
At a conference held at the MAUP Academy in Kiev, the heads of the MAUP accused “Rothschild’s Soldiers” of the genocide of the Ukrainian people.
On August 15, 2006, an article on the MAUP’s website denounced the Bnai Brith as “the Jewish Gestapo”.
On November 21, 2005, the Simon Wiesenthal Center (SWC) called on Ukrainian authorities to publicly denounce and revoke the accreditation of one of Ukraine’s largest private universities. The SWC associate dean Rabbi Abraham Cooper charged that “[b]y supporting Ahmadinejad’s threat to Israel, MAUP’s consistent Jew-baiting now culminated in an endorsement of genocide. While such utterances may be free speech in the Ukraine, as a proper it is long overdue for the leadership of the Ukraine to exercise their democratic rights and obligations to denounce such statements and censure those who use academic cover to target a minority and to endorse potential mass murder.”
On December 5, the President of the Ukrainian American Coordinating Council (UACC) Ihor Gawdiak issued a statement “to convey our profound shock and distress concerning the horrific statement made on 4 November by the heads of the International Academy of Manpower Management (MAUP) in support of the Iranian President’s statement that Israel should be wiped off the map.”
On the same day, the office of the President of Ukraine Viktor Yushchenko issued a statement which said in part:
“The Head of State is worried that anti-Semitism spreads throughout Ukraine. He condemned the Interregional Academy of Personnel Management (IAPM) as an institution that systematically publishes anti-Semitic articles in its publication Personnel. Yushchenko said he had left the supervisory council of the journal to protest against this inhumane policy. He called on professors of the IAPM to respect citizens of all nationalities and confessions and to “stop rousing national hatred.”
Yushchenko once sat on MAUP’s board, and Foreign Minister of Ukraine Borys Tarasyuk was honorary director of one of MAUP’s subdivisions until 2005. Yushchenko resigned from MAUP several years ago, following its criticism by Jewish organizations.
On December 6, the ADL urged the US House of Representatives to delay approval of Ukraine’s graduation from the Jackson-Vanik amendment. The ADL National Director Abraham Foxman wrote: “We expect more from democratic states than we do from totalitarian ones. This year alone has seen a steep increase in acts of violence and vandalism against Jews across Ukraine. There have been attempts to ban everything from Jewish organizations to Jewish holy texts. The university MAUP […] actively promotes anti-Semitism of the most vicious kind.”
On December 7, the US-Ukraine Foundation (USUF) condemned “[…] the November 4, 2005 statements by the Interregional Academy of Personnel Management (MAUP) as hateful, virulent and having no place in the public discourse in Ukraine or anywhere else. MAUP’s anti-Semitic statements supporting the Iranian President’s recent call for Israel to be ‘wiped off the map’ was an affront to decency that provoked the unequivocal international condemnation it deserved.”
Speaking on national television on January 23, 2006, Foreign Minister of Ukraine Borys Tarasyuk “strongly condemned the anti-Semitic actions of MAUP University” and confirmed that “having exhausted all efforts to convince MAUP leaders to drop their unlawful and wrongful actions” he broke off contacts with University a year ago. In its press-release, the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine accused MAUP of breaking Ukrainian law, noting “persistent incompliance with requirements of state licensing rules for universities, failure to abide with legally binding decisions of the State Accreditation Commission”, qualifying it as “a general negligence of law and a desire to pursue activities inconsistent with the status of Higher Education Institute in Ukraine”.
This move was welcomed by the UACC, National Conference on Soviet Jewry (NCSJ), the ADL, and other human rights advocates.
The leader of Vaad in Ukraine Joseph Zissels called MAUP “the most influential center of anti-Semitism in the country.”
The latest rebuke came from Ukraine’s High Court which ruled against MAUP as it sought to sue the Jewish Confederation of Ukraine for publishing articles “about MAUP activities directed against the Jewish community and Zionism”.
Ivano-Frankivsk National Technical University of Oil and Gas (Ukrainian: Івано-Франківський національний технічний університет нафти і газу) is an institution of higher education in Ivano-Frankivsk, Ukraine.
Since its establishment in 1967, the university’s focus remains on preparing qualified and experienced specialists for the oil and gas industries. However, it has expanded to offer education in economics, management and law that is directly related to the needs of energy industry.
Ivano-Frankivsk Oil and Gas University has a two-pronged approach toward education of its students: in the classrooms and in the field. In the classroom, students are provided the theoretical knowledge. Then, by working at university “field-classrooms” or by holding internships with regional businesses and organizations, the future specialists gain practical experience.
College of automatics and computer science
College of electrification and information-measurement technologies
College of economics and entrepreneurship
College of oil-gas logistics
College of management and informational activities
College of management of industrial and regional economical development
College of architecture of tourist complexes
Gas-oil industrial College
Geological investigatory College
The National Technical University “Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute” (NTU “KhPI”) ((Ukrainian: Національний технічний університет “Харківський політехнічний інститут”)), in the city of Kharkiv, is the largest and oldest technical university in eastern Ukraine. Founded in 1885, it is the second-oldest technical university in the Russian Empire (after Saint Petersburg State Institute of Technology) and in the territory of modern Ukraine (after Lviv Polytechnic).
The university was established according to the program for technical education in the Russian Empire set up by Dmitry Mendeleev as a Practical Technological Institute, with two departments (mechanical and chemical) which could offer training to 125 students. The organizer and first rector of the institute was Viktor Kyrpychov, an honored professor specializing in mechanics and resistance in materials. In 1898, the institute was renamed the Emperor Alexander III Technological Institute. After the October Revolution in 1917, the Technological Institute continued its work. In 1921 the institute set up the first department for workers (rabfak) in Ukraine, and in 1923 (at the request of students, teachers and employees) the institute was renamed for Vladimir Lenin. In 1929 the V.I. Lenin institute of Technology was renamed the Kharkiv V.I. Lenin Polytechnic Institute (KhPI), a name kept until the fall of the Soviet Union.
In 1930, five independent higher-educational institutions (for mechanical machine-engineering, electrical technology, chemical technology, engineering and construction, and aviation) were set up as five separate departments of the institute. KhPI, as a whole, temporarily ceased to exist after that but historians consider these five institutions as informal branches sharing a common history. During World War II over 3,000 professors, students and institute employees joined the Army. Evacuated to Krasnoufimsk and Chirchiq, the institute continued training engineering staff; it also solved serious scientific problems related to strengthening national defense (such as contributing to tank-design work spearheaded by Alexander Morozov, one of the key engineers in T-34 design). In 1949 four higher-educational institutions (the institutes for mechanical machine-engineering, chemical technology, electrical technology and the institute of the cement industry) were reunited into the Kharkiv V.I.Lenin Polytechnic Institute. Professor Mikhail Semko was appointed its rector, and remained in this position for 30 years.
After the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991, KhPI continued its work as a Ukrainian institution of higher learning. In April 1994, the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine granted Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute university status and it was renamed the Kharkiv State Polytechnic University (KhSPU). In September 2000, the status of National Technical University has been given to KhSPU, by decree of the President of Ukraine; since then, it has had its current name (NTU “KhPI”). In February 2010, NTU “KhPI” was granted the status of Autonomous Research National University by decree of the Ukrainian Cabinet of Ministers.
NTU “KhPI” has been accredited as a university of the highest (IV) level. It trains full-time students in 91 fields and offers 69 fields for instruction by correspondence. It has the greatest number of matriculated students in eastern and southern Ukraine (4,377 places for full-time students and over 4,000 places for correspondence students). The university has 21 full-time departments, departments for correspondence and new full-time students, a center for foreign students, an inter-branch institute for advanced studies and three research and design institutes. It prepares specialists in the fields of machine-building, automation, electrical engineering, electronics, chemical engineering, control systems, management, computer science, software engineering and business.
Campuses and buildings
The university consists of approximately 20 buildings. Most campuses are concentrated compactly — through Pushkinskaya and architect Beketov underground stations. Campuses have changed shape over time. Old buildings were built, as usual in the 19th century, and functioned from the very inception of the institute. They are built of brick and are of great architectural and even historical value. New buildings were built in the Soviet era and their dimensions correspond to concrete houses built at that time. They were built during 1960-1980s.
U-1 is the highest building and one of the largest in the university. The body has a rectangular shape at the base. It has a large area of glazing (*). It is the tallest in the university and one of the tallest buildings in the city — besides, it is located on top of a hill. You can see much of the city from there: all Nagirnyy region and adjacent neighbors, Holodna Gora, Saltovka, Novi doma. This building was commissioned in 1974. There are six elevators, including two high-speed, which start to function 10 minutes before the lectures start and stop when they begin. There are two stairwells. U-1 has many departments, dean offices and classrooms.
Height: 60 m
Number of floors: 14
Year of completion: 1974
U-2 is the second highest and the largest building of the university. As with U-1, it was built during the period of mass construction and in the typical style. Its shape is rectangular; it is linked by an underground passage with the Physical campus building. The architectural design is more interesting than U-1, for example, the staircase is paved with marble. As in U-1, there are four elevators. The building has eight floors including a basement which is used for education. (U-1 has a basement but, unlike U-2, it’s for storage.)
The building includes a department of general and experimental physics along with many other departments. The university entrance examination commission, offices of the university newspapers and the cafeteria are housed there. Physical condition of the campus is relatively good. One of the university computer labs local is here. The first floor of the building is occupied by the student government “Student Alliance” of NTU “KhPI”
Height: 32–34 m
Number of floors: 7 (8 with the basement)
Year of completing: 1982
Central part of Main Classroom Building
MCB (Main Classroom Building) is the largest of the old buildings of the institute. It is lined with brick and was constructed in the second half of the 19th century. The building contains a number of departments, dean offices and other classrooms. The building is rectangular with two interior courtyards. There are a library and reading room. The classic design of the stairs is the main architectural feature of the building. It has three floors, with high ceilings whose height is 4.5 meters. The building has a large basement.
For a long time it was used as the main building of the University (until building of U-1 and U-2). During its long existence (over 100 years) many famous people worked there. There are memorial plaques at the main entrance of the building in their honor. The Memorial built in honor of Polytechnicians, who died during the Great Patriotic War is opposite the building. The building itself has a lot of art work showing the life of the institute in different eras and a wall commemorating the heroes of the Great Patriotic War. The outside part of the building has rich architectural decoration.
Height: 17 m
Number of floors: 3
Year of completing: 1885
The Sports complex of the NTU “KhPI” is a building separate from the campus in the Kharkiv Youth’s park (close to Pushkinskaya subway station, apart from other university buildings). It is built of cement blocks. It is a relatively new building built in the 1980s. The Sports complex has a lot of rooms, gyms and sport objects including an Olympic-size pool. It is equipped with modern changing rooms and shower facilities. Athletic competitions between NTU “KhPI” students and students of other universities take place here. Also the NTU “KhPI” students’ physical education classes are held here. The Sports complex is one of the best buildings in the city and at the university. It is the second large building of university campus after U-2 (2nd Educational building). The building shape is not uniform as it is more geared toward functionality. The lobby is decorated by two trophy-cases containing awards, won by NTU “KhPI” sportsmen.
The university has unique sports facilities, which in certain sports granted the status of the Center of Olympic training. Athletes successfully defend the honor of the university in competitions at the highest level. In total during 2005 to 2011 in the competition of the European level they won 46 gold, 33 silver and 62 bronze awards. In world competitions they won 36 gold, 20 silver and 19 bronze awards.
Radio-electronic building (modern name: NTU “KhPI” Center for Integrated Technologies)
The Radio-electronic building (“NTU KhPI Center for Integrated Technologies”) is a four-floor cement building, with a basement. It is one of the new university’s buildings. In this rather small building are housed laboratories, equipment and computer classes. The ground floor windows are protected with grates. Including a basement it is a five-storey building. There is a freight elevator. Floors are connected with big panoramic staircases. Among the university buildings, which were built during Soviet years in the 1960s-1970s, this one has the lowest number of floors. The research institute is on the second and third floors. The building also houses the Institute of Ionosphere of NAS, the Ministry of Education and the offices of Youth and Sport of Ukraine.
Height : 16 m
Number of stores: 4 (5 with basement)
Completion of construction: 1960s and ’70s
Chemistry building is one of the oldest in the university
The Chemistry building is the second in size and importance of the old buildings of the university. It was built in the middle of 19th century along with the Main Academic building. Most chemical laboratories and dean’s office of the Organic Substances Technology Faculty are located in the building. Like the Main Academic building it is square shaped with an enclosed court in the centre.
On the second floor of the building is the Great Chemical Auditorium, one of the largest in the institute. The building has two entrances: external and internal. The addition of two floors marred the building’s classic design.
Height: 18 m
Number of floors: 4 (sometimes 3)
Completion of construction: Second half – the end of 19th century.
The Electrotechnical building of NTU “KhPI” has the most students. In the past this building was an independent Electrotechnical institute, separated from Kharkiv Technical Institute. It was designed by the architect Beketov in 1930 and is an example of architectural constructivism. Technical departments and dean’s offices are located in the building. The Electrotechnical building is one of the largest in the university; it has several entrances and exits as well as the main one.
After the war during the process of reconstruction, the main entrance of the building was designed as a colonnade in the architectural style of Stalin’s Empire. The building plays an important role in the life of NTU “KhPI”. Different events and funerals for honored people of the university take place in front of the map of electrification and before the statue of Lenin.
Departments and satellite campus
Tinted photo of main administration building, about 1900
Main Administrative Building, circa 1900
Department of computer science and management
Department of computer and information technologies
Department of mechanical engineering
Department of power-plant engineering
Department of transport engineering
Department of economics
Department of business and finance
Department of physics and technology
Department of electric power
Department of electric-power engineering
Department of instrument-making
Department of inorganic-substance technology
Department of organic-substance technology
Department of chemical machine engineering
Department of economics and law
Department of business management
Department of military education (formerly the Kharkiv Higher Tank Command School)
Notable alumni and faculty
Mikhail Gurevich, Soviet aircraft designer
Leonid Krasin, Russian and Soviet Bolshevik politician and diplomat
Iona Yakir, Red Army commander and military reformer
Hnat Khotkevych, Ukrainian cultural figure
Lev Landau, Soviet physicist, Nobel Prize winner (1962)
Nikolay Beketov, Russian physical chemist
Vladimir Steklov, Soviet/Russian mathematician and physicist
Alexander Morozov, Soviet tank designer, long-time head of Morozov Design Bureau, one of the key persons responsible for T-34 tank and its successors
Lev Belkind, Soviet power engineer and science historian
Leon Theremin, Soviet inventor, creator of the theremin, the first electronic musical instrument
Anton Valter, Soviet nuclear physicist, one of the founders of the Ukrainian Institute of Physics and Technology, the first nuclear physics research facility in Ukraine
Petr Budnikov, Soviet chemist (chemistry of silicates)
Nikolai Pylchykov, KhPI professor, practical physicist, inventor of radio remote control and photo-voltaic effect
Oleksiy Oliynyk, (also known as Alexey Oleinik) Ukrainian-Russian professional Mixed Martial Artist, Two-time world champion in Combat Sambo, current UFC Heavyweight
Konstantin Chelpan, chief designer of the T-34 tank engine
Leonid Pastur, Ukrainian physicist and mathematician.
The first doctors of honor of NTU “KhPI” were distinguished scientist such as Professors D.I. Mendeleev and N.E. Zhukovsky. Over the past years, famous scientists from 13 countries, along with the scientists of Ukraine, were awarded the title of Honorary Doctor of NTU “KhPI”. Among them:
Academician B.E. Paton
Academician A.K. Shidlovsky
Academician V.V. Kafarov (Russia)
Academician M.Z. Zgurovsky
Academician V.L. Rvachov
Academician Ferenc Kovacs (Hungary)
Academician V.P. Seminozhenko
Academician P.D. Sarkisov (Russia)
Academician G.A. Yagodin (Russia)
Academician B.S. Stogniy;
prof. Nicholas Iliash (Romania)
prof. Michelle Fyuten (France)
prof. Wolfgang Kersten (Germany)
prof. Dieter Schneider (Austria)
prof. Tilman Reuter (Austria)
prof. Johannes Altenbach (Germany)
The University is unique among other Kharkiv educational institutions, as it occupies the same campus that was initially given to it at its foundation in 1885 (the area was formerly called “Technological Garden”, after the former name of the university).
Several campus buildings remain intact from the 19th century and may be considered historically significant as samples of past campus architecture:
Main Administrative building
Main Academic building
Round, gray Electrotechnical Building with high-pillared entrance
In addition, these modern facilities were established during the Soviet era:
Electrotechnical building (1929–30)
Administrative and economic building
1st Educational (U-1) building (1977)
2nd Educational (U-2) building (1985)
Computer building (former graduate-education building)
Gigant (Giant) student dormitory (1926–30), located off-campus
The institute has a contemporary sports complex, allowing for more than 30 types of sports and activities; this allows for active involvement in sports for students and faculty. Among thousands of active sportsmen in NTU “KhPI” are Olympic and world champions, winners of international and national competitions, including Т. Artemenko, I. Moskaltsov, V. Homutov (mountaineering), Aleksei Barkalov (water polo, two gold Olympic medals in 1972 and 1980), G. Gafanovich (volleyball), Dmitrii Bezkorovaynyi, Ruslan Babaev (arm wrestling), I. Kaydash, L. Tkachenko-Garkavaya (track and field), N. Yesipenko (badminton), I. Kyrychenko (cycling), L. Khazieva (swimming), I. Raevskyy and D. Slatyn (basketball).
Oleksandr Serdyuk – bronze medal (men’s archery team competition)
Oleksandra Ryzhkova (women’s track and field)
Andriy Tverdostup (men’s track and field)
Iana Dementeva (women’s rowing)
2008 Summer Olympics participants from NTU “KhPI”:
Ihor Bodrov – men’s track and field
Since 1997, Dmitriy Bezkorovaynyi and Ruslan Babaev have won several world arm-wrestling championships. Considerable success on the 2004 Summer Paralympics in Athens was achieved by Andriy Zhyltsov (gold, silver and two bronze medals) in athletics (track-and-field) events.
Wikimedia Commons has media related to Kharkiv Polytechnical Institute.
Awards and reputation
In the 2012 rankings of the most famous universities in Ukraine the National Technical University “Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute” was in the top ten.
2012 Ranking of NTU “KhPI”:
Composite “Compass” ranking – 6th place
“Dengi” magazine – 3rd place
“Engineering and Technical specialties” ranking – 3rd place
“Compass 2012” IT specialty – 3rd place
“Compass 2012” Eastern Region – 1st place
UNESCO “Top 200” – 6th place
Webometrics Ranking of World Universities:
in the world – 2092
in Europe – 798.
2013 Ranking of NTU “KhPI”:
QS World University Rankings – 701+
Webometrics Ranking of World Universities:
in the world – 2743
in Europe – 741.
Simon Kuznets Kharkiv National University of Economics (Ukrainian: Харківський національний економічний університет імені Семена Кузнеця) is the largest economic higher educational and research institution in the Eastern Ukraine. Established in 1912, since 2013 the University is named after Simon Kuznets, its’ noted alumnus.
KhNUE provides a full range of undergraduate and postgraduate educational programs implementing multistage training, retraining and upgrading of qualification in 26 specialties in economy and business, management, public administration, informatics and cybernetics, computer sciences, publishing business and printing industry, tourism.
The initiative to create a special economic educational institution in Kharkov was raised in 1888 by merchant and commerce-adviser Nikolay Orlov. It was promoted as a patriotic act timed in honor of the miraculous salvation of the Royal family in the train accident at the Borky station near Kharkov. The Kharkov merchant society established and inaugurated in 1893 the School of Commerce named after Alexander III. The school had eight years special secondary training curriculum. Next public initiative conceived by university professor N. Paliyenko resulted with opening of the Evening Higher Courses of Commerce in October (24) 10, 1912. The Higher Courses provided four years training in fields of enterprise and economy, local government, bank and finance, industrial management. After the Courses had received the special building and had increased its student body up to 1226 with the nearest planned quantity of 4000, in 1916 State Duma granted it with the status and rights of a governmental higher educational institution – Kharkov Institute of Commerce. Within 1918-1921 Simon Kuznets was a student of the Institute and had studied basic economics there.
§1920s – 1980s
During the subsequent reorganizations, partly provoked by the anti-Soviet activity of the Institute’s faculty, the academy was initially transformed into the Kharkov Institute of National Economy (1921), and then, in 1930, divided into relatively small branch-wise colleges. Especially, its Department of Industry became to be the Kharkov Engineering-Economic Institute designed to train the specialist, so-called “engineer-economists” (industrial economists) for the Ukrainian heavy industry: mining, metallurgy, basic chemical and coke-chemical, machine-building factories and R&D facilities. Following the Soviet times tradition, October 1, 1930 marked as the official founding date of the University. The institute rendered wide advisory help to the industrial enterprises in reconstruction, technological upgrading, increasing of labour productivity and economic efficiency, cost-effectiveness analysis. During this period, the institute had been creating advanced system of retraining and improvement of professional skill of the middle and chief executive personnel of the industry’s management. In 1950s professor Evsei Liberman organized and guided the research laboratory. Its research was generalized as a basis of economic reform in 1965 in the USSR. Since the early 1960s the Institute also taught specialists for designing and maintaining the automated industrial control systems. Since the 1980s, also – the specialists in foreign trade and international economics.
After general curriculum of the Institute had been basically revised, in 1994 Institute was granted with the highest Level IV government’s accreditation and on 20 April 1994 was transformed into the Kharkiv State University of Economics. Since August 21, 2004 – the University was awarded the status of National; in October 14, 2013 – named after Simon Kuznets. In 2007 the University was conferred on the Order of Friendship of Vietnam. Since 2000 the University have being multiply expanded its operating scale in educational and research activity. The University occupies leading position among economic universities in Eastern Ukraine region with 710 members of academic staff and more than 12,000 students in 2011. There have been reestablished cohesion between academic and research activity that had been extrinsic for the soviet-type educational system. The University was a pioneer institution in Ukraine in implementation of Bologna educational standards, introduction of variable studying courses as a part of curriculum, development of interactive learning technologies, broadening of international cooperation. Furthermore, the Universities campus is being underwent the large program of reconstruction resulted in the considerable growth of the actual space of its lecture-halls, labs, dormitories and sports facilities.
Index increase, 2000—2010
Academic staff 1,5
Investments in building and reconstruction 9,6
Personal computers 12,2
Floor area of educational and laboratory buildings 1,25
Floor area of the sports facilities 6,5
Funding for research works 11,6
Scientific articles publication 4,8
Monographs publication 10,3
Printing of scientific journals 12,6
Scientific conferences 22
Students research papers and reports 61,6
Rectors of the University and preceding higher educational institutions:
Timofeev Vladimir Fedorovich (1912 – 1919)
Fomin Petr Ivanovich (1920 – 1923)
Sokolin Yakov Aleksandrovich (1923 – 1926)
Velichko Lev Isaakovich (1927 – 1928)
Kustolyan Evgeny Aleksandrovich (1929 – 1930)
Bidnyj Vasily Gerasimovich (1930)
Tolstov Ivan Ivanovich (1932 – 1933)
Bragin Ivan Dmitrievich (1934 – 1938)
Yampolsky Stephan Mikhailovich (1938 – 1941)
Sazonov Alexander Vasilijevich (1943 – 1947)
Teslenko-Ponomarenko Feodosiy Fedotovich (1947 – 1965)
Shtets Konstantin Aleksandrovich (1966 – 1977)
Siroshtan Nikolai Antonovich (1978 – 1999)
Ponomarenko Volodymyr Stepanovich (since 2000)
KhNUE Column at an annual celebration of the new academic year beginning (Kharkov, Svobody square, September 1, 2010
The university includes the following divisions:
Faculty of Account and Audit
Faculty of Management and Marketing
Faculty of Finance
Faculty of Economic Informatics
Faculty of International Economic Relations
Faculty of Economy and Law
Furthermore, there are subsidiaries, research and other associated divisions including:
Center for Educational Innovation Technologies
Laboratory for evaluating levels of creativity and intelligence
Center for distance and dorrespondence education
§Courses and programs
26 academic programs in BA, Expert (“specialitet”), Master, Candidate of Economic Sciencies and Doctor of Economic Sciencies degrees preparation are available for Ukrainian and International students. Teaching is possible in Ukrainian (Russian) or English languages.
§Multimedia tutorials production
Starting in 2011 the University develops a wide range of multimidia electronic books and courses based on Adobe Captivate platform. Ministry of education and science of Ukraine regarded such activity as innovative in Ukraine. Up to 2015 predominant number of academic coursies teaching in KhNEU is planed to be supplied with a multimedia manuals as a part of the used educational technics.
§Personal Training Systems
Since 2006 KhNEU introduced a variative part (free electives) of individual students curriculum.
Furthermore, Portal of electronic distance learning provides better access to training resources and improves communication between teachers and students. University’s standards for distance learning via the Internet is based on Moodle environment. Available to students are more than 550 e-learning courses (2010). KNUE also is the developer of distance learning systems for Kharkiv secondary schools.
Development of the research activity is a foreground of the University’s strategy. Scientific research is seeing as a basic condition for improving the quality of education. The University has close cooperation with the Research Centre for Industrial Development Problems NAS of Ukraine.
The University’s strategy of development is based on assumption that so-called scientific schools can support the progressive advance in key directions of research and educational sphere. Now such schools exist in the field of strategic management of the industrial enterprises, economic cybernetics, a tax policy, management of social and economic development of regions.
§Strategy of the socio-economic development of the Kharkiv region
Since 2001, KhNUE’s scientists have been working up on a series of research projects aimed to the elaboration of the conceptions of socio-economic development of the Kharkiv region. The first of these was initiated by the Head of Kharkiv Regional State Administration Evgen Kushnaryov and conducted by the KhNEU’s Research Laboratory of socio-economic problems of society under his guidance. The Strategy for the period up to 2010 was presented to the Kharkiv regional parliament and the scientific community of the city in 2003. In 2008, the new Strategy covered period 2010-2015 (under the guidance of A.Avakov) . In 2010, a joint team of representatives of the city authorities, practitioners, scholars and the Research Centre for Industrial Problems (under the guidance of M.Dobkin) presented Scientific and practical report “Basis for sustainable development of the Kharkiv region up to 2020”. The report was adopted by the Regional parliament on 23 December 2010.
§International conferences and business forums
KhNEU is the venue for representative business forums of both regional and national scale. These were the International scientific and practical conference for the development of the socio-economic development program for the Kharkiv region (2001, 2004, 2010), the International Conference of Regional and Local Economic Development (2001), the Ukrainian-Russian Investment Forum (2003), the International economic Forum “Regional Cooperation” (2003), Environmental Forum (2004, 2006), International Tourism Forum “Kharkiv: Partnership in Tourism” (2010) and others. Every year the University held or provides a platform for about ten scientific conferences.
The acts as a publisher or cofounder of three scientific journals.
“Economics of Development” (“Ukrainian: Економiка Розвитку” ISSN 1683-1942) is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 2002. It publishes original research papers in relatively wide range of fields of economics.
“Management of development” (“Ukrainian: Управління розвитком” specializes on students’ papers and conference proceedings.
“Business Inform” (“Ukrainian: Бізнес Інформ” ISSN 2222-4459) is a co-founded peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1992 and edited by KhNUE and the Research Centre for Industrial Development Problems.
KhNUE Library housed in the renovated scientific library building of 4000 sq m. The library consists of 5 sections with 12 reading rooms for 460 seats and 12 subscriptions. Since 2009, readers have open access to full-text documents. The librarian complex operates with automated cataloging literature system and its reading rooms are provided with up-to-date computer systems supplying unlimited Internet and specialized database saccess. Particularly in the library operate centers of Innovative Knowlage of the World Bank and EU Information Center. By means of the Centers readers can access the information and analytical resources of these organizations.
KNUE is a member of the Magna Charta Universitatum (2004), Association of Economic Universities of South and Eastern Europe and the Black Sea Region (2008), Agence universitaire de la Francophonie (2009) European University Association (2009). Agreements on cooperation and partnership relations established with more than 40 universities in the EU, Russia and the CIS countries, USA and Canada, the countries of East Asia (2010).
The University has collaborative master’s “double diploma” programs with the Lumière University Lyon 2 (France) and the University of Applied Sciences Technikum Wien (Austria). French-Ukrainian MBA program “Business-Informatics” has worked successfully since 2005. In 2010 the program obtained the highest mark A+ of the Association on assessment of research and higher education (AERES, France). According to research of SMBG Consulting Group the program is included in top 10 best MBA programs Business Intelligence in France in 2013 and 2014. From 2015 a part of students of the program “Business-informatics” will undergo one-year training in the University Monpellier 2 on the joint MBA program “Creating new innovative companies”.
KhNUE promoted actively the students’ social, public, cultural and voluntary activity. The University has the Youth Organization, Youth Center, and more than thirty amateur groups. There were established traditional festivals named “Student Spring”, “Debut”, KVN, “Mister” and “Miss KhNUE”, KVN (the university’s version of “Club of the Funny and Inventive” show), Debate and oratorical tournaments, “The Golden Compass” competition and others. Rich cultural life along with wide range of cultural and social opportunities for students are one of the distinctive features distinguishing KhNUE among universities of Ukraine.
The Youth Organization founded in 1999 traditionally occupys leading position in Kharkiv region as an area of many colleges and universities (the 1st largest educational center of Ukraine) and in Ukraine as a whole. The Youth Organization is an active participant in regional and Ukrainian actions: All-Ukrainian School of Young Leaders, Ukrainian festival “Students’ republic”, the Students’ mayor of Kharkiv (nominations 2004, 2005. It is the co-founder of Kharkiv Student Youth Union, Regional Coordinator of Ukrainian Students Rada (USR) in Kharkiv; KhNEU’s students Vladimir Shemaev and Natalia Yakunina were the USR’s elected leaders in 2006-2007 and in 2008-2010 respectively.
Youth Center (Student Club) KhNUE was founded in 2000. Youth Center brings together and assists creative teams, i.e. provides a general support for the students activities. In 2010, among teams from different genres, there were skiffle-group of pop dance “Joy”, pop dance band «Emotion», folk vocal-instrumental ensemble “Roxolana”, chorus “Vernіsazh”, vocal ensembleы “Opium”, “Nathnennya”(“Afflatus”), vocal band “New People”, vocal and instrumental ensemble, an orchestra of wind instruments, stage theater «Empire» and others.
“Student Spring” is a traditional, since 2001, annual university festival.
Similarly, the “Debut” festival is dedicated and performed by first-year students.
§”Inzhek” Travel Club
“Inzhek” Travel Club provides a support for traveling activity for students and faculty.
§Fan Club “Inzhek-Metalist”
Fan Club “Inzhek Metalis” started its activity in February 2010 as a joint project “Towards each other” by KhNUE and Kharkiv FC “Metalist”.
§”The Golden Compass”
The University is a venue for international student competition of PR-projects “The Golden Compass”, founded in 2007. The competition aims to stimulate creativness and practical initiatives of students enrolled in specialized educational fields: marketing, advertising, PR. Now “The Golden Compass” is a professional team competition. Before 2013 it was a part of promotional activities for tender projects, from 2014 – Startup initiatives. Participants are expected to complete projects for real enterprises and campaigns. The jury consists of representatives of the business only. The competition is supported by international and national companies and professional associations of Ukraine – Ukrainian Association of Public Relations (UAPR), Ukrainian PR-League.
In 2003, the organizational system of students’ sport activity was endorsed by the Minister of Education and Science as model and was recommended for all educational institutions of Ukraine. By 2013 there were annual competitions in 10 sports and in mini-football tournament on the Rector’s Cup.
Aerobics, fitness aerobics, gymnastics, cheerleading.
Weight lifting, weightlifting, powerlifting, athleticism.
Men’s and women’s basketball teams of the University.
Women’s volleyball team KNUE founded in 1999 and since 2000 is a member of the Graduate Students League of Ukraine. Regular participant of competitions held Volleyball Federation Kharkiv region and the Regional Department of Physical Education and Sport.
Training groups of table tennis is available both for students and for faculty and staff of KhNUE. The University’s team takes part in friendly matches with other Kharkiv universities teams and Kharkiv Sports Festival of Universities. There are personal championship among foreign students, the personal championship KhNUE in memory of L.S.Luchenko, faculties’ matchs.
§Sambo and Judo
As well, the University has a developed network of Sambo and Judo acting teams. Team championships are held among the faculties, the individual championship, and performances. KhNUE’s Team is a participant of the International tournament in memory of Vladimir Kiselyov.
Started in 2006 sport tourism classes are held on the technique of walking, mountain biking and boating. KhNUE Teams were the repeated awardee of regional and inter-university competitions.
There is a men’s team of the University. Football championships are conducted among students’ hostels teams, futsal competition among faculties. The KhNUE’s Team was a winner of the “Metalist Student League” in 2013.
§Checkers and Chess
The University’s chess club was opened in 2011.
Kharkiv National University of Radioelectronics (KNURE) is a higher education institution of the highest level of accreditation in Ukraine. It is one of the oldest Universities of Technologies in Ukraine with over 12000 students and 30 scientific centers.
It has strong research and education capabilities in electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, ICT and computer technologies.
KNURE hosts International Academy of Applied Radio&Electronics and the Eastern-Ukrainian branch of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), pioneered the development of distance learning in Ukraine. It has a high expertise in introduction of innovative technologies into education and business.
History of KNURE
Emblem of the Kharkov Geodetic Institute
The history of KNURE begins in 1930 when Kharkiv Engineering-Building Institute (KEBI) was founded on the basis of building faculty of Kharkiv Polytechnical Institute and architectural faculty of Kharkiv Art Institute. In 1934 Kharkiv Geodetic Institute and Scientific Research Institute of Geodesy and Cartography entered the structure of the institute. In 10 years KEBI became the largest higher education institution of Ukraine numbering 1734 students, 200 teachers and 4 faculties: Architectural, Building, Sanitary and Geodetic.
In 1966 KIMBAC was given a name of Kharkiv Institute of Radioelectronics (KIRE) Soon after the declaration of independence of Ukraine KIRE got the status of University and became Kharkiv Technical University of Radioelectronics (KTURE) in 1993.
In 2001 the status of the University was advanced to the National University.
KNURE consists of 9 faculties and 30 departments:
Faculty of Computer Sciences (CS)
Artificial Intelligence (AI)
Information Control Systems (ICS)
Systems Engineering (SE)
Computer Software (CSoft)
Engineering and Сomputer Сraphics (ECG)
History, language and culture of Ukraine (UKR)
Faculty of Computer Engineering and Control (CEC)
Electronic Computers (EC)
Computers Design Automation (CDA)
Information Technologies Security (ITS)
Faculty of Applied Mathematics and Management (AMM)
Applied Mathematics (AM)
Economical Cybernetics (EC)
Higher Mathematics (HM)
Social Informatics (SI)
Faculty of Radio-engineering (RE)
Radio Electronics Systems (RES)
Radio Engineering Fundamentals (REF)
Radio Electronic Devices
Foreign language (FL)
Faculty of Telecommunications and Instrumentation (TCI)
Telecommunication Systems (TKS)
Communication Networks (CN)
Metrology and Measuring Equipment (MME)
Faculty of Electronic Devices (ED)
Design and Operation of Electronic Appliances (DOEA)
Technology and Automation Prodaction (TAPR)
Engineering and Computer Drawing (ECD)
Labour Protection (LP)
Faculty of Electronic Engineering (EE)
Microelectronics, Electronic Devices and Appliances (MEDA)
Physical Foundations of Electronic Engineering (PFEE)
Biomedical Electronic Devices and Systems (BED)
Faculty of Life Long Learning
Faculty of External Study
Awards and reputation
The University ranks first among technical universities of Ukraine by the results of the rankings made by the Ministry of Education and Science, Youth and Sport of Ukraine (according to “Education of Ukraine” №26 (1295) of 25 June 2012 and the website http://euroosvita.net ).
In the Compass-2012 rankings KhNURE is the 8th in general ranking, the 9th under “Technical Specialities” category and 4th under “IT Specialities” category.
The Compass-2012 rankings for Eastern Ukraine: general university ranking – 7th rank, 6th rank under “Technical Specialities” category and 2nd rank under “IT Specialities” category.
In the top 200 the university has retained its place since last year and ranks 15th among higher educational institutions of Ukraine and 2nd in Eastern Ukraine.
The University runs 16th among Ukrainian higher educational institutions in the rankings of scientometrical database Scopus
Strong cooperation within TEMPUS, INTAS, INCO-Copernicus, EU Joint- and Double-Degree Master programs, etc. allowed KNURE to become one of the first HEIs in Ukraine which introduced the Bologna principles and ECTS to its practices.
Kyiv International University is a private university in Kyiv, the capital of Ukraine, founded in 1994. It was called the International Institute of Linguistics and Law until 2002. Today KIU has nearly 5000 students. The academic staff of KIU includes 65 Doctors of Sciences, Professors, 148 Candidates of Sciences, Associate Professors. Address: vul. Lvivska, 49, Kyiv, Ukraine.
International Relations Institute (International Relations, International Law, International Economic Relations, Country Study, International Information, International business, Tourism, Computer studies, Program engineering studies, Management of informational security);
Institute of Journalism (Journalism);
Institute of Television, Cinema and Theater (Cinema and Television Art; Dramatic Art)
Institute of Linguistics (Foreign philology, Translation);
Institute of Law (Science of Law);
Institute of Psychology, Social and Political Sciences (Psychology studies, Social work, Political studies);
Department of Economics (Management of organizations, Enterprise economics, International economics, Finances and Credit, Marketing, Accounting and audit; Commodities studies and entrepreneurship);
Department of Building and Architecture (Building studies);
Kyiv National Linguistic University (Ukrainian: Київський національний лінгвістичний університет) is a higher education institution in Kiev, Ukraine. It was founded in 1948 as Kiev State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages. It has the status of autonomous institutions. In common parlance it’s called “In’Yaz” (Russian: ИнЯз) which means “foreign languages.”
Post addresse: Ukraine, Kiev, vul. Chervonoarmiyska, 73
Kyiv National Linguistic University is the successor of the Kyiv State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages, established by the Ministry of Education of the USSR (Decree № 524/69 of March 30, 1948). By the Decree № 592 of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine of August 29, 1994 the Kyiv State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages was renamed Kyiv State Linguistic University.
With due regard to the national and international recognition of the contribution to the development of national education and science, Kyiv State Linguistic University was granted the status of «National» by the Decree № 591/2001 of the President of Ukraine of August 7, 2001. For over sixty years, the Kyiv National Linguistic University worked hard to have achieved results that were marked by significant advances in many areas of national and foreign linguistics.
Since its foundation, the university has made significant achievements in the field of Foreign Linguistics.
In 1948/49 academic year the Kyiv State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages had three faculties (English, French and Spanish), with 238 first year students enrolled. The Institute employed 19 full-time and 11 part-time teachers at the time. The Faculty of the German Language was formed in 1953, the Faculty of the Russian Language for foreigners – in 1977, the Preparatory department for foreign citizens – in 1983. Post-graduate courses have been offered since 1962, and doctoral courses – since 1992.
After Ukraine has gained independence, to meet the needs of the state, KNLU has endeavored to implement an important objective – to train highly qualified specialists in foreign languages (teachers and interpreters). Compared with 1990, the number of students has doubled (from 3,224 students in 1990 to nearly 6,000 students in 2012, including more than 400 students from foreign countries). Over the last decade, the university established the Economics and Law Faculty, the Faculty of Translation, the Faculty of Oriental Studies, and 10 new specialized departments.
The University is a founder of the Ukrainian branch of the International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign Language (IATEFL). Today, the University maintains comprehensive cooperation with educational and cultural missions of foreign countries in Ukraine (American House, British Council, Goethe Institute, the French Cultural Center, and Japanese Cultural Center). In 1993, the first UNESCO Chair in Ukraine was established at the University.
Campuses and buildings
KNLU has 3 educational facilities where classes are held, 4 student dormitories, a computerized library with more than 1 million books in storage, 10 computer classes for 300 students, a modern sports center, a student cafeteria and various buffets.
Until 2011 there were 10 faculties and 2 institutes into which the university was divided:
Institute of Oriental Languages
Economics and Law Institute
Department of French
Department of German
Department of Spanish
Department of Translation (English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Arabic, Turkish and Persian)
Department of Slavic Languages
Preparatory Department for Foreign Citizens
Department of Evening Studies
Department of Postgraduate Education, External Department
Since 2011 there 7 faculties due to the structural reorganization.
Honoured Doctors of Science
Nikolayeva Sofiya Yuriivna – the Honoured Doctor of Science of the University; famous scientist in linguodidactics, author of about 150 research papers; supervised 19 Candidates of Science and 1 Doctor of Science; decorated with the Order of Merit (third grade, 1998) and with many honorary diplomas of the Ministry of Education of Ukraine; honoured with the title of the Educationalist Emeritus of Ukraine (1992).
Dvorzhetska Margaryta Petrivna – the Honoured Doctor of Science of the University; supervised 14 Candidates of Science, author of about 110 research papers; awarded with the Diploma of Honour of the Presidium of the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine (1990), Makarenko Medal (1985), Yaroslav the Wise Diploma of the Academy of Sciences of Higher School of Ukraine (1996), honorary diplomas of the Ministry of Education of Ukraine.
Sklyarenko Nina Kostiantynivna – the Honoured Doctor of Science of the University; supervised 21 Candidates of Pedagogical Sciences of Language Teaching Methodology, author of about 100 research papers; in 1981 was granted the bronze medal of the USSR National Economic Enterprise General Board of Exhibition of Achievements, in 1984 – the Socialist Republic of Vietnam medal; in 1996 was granted «The Excellent Teacher of Ukraine» medal, in 1998 – the honorary diploma of the Ministry of Education of Ukraine.
Worldwide known alumni scientists
Artemchuk Halik Isakovych – chancellor of Kyiv National Linguistic University from December 26, 1998 to June 10, 2009, Professor, the member of the Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine, the Educationalist Emeritus of Ukraine; was decorated with the Order of Merit of the Second and the Third grades; St.Volodymyr prize laureate; was granted many foreign prizes.
Vas’ko Roman Volodymyrovych – chancellor of Kyiv National Linguistic University from April 2010 till now; Doctor of Philological Sciences, Professor; the Educationalist Emeritus of Ukraine.
Vorobyova Olha Petrivna – Doctor of Philological Sciences, Professor; the Educationalist Emeritus of Ukraine; was granted «Scientific Achievements» medal.
Valihura Olha Romanivna – Doctor of Education, Professor; has more than 90 academic publications.
Bihych Oksana Borysivna – Doctor of Education, Professor; has 100 academic publications.
Rukina Emma Petrivna – Candidate of Philological Sciences, Professor; the Educationalist Emeritus of Ukraine.
Fesenko Valentyna Ivanivna – Doctor of Philological Sciences, Professor; honored with the Letter of Recognition by the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine for a long-term conscientious work, personal contribution into training of highly skilled specialists, prolific academic and pedagogical work; the author of more than 100 scientific publications.
Kahanovska Olena Markivna – Doctor of Philological Sciences, Professor; has more than 100 academic publications.
Maksymenko Analoliy Petrovych – Doctor of Education, Professor; has more than 50 scientific publications.
Hrynyuk Halyna Arkadiyivna – Candidate of Education, Professor; the Educationalist Emeritus of Ukraine.
Danylych Valentyna Stefanivna – Doctor of Philological Sciences, Professor; was granted the «Sofia Rusova» medal.
The Kyiv National University of Construction and Architecture (KNUCA) — better known under its former name Kyiv Civil Engineering Institute (Russian: Киевский инженерно-строительный институт or КИСИ) — is the largest and most important building and architectural university of Ukraine located in the nation’s capital Kiev.
The institution was founded in 1930 as the Kyiv Civil Engineering Institute on the basis of factory and communal construction branch of the Kyiv Polytechnic Institute (KPI) and the architecture faculty of the Kyiv Art Institute. During the post-World War II Soviet period, KISI rose to become the second highest engineering and architecture faculty in the U.S.S.R., behind the Moscow Civil Engineering Institute (МИСИ).
By the Decree of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine of August 13, 1993 the Kyiv State Technical University of Construction and Architecture was created on the basis of the Kyiv Civil Engineering Institute. On February 28, 1999 by the Decree of the President of Ukraine (217/99) the university was accorded the status of a National University as “Kyiv National University of Construction and Architecture.”
Educational and scientific work is organized and carried out by more than 96 chairs numbering about 800 professors and instructors.
About 10,500 students study at the university. After the graduation they acquire the education qualification levels of Bachelor, Specialist, and Master of Science. The postgraduate courses in about 30 specialties are available at the university for those who choose to continue their professional and scientific training under the guidance of experienced advisers. The postgraduate preparation functions at the University, 9 specialized Scientific Councils for protection of the doctor’s and candidate dissertations in 25 scientific specialties, 7 research institutes and 11 specialized research laboratories works.
The campus area includes six education cases, center of information technologies and computer-aided specialized laboratories, sports complex, library complex and reading hall (more than 1 million publications), eight hostels, hotel, sanatorium, educational-rehabilitation camp, food enterprises, etc.
Automation and information technologies department;
Construction technological department;
Geoinformation systems and territory management technologies.
Teachers’ refreshment and studies department;
Pre-higher education department;
Chair of training specialist in civil defense.
Mykolaiv college of construction.
The training of specialists occurs in civil engineering, engineering or natural environment, engineering mechanics, automation and computer-integrated technologies, computer sciences, geodesy, cartography and land management, architecture, depletive art, management.
The main departments are Civil Engineering, faculty of Architecture; Automation and Complex Mechanization, City Development, Construction Technological, Sanitary Engineering, and Distance Learning.
The National Technical University of Ukraine “Kyiv Polytechnic Institute” (NTUU “KPI”) (Ukrainian: Національний технічний університет України “Київський політехнічний інститут”) is a major university in Kyiv, Ukraine. In January 2012 Webometrics Ranking KPI made it into top 1,000 – taking 957th place out of 20,300 universities, 510th (February 2013).
The institute was founded in 1898. At that time it had four departments: Mechanical, Chemical, Agricultural, and Civil Engineering. The first enrolment constituted 360 students. The leading Russian scientists Dmitri Mendeleev, Nikolai Zhukovsky and Kliment Arkadyevich Timiryazev gave substantial scientific and organizational assistance in the founding of the institute.
Viktor Kyrpychov was the first rector of the KPI. It was largely due to Kyrpychov’s efforts that such professors like V.P. Yermakov, S.M. Reformatsky, M.I. Konovalov or Vladimir Zworykin became members of the first faculty.
In 1930, the Kyiv National University of Construction and Architecture (KNUCA) was established on the basis of factory and communal construction branch of the Kyiv Polytechnic Institute (KPI) and the Architectural faculty of the Kyiv Art Institute.
The Kyiv polytechnic’s main building
An early-20th century Russian postcard with the photo of the institutes main building.
Educational and Scientific Complex “Institute of Applied Systems Analysis” – ESC “IASA” (connected with EPAM Systems, SAP AG, and SAS Institute)
Educational and Research Institute of Telecommunication Systems – ITS
Institute of Energy Saving and Energy Management – IEE
Institute of Special Communication and Information Security – ISIS
Mechanics and Machine-Building Institute – MMI
Publishing and Printing Institute – VPI
Physics and Engineering Institute – PTI (connected with Sun Microsystems and IBM)
Inter-branch Institute of Post-graduate Education
Institute of Pre-admission education and Vocational Guidance
Aviation and Space
Applied Mathematics (connected with Freescale)
Biotechnology and Biomedical Engineering
Electricity and Energy Engineering
Engineering & Chemistry
Engineering & Physics
Heat-and-power Engineering (connected with EPAM Systems)
Informatics and Computer Engineering (connected with Cisco Systems)
Inter-university Medical Engineering Faculty (IMEF)
Management and Marketing
Physical Training and Sports
Physics and Mathematics
KPI – Building №1.
The university has two campuses the central one being located in Kiev, and the other in town of Slavutych.
The Kiev campus of the university is located near the city centre in a park named after the university.
Here almost 9,000 of non-Kievite students are accommodated in 21 dormitories, 3 of them for married students. The life conditions at the university domes is a matter of numerous complaints of their inhabitants usually living in an 18 square meters rooms by 4 people in the room.
The institute has an outpatient medical department for employers and students.
KPI – Technical Library.
The Institute also considers organized leisure a very important factor in bringing up young specialists.
The Knowledge Square is the centre of the entire KPI complex, measuring approx. 105 x 100 meters. The Knowledge square is connected to one of the main city streets – Peremoha (Victory) avenue. Meetings, festivals, and graduation ceremonies take place at the square.
The University also has an assembly hall with 1,750 seats. It was opened in August 1984.
Various sport facilities also exist at the institute. There are training grounds, soccer fields, volleyball and basketball courts at student disposal. There are many nationally rated athletes among the students of this institute.
Some Institutes were organized on the KPI basis. Among them are: the Civil Engineering Institute. Technological Institute of Light and Food Industry, the Institute of civil Aviation, Automobile and Road Building Institute, Agricultural (now Agricultural Academy) and others. In 1934 – 1944 the KPI was called an Industrial Institute.
Other Labs & Organisations
Scientific Society of Students and Post-graduates
Scientific-industrial laboratory DIDAKTIK
UNESCO Chair in Higher Technical Education, Applied System Analysis and Informatics
State Polytechnic Museum
70% of the KPI teachers have scientific degrees. Among them there are Academicians and Corresponding Members of the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences, Professors, and Merited Scientists. The language of instruction is predominantly Ukrainian.
The UNESCO CEPES (European Centre for Higher Education) ranked Kyiv Polytechnic Institute as the best university in Ukraine.
At present the number of students at the KPI more than 36,000. Approximately 400 of them are international students. In this way students, especially those who live in a hostel, have a social life with their foreign fellow students and a chance to learn more about other cultures, people and ideas. Over 4,500 students graduate from the KPI every year. The diploma is accepted by the European Union. The KPI has a preparatory department for foreigners. There is a possibility to study English and at the same time learn Russian.
Full-time students attend the school for 5 years and 6 months; part-time – 5 years and 10 months.
The school offers 68 majors and 70 minors at its 3 branches. There are 16 departments and a college, including the following:
Department of Informatics and Computer Engineering that offer courses on Electron Instrument Engineering, Cybernetics, and Control engineering and Computer engineering, among others.
Electric Power Engineering Automation dept that offers courses Electrical Networks and Electric Systems, Central Power Plants, High Voltage Technique, and Cybernetics of Electrical Systems.
Electro-Acoustic Faculty offering courses in Hydroacoustics Sound Recording, Measuring Techniques, and Microprocessors.
Faculty of Radioengineering
Physical engineering Department offering courses on Metallurgy, Metals and Alloys, Powder Metallurgy, and others.
The Summer School “Achievements and Applications of Contemporary Informatics, Mathematics and Physics” (Summer School AACIMP) (Ukrainian: Літня Школа “Досягнення та застосування сучасної інформатики, математики та фізики”; Russian: Летняя Школа “Достижения и приложения современной информатики, математики и физики”) – is an annual international scientific-educational project of volunteers from the university’s Student Science Association  of National Technical University of Ukraine “Kyiv Polytechnic Institute”. It is aimed at an international audience of advanced students, postgraduates and young scientists. There are usually about 100 participants.
It has been traditionally held each August since 2006. As a rule, the duration of the project is two weeks.
A large number of prominent people worked and studied at the KPI: E.O.Paton, the inventor of electric welding; M. I. Konovalov, a well-known chemist; I. P. Bardin, Ukraine’s greatest metallurgist; A. M. Lyulka, USSR’s premier designer of jet engines; rocket scientist Sergey Korolyov; creator of Sikorsky Helicopters, the well-known inventor Igor Sikorsky, well-known scientist in the field of fuel combustion and protection of the atmosphere from industrial pollution Isaak Sigal; Boris Yakovlevich Bukreev, a prominent mathematician known for his works in complex functions, differential equations, and non-Euclidean geometry. President of the First Exam Board in chemistry faculty was Dmitri Mendeleev.
Also must be mentioned: Stephen Timoshenko, reputed to be the father of modern engineering mechanics; Vladimir Chelomei, Soviet mechanics scientist and rocket engineer; Aleksandr Mikulin, Soviet aircraft engine designer and chief designer in the Mikulin OKB, Oleg Tozoni, the head of the Department of Electrodynamics at the Cybernetics Institute of the Academy of Science.
Chairman of the National Bank of Ukraine Valeriya Hontaryeva is also an alumni.
The Kyiv Polytechnic Institute has foreign economic relations with 45 foreign partners from 12 countries of the world. 29 agreements and 17 contracts have been concluded and 77 protocols have been signed: KPI received the certificate as a participant of foreign economic relations.
The most active international scientific and technological cooperation is carried out by the chairs of the institute with the partners from Poland, Germany, Bulgaria, Denmark and Lebanon. Lately the relations with China, USA, Italy, Vietnam and Spain have become more active. The institute carries out the exchange of students according to the agreement on operation with the University of Oregon (USA).
KPI was the first university of Ukraine that joined the community of the European Universities, and signed the visionary “Magna Charta of the European Universities” (“Magna Charta Universitatum”) in September 2003.
Wikimedia Commons has media related to National Technical University of Ukraine.
Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg (Germany)
University of Klagenfurt (Austria)
University of Miskolc (Hungary)
University of Antwerp (Belgium)
Iowa State University (USA)
University of Manchester (Great Britain)
Anhui University of Technology (China)
University of Oregon (USA)
University of Wisconsin-Madison (USA)
National Technical University of Ukraine “Kyiv Polytechnic Institute” positions in national and international ratings of the best Ukrainian educational institutions, employers ratings, etc.
State Establishment “Lugansk State Medical University” SE LSMU. Established on 6 May 1956, and Currently, the university is a powerful educational – scientific and medical complex that includes medical and biological boarding schools, gymnasium, classrooms in remote areas of the region, and six faculties. The University enrolled nearly 3,000 students, including foreigners from more than 60 countries. The School has 40 departments, among them – 22 clinical and 18 theoretical. Postgraduate education is on the faculty of postgraduate education, where there are 6 chairs. Diploma studies based on the application of modern educational technologies aimed at improving the quality and effectiveness of the learning process. The university employs 400 teachers, among them 76 doctors of sciences, professors, 288 candidates of sciences, associate professors, 9 Honored Science and Technology and one Honored Worker of Education of Ukraine, 5 winners of the State Prize of Ukraine, two experts LHC.
The University was founded in 1956, according to the Council of Ministers Decree number 2522 of May 6, 1956 when he was called Voroshylovgrad State Medical Institute. The first rector was the acting chief physician of the regional hospital named after Dzerzhinsky, Honored Doctor of Ukraine Ivan D. Vashenko.
He was succeeded by Eugene Palchevskiy Gnatovych, who led the Institute for 02/25/1957 to 25/05/1960 R., MD, professor. Graduated from Kyiv Medical Institute, a member of the Second World War. Under his leadership, began implementation of the first academic staff and students of the Institute, opened the Academic Council and the Student Society.
Povelitsya Theodore D. – led the Institute for 25/05/1960 to 18/11/1963 was, PhD, Associate Professor. He graduated from the Kharkov Medical First hygienic Institute (1933-1936 gg.) Involved in the fighting on the fronts of World War II. Much attention is paid to the development of clinical site of the institute.
Korchykov Donat G. – Director of the Institute of 18.11.1963 to 27.12.1966, the, PhD, Associate Professor. In 1940-1941 he studied at the Kharkov Medical Institute from 1941 to 1942 – in the Tashkent Medical Institute in 1942-1943 – in Kharkiv infantry-mortar school, combatants of the Second World War. In 1946-1950 he studied and graduated from the Dnepropetrovsk Medical Institute. Completed clinical sites forming the Institute, he worked part-time assistant professor of Surgery Hospital.
Tchaikovsky Irina Josypivna – Rector of the Institute from January 1967 to June 1975, MD, Professor, Honored Worker of Higher School. In 1941 graduated from Kyiv Medical Institute. From 1956 to 1984 headed the department of anatomy, during the years of its leadership has been opened specialized Academic Council of the defense of dissertations, built administrative building and two dormitories. Institute became famous scientific institution, furthermore, at its base diverse educational work carried out, in particular functioned student amateur, started a medical professional orientation among rural youth. Together with Joseph I. Tchaikovsky in Lugansk was carried away session of the USSR on problems of health workers coalmining industry.
Faddeev Anatoly – Rector of the Medical University 26.09.1975 to 15.08.1984, the, PhD, Associate Professor, Head of Department of Forensic Medicine. He graduated from Odessa Medical Institute in 1955 While working as rector paid much attention to the structure of the new academic building, hostel and Palace of Sports. He made the opening of new faculties: Advanced Medical (1979) Pediatrics (1983). Since 1983 began training foreign students in the medical faculty. Under his leadership began conducting scientific research on the problems of immunology and opened specialized laboratories in several departments.
Koveshnikov Vladimir G. – Rector (1984–2003 years), MD, Professor, Honored Worker of Science of Ukraine, academician of Academy High School, winner of the State Prize of Ukraine. Professor of anatomy. Graduated from the Saratov Medical Institute in 1955 carried out the changes in the activities of the Institute, which in 1994 was renamed the University. In terms of academic training University won a prestigious place among the leaders of higher medical education in Ukraine. For years of construction management organization committed teaching and administrative building, dormitory, university dental clinic palace book stadium, “Pharmacy schools” and others. Opened new departments: dental, pharmacy, nursing, bachelors. University became famous medical training and research institution among the foreign countries.
Valery Ivchenko K. – Rector of the University in 2003 and now its graduate, MD, Professor, Honored Worker of Science of Ukraine, Head of the Department of Traumatology and Orthopedics. The first rector, elected staff employees of the University. Carried out the training of the university in teaching foreign students English. Under his leadership, activated patriotic and educational activities of the university, further development was student government, self-supporting activities of departments, the development of specialized medical centers, remodeling classrooms, departments, services, student dormitories.
In September 2014 it was evacuated from the area affected by war in Donbass to Rubizhne.
§Campuses and buildings
The University has its campus, which is located in a green forest area of Lugansk.
The infrastructure of the campus is – three academic buildings with research laboratories, three multi-storey hostel № 1,2,5, with dining area and access to the Internet, most modern Palace of books, educational Pharmacy studio, a sports complex with a modern open stadium, tennis courts and field for cricket, vivarium for keeping laboratory animals, sanatorium “Sunny”, garage for 10 cars, a technical center and turning metalwork workshops, household composition, two pumping stations, five transformer substations. In addition, the university has a dental clinic with modern equipment and the Centre for Family Medicine. Base clinical departments in hospitals located in Luhansk city and regional importance.
The total area of all buildings is 73957kv.m. Including training – 18172kv.m., Training and support – 15870kv.m., Utility – 25135kv.m., Living – 14870kv.m.
Faculty of Medicine
Department of Pediatrics
Faculty of Foreign Students
Faculty of Dentistry
Faculty of Postgraduate Studies
Vashenko John D. (06/05/1956 to 24/02/1957 City)
Palchevskiy Eugene Gnatovych (25/02/1957 to 05/25/1960 City)
Povelitsya Theodore D. (05/25/1960 to 18/11/1963 City)
Korchykov Donat G. (11.18.1963 to 27.12.1966, the)
Tchaikovsky Irina Josypivna (from January 1967 to June 1975)
Faddeev Anatoly (from 26.09.1975 to 08.15.1984, the)
Koveshnikov Vladimir G. (1984–2003 years)
Valery Ivchenko K. (since 2003)
§Honorary Doctors and Graduates
Laureate of the State Prize of Ukraine – MD Professor VK Ivchenko, MD Professor VG Koveshnikov
Academics High School Ukraine – MD Professor Koveshnikov VG, MD Professor V. Frolov
Honored Worker of Science of Ukraine – MD Professor VK Ivchenko, MD Professor Koveshnikov VG, MD Professor B.Yu. Dobrin, MD Professor V. Frolov,
MD Professor Antipova S., MD Professor Dyemyenkov VR, MD Professor Gaydash IS, MD Professor Romaniuk BP, MD Professor Lukyanchuk VD, d.med.n Kazamyrko Professor NK, MD Professor Komarevtseva IA
Honored Worker of Health of Ukraine – d.farm.n. Professor Hudzenko AP
Honored Worker of Industry of Ukraine – Tsybko VI
Honoured Doctor of Ukraine – MD Professor V. Chub, MD Professor Joffe IV, MD Professor Radionov VG, MD Professor Pepenin VR, PhD Rodomskyy VT, PhD Hoopoe AM, PhD Rachkauskas GS, PhD Doncova KM, PhD Kachur NV, PhD Pomerantseva TI
Honorary citizens Lugansk – MD Professor Koveshnikov VG, MD Professor AA Olshanetskyi
§Awards and reputation
“Lugansk State Medical University” for a long time is the appropriate place according to the rating of universities in Ukraine UNESCO’s “Top 200”:
2008 – 59 place
2009 – 52 place
2010 – 58th
2011 – 58th
According to the ranking medical universities in Ukraine in 2011, the University took seventh place. In 2011, DZ Lugansk State Medical University “took first place among medical universities in Ukraine the number of foreign students.
2006 University awarded the Silver Medal and Diploma of Ministry of Education of Ukraine for high professional training.
2007 University awarded a diploma and a gold medal of the All-Ukraine Project MES ‘best medical education institutions of Ukraine. ”
2008 Personnel of the University awarded by the Minister of Coal Industry of Ukraine.
2010 Silver Medal awarded by University of Education of Ukraine in the category “Innovative development of education and modern educational technology.”
2011 University awarded the Gold Medal in the category of Education of Ukraine “International cooperation in education and science”
2012 University awarded the Silver Medal in the category of Education of Ukraine “Creation and implementation of modern teaching facilities.”
§Journals and books
“Ukrainian Journal of extreme medicine behalf H.O.Mozhayeva”
“Ukrainian Journal of Clinical and Laboratory Medicine”
“Ukrainian Medical Almanac”
“Ukrainian morphological Almanac”
“General Pathology and Pathological Physiology”
“Actual problems of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Clinical Immunology and Medical Genetics”
“Surgery of Donbass”
The University of Luhansk (officially Taras Shevchenko National University of Luhansk, often referred to as LNU), located in Luhansk, Ukraine, is the oldest university in Donbas region and has a reputation as one of Ukraine’s most prestigious universities. At present it operates from Starobilsk, where it was forced to relocate due to the war in Donbass.
U of Luhansk grew out of an association of professors in the city of Luhansk that was formed by the Soviet authorities as Teachers’ Training Institute in 1921.
The University of Luhansk is often referred to as the best regional educational establishment in Ukraine. In addition to cultural and practical participation in the work of the Ukrainian society, the University participates in international projects such as MBA joint program with Franklin Pierce University.
March 1, 1921 (The University Day) – Regional Teachers’ Training Courses were opened.
1923 – The first higher educational establishment was founded in Donbas region: Donets Institute of National Education (DIPE) in Luhansk.
1934 – Donetsk Institute of National Education was reorganized into Luhansk State Pedagogical Institute.
1939 – Luhansk State Pedagogical Institute was named after Taras Shevchenko.
1993 – Hrinchenko Studies Institute and Canada-Ukraine Renaissance Centre were opened at the University of Luhansk.
1998 – Institute obtained the IV level of accreditation; Luhansk Taras Shevchenko State Pedagogical University was founded on the base of the Institute.
2000 – LNPU was recognised as the best university in Ukraine for sports achievements (2 silver and 1 bronze medals of the XXVII Olympic Games in Sidney), according to the results of the VII Open International Assessment “Zolota Fortuna” the University won two prizes: “Best Ukrainian Regional University” and “Great Contribution to Ukrainian Pedagogical Science Development.”
2001 – the Eastern Branch of Taras Shevchenko Institute of Literature of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (the joint order № 363 of the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine and the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine) was founded at the University of Luhansk; the scientific research centre “Regional Higher Education” (a joint project with the Institute of Higher Education of the Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine) was founded; LNPU became a member and regional representative of the International Academy of Pedagogical Education in Moscow.
2002 – According to the results of the IX International Academic Assessment “Zolota Fortuna” the U of Luhansk received the Silver Stella and the Diploma “The 3-rd Millennium Best Quality of Education”.
2003 – According to the President’s Decree №1012/2003 on the 11th of September Luhansk Taras Shevchenko State Pedagogical University acquired the status of National University.
2004 – According to the results of the XI International Academic Assessment “Gold Fortune (Zolota Fortuna)” university was rewarded with the IV Degree Order “For Work Achievements.”
2004 – Four branches of the Institute of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine were opened at the University: the Institute of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics, Donetsk O. Galkin Physical and Engineering Institute, the Institute of Industrial Economy and the Institute of Archaeology.
2005 – Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National Pedagogical University was awarded the Silver Medal in the nomination “Modernisation of Higher Education According to the Principles of the Bologna Declaration” at the VIII International Exhibition of Higher Education Institutions.
2005 – LNPU received honorary university title of “Leader of Modern Education” and got the diploma “For High Achievements in Pedagogical and Scientific Activities and Important Contribution to the Modernisation of the National System of Education.”
2006 – Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National Pedagogical University was awarded the Gold Medal of the IХ International Exhibition of Educational Establishments in the nomination “Introduction of New Forms of the Organization of Teaching Process.”
2006 – LNPU acquired Honorary University Title of “Leader of Modern Education” and “Leader in Creation of Up-to-date Training Aids.”
2006 – According to the Assessment of Higher Education Institutions of Ukraine of the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine, is the best higher education institution in Ukraine.
2006–2007 – German Language and Culture Center of Goethe-Institute was established at the university. The Confucius Institute was opened that academic year.
2007 – Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National Pedagogical University was awarded with golden medal of the 10th Anniversary Exhibition “Modern Education in Ukraine – 2007” for “Introducing the Achievements of Pedagogy into the Practice of Education.” Apart from this the university acquired the title “Leader of Modern Education.”
2007 – According to the results of the Assessment of the Universities of Ukraine Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National Pedagogical University was named the best Ukrainian higher educational establishment by the Ministry of Science of Ukraine.
2008 – University of Luhansk officially became Luhansk Taras Shevchenko National University.
2014 – University was evacuated to Starobilsk. Part of the staff remained in Luhansk to form an illegal offshoot controlled by LPR separatists.
Institute of Culture and Art of LNPU.
Institute of Economics and Business
Institute of Information Technologies
Institute of Tourism and Technology of Public Service
Institute of Culture and Art
Institute of Postgraduate Education
Institute of Physical Education and Sports
§Campuses and buildings
3 academics buildings;
household services centre;
Park museum of the ancient art of stone-cutting;
Starobelsk Faculty of LNU
Coat of Arms of the Natural Science Faculty
Coat of Arms of Stakhanov Faculty
Faculty of Foreign Languages
Faculty of History
Faculty of Psychology and Pedagogy
Natural Science Faculty
Faculty of Ukrainian Philology
Faculty of Preparatory Training
Stakhanov Pedagogical College
Lysychansk Pedagogical College
§Schools and Lyceums
Luhansk Vocational Culinary Lyceum
Bryanka Technologic Economic Lyceum
Rubizhne O. E. Poray-Koshytsya Polytechnic School
Department of Statistics, Quality Monitoring and Curriculum Development
Documents turnover organizing department
Scientific Research Department
Centre of Innovative Technologies
Accreditation and licensing department
§Honors and Prizes
2007 – Gold Medal at the Tenth Anniversary Exhibition “Modern Education in Ukraine 2007” for “Introduction of New Kinds of Pedagogical Science in Educational Process”; Honorary University Title of “Leader of Modern Education”.
2007 – LNPU is the best university in Ukraine according to the Assessment of the Ministry of Science of Ukraine.
2006 – LNPU was the best university in Ukraine according to the Assessment of the Ministry of Science of Ukraine.
2006 – Honorary University Title of “Leader of Modern Education” and “Introduction of New Forms of Educational Process”; Gold Medal in the nomination “Introduction of New Forms of Education” – “ Modern Education in Ukraine ”.
2005 – Silver Medal in the nomination “Modernization of Higher Education According to the Principles of the Bologna Declaration”; The Diploma for High Achievements in Pedagogical and Scientific Activities and Important Contribution to the Modernization of the National System of Education; Honorary University Title of “Leader of Modern Education”.
2004 – Order “For Academic Achievements” according to the Eleventh International Academic Assessment «Gold Fortune (Zolota Fortuna)». 2004 – First Degree Diploma and Special Diploma of the Kiev International Exhibition – Fair “Knizhkovy Sad – 2004”.
2004 – Bronze Medal of the Fourth International Exhibition – Fair “Knizhkoviy Svit – 2004”.
2004 – Diploma of the Special International Exhibition – Fair “Education. Science. Festival of Slavonic Books and Press”.
2004 – Diploma of the First degree and Silver Nestor the Chroniclewriter of the Fifth Kiev International Exhibition-Fair “Knizhkovy Svit – 2003”.
2003 – Special Diploma of the Third Kiev International Exhibition – Fair “Knizhkovy Sad – 2003”.
2003 – Bronze Medal of the Fourth International Exhibition Contest “Modern Education in Ukraine”.
2003 – Diploma of the Regional Exhibition “Book. Polygraphs. Publicity. Information.”
2002 – Diploma “The Quality of Education of the Third Millennium” according to the results of the Eleventh International Academic Assessment «Zolota Fortuna» . 2000 – “The best Regional Educational Establishment” according to the Sixth International Academic Assessment “Zolota Fortuna” – 2000.
§Olympic champions among LNU Alumni and Faculty
Mykola Chujikov – boat-race, XVII Games, Tokyo, 1964
Volodymyr Belyaev – volleyball, XIX Games, Mexico, 1968
Anatoliy Chukanov – cycle racing, XXII Games, Montreal, 1976
Valeriy Kryvov – volleyball, XXII Games, Moscow, 1980
Fedor Laschonov – volleyball, XXII Games, Moscow, 1980
Viktor Bryzgin – athletics, XXIV Games, Seoul, 1988
Olga Bryzgina – athletics, XXIV Games, Seoul, 1988; XXV games, Barcelona, 1992
Grigoriy Misutin – artistic gymnastics, XXV Games, Barcelona, 1992
Igor Korobchynskiy – artistic gymnastics, XXV Games, Barcelona, 1992
Oleg Kucherenko – Greco-Roman wrestling, XXV Games, Barcelona, 1992
§Olympic Games prize-winners
Anatoliy Kuksov – football, XX Games, Munich, 1972
Yuriy Eleseev – football, XX Games, Munich, 1972
Tetyana Skachko – athletics, XXII, Games, Moscow
Ruslan Mezentsev – artistic gymnastics, Sydney, 2002
David Saldadze – Graeco-Roman wrestling, Sydney, 2002
Iryna Yanovich – cycle racing track, Sydney, 2002
Andriy Serdinov – swimming, Athens, 2004
Tetyana Tereschuk-Antipova – hurdling, Athens, 2004
§Olympic Games’ participants
Viktor Savchenko – athletics, XXII Games, Montreal, 1976
Volodymyr Skomorohov – athletics, XXII Games, Montreal, 1976
Anatoliy Yarosh – athletics, XXII Games, Moscow, 1980
Oleksandr Doroshenko – XXII Paralympic Games, Athens, 2004
§Honorable doctors and famous alumni
Udovenko Alexander – Composer, studio ” Kvartal -95″
Alexander Doroshenko – two-time champion of Paralympic Games
Oleg Fisunenko – Geologist and paleontologist
Vasyl Holoborodko – poet
Dmitry Kozlov – Lead writer, studio “Kvartal-95.”
Kamen’ Nikita – Luhansk football player known as “Zorya”
Anatoly Shirshov – Mathematician and scientist
Kurylo Vitaliy – The President of University, the academician of the National Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine
Trifonov Vitaly – The Head of Security Service of Ukraine.
Alexander Vorobiev – Honored Master of Sports, Olympic bronze medalist, member of the Ukrainian national gymnastics team
Andrey Yakovlev – Head of the production TV films, channel “Inter”
The Lviv National Musical Academy, M. Lysenko (Ukrainian: Львівська національна музична академія ім. Миколи Лисенка) is a state conservatory of Ukraine based in Lviv.
The LNMA Mykola Lysenko traces its origins to earlier music institutions in Lviv, going back to the 19th century, when Franz Xaver Mozart created the Saint Cecilia Society.
In 1838, the first music society of Lviv was created under the name of Society for Teaching of Music in Galicia (German: Gesellschaft zur Beförderung der Musik in Galizien). This by 1848 had become the Galician Music Society. In 1854, the society opened its Music Conservatory. Its first director was a pianist and composer Karol Mikuli, a pupil of Chopin, and in different years among the teachers were Ludwig Marek, Mieczysław Sołtys, his son Adam Sołtys, Henryk Melcer-Szczawiński, Józef Koffler, Ludomir Różycki, Vilém Kurz, Jan Gall, Wilhelm Stengel and others. The list of alumni includes some of the most renown musicians of the 19th and the early 20th century Central Europe. Among them were composers Zdzisław Jachimecki, Vasyl Barvinsky, and Roman Palester; pianists such as Moritz Rosenthal, Mieczysław Horszowski, Raoul Koczalski, Stefan Askenase, and Aleksander Michałowski; and singers such as Adam Didur (bass), Solomiya Krushelnytska (soprano), Aleksander Myszuga (tenor), Marcelina Sembrich (coloratura soprano). Among the notable graduates were also Irena Anders, Olga Drahonowska-Małkowska, Henryk Mikolasch, Zofia Terné, and Ida Fink.
As the education in most institutions of higher education in Austro-Hungarian Galicia was carried out mostly in Polish and German languages, in 1903 the Ukrainian minority of Lviv founded a separate Higher Musical Institute of Mykola Lysenko (Ukrainian: Вищий музичний інститут ім. М. В. Лисенка). Its teachers included Stanyslav Lyudkevych and Vasyl Barvinsky, and among the students were Roman Sawycky, Daria Gordinskaya-Karanovich, and Galina Levitskaya.
Simultaneously, the Galician Music Society continued to exist and prosper, and soon was renamed to the Polish Music Society in Lviv. Its conservatory, financing the society’s daily operations, moved to a new building at Chorążczyzny Street (presently occupied by the Lviv Regional Philharmonic). Partially thanks to the Society’s teachers, in 1911 the Lwów University opened a faculty of musicology, led by musicologist Adolf Chybiński. During World War I, the conservatory continued to function, but the Russian occupation of the city forced most of its students and teachers into a brief exile. A short-lived branch of the Polish Music Society was opened in Vienna. After the war, both Polish and Ukrainian societies continued to coexist until 1939. Following the joint Nazi and Soviet invasion of Poland, the city had been occupied by the Soviet Union. Both societies were merged with the University’s faculty of musicology into a new Lviv State Conservatory, M.V. Lysenko (Russian: Львовская государственная консерватория им. Н. В. Лысенко).
Following the war, the city was permanently annexed by the Soviet Union, and the conservatory continued to exist in a building formerly occupied by Academy of Foreign Trade in Lwów. However, after 1944 most of its Polish teachers and students were expelled, forced to emigrate and continued their careers in post-war Poland or abroad. Likewise, some Ukrainian teachers of the Higher Music Institute continued activities in exile in New York, from 1947, under the leadership of Roman Sawycky (1907–1960), creating the Ukrainian Music Institute of America.
After the war, teachers in Lviv included Vsevolod Zaderatsky. Since 1992, the conservatory was called Higher State Music Institute. M.V. Lysenko and was changed in 2000 to Lviv State Musical Academy M.V. Lysenko. On September 13, 2007, Ukrainian President Viktor Yushchenko signed a decree conferring the national status on the Lviv State Music Academy.
Recent and current teachers at LNMA include: composers Mykola Kolessa, Miroslav Skorik, conductor Yuri Lutsiv, Maria Boyko, organist Vladimir Ignatenko, professor of singing Igor Kushpler, violinist Lydia Shutko, director Igor Pilatyuk, pianist Oleg Krishtalsky, pianist Maria Krushelnytska, pianist Josef Ermin, pianist Ethella Chuprik, and others.
Lviv National Academy of Arts is a higher education establishment in Ukraine.
The idea of Art Academy creation originated over 100 years ago and consequently the modern educational institution is considered a legal successor of the best traditions and acquisition of art education initiated in Lviv in the middle of the 19th century. It has its origin in the school of design and drawing attached to the Museum of Artistic Craft (1876), Free Academy of Art (1905), O. Novakivskyi’s Art School (1923), and Academy of Arts (V. Krychevskyi was a rector of it in 1944). Such prominent artists as I. Trush, O. Kulchytska, O. Kurylas, A. Manastyrskyi, H. Smolskyi, S. Hordynskyi and many others studied and then taught at these art institutions.
The foundation of the higher artistic educational institution in Lviv in 1946 was caused by an acute need of highly qualified specialists of fine art, applied and decorative art in Lviv. Hence at first the chairs of art textile, art ceramics, wood ware, sculpture and painting played the leading role. They were closely connected with the local traditions, folk art creation and at the same time they traditionally kept on accumulating the achievements of European art education and art. During next ten years the Lviv Academy essentially extended its educational propositions, it was enriched with a lot of new forms and trends of artists training admittedly meets the European standards. A large competition among entrants that come from different regions of Ukraine as well as from many foreign countries is a convincing confirmation of its high level. Among the educational innovations introduced by the Lviv Academy there are numerous specializations that correspond to modern requirements of entrants. The matter concerns the exclusive trends of graphic design, artistic means of advertisement, monumental painting, art metal, interior design, furniture design and new kinds of ceramics, art glass, art textile and others.
In 1994 the Lviv State Institute of Applied and Decorative Art was converted into the Lviv Academy of Arts and in 2004 it got a status of a national educational institution for its significant contribution to the development of the national education and science, state and international activity by the resolution of the Ministry of Ukraine. In the structure of the Academy there are five departments (one of them is in Sevastopol), the Kosiv Institute of Applied and Decorative Arts (Ivano-Frankivsk region), the extension courses, the access course for entrants, the scientific and research section, the post graduate and Doctoral studies, the Specialized Academic Council dealing with defense of Ph.D. and doctoral theses (art criticism), the scientific library, the museum, the modern art gallery, the publishing section, artistic and production workshops. Such well-known Ukrainian pedagogues, artists and art critics as I. Bokshai, I. Severa, V. Manastyrskyi, R. Smolskyi, K. Zvirynskyi, M. Fediuk, M. Vendzylovych, P. Zholtovskyi, E. Mysko, E. Lysyk, Ia. Zapasko, V. Ovsiychuk played a dominant role in the Academy formation. They formed author’s school of painting, sculpture, applied and decorative arts, scenography, history and theory of arts. The educational and creative studios (art classes) of the leading professors are a form of art education. Among them there are studios of the Academician, the rector of the Lviv National Academy of Arts, the T. Shevchenko prize-winner Bokotey (blown glass), People’s artist L. Medvid (monumental painting), the professor, Honoured artist of Ukraine Oleg Minko (art textile), the Academician, the Franko prize-winner Ya. Zapasko and Corresponding member, the T. Shevchenko prize-winner V. Ovsiychuk (art criticism), the professor, People’s artist of Ukraine I. Samotos (monumental sculpture), the professor, Honoured works of art R. Vasylyk (sacral art), the doctor of Art Criticism O. Bodnar (theory of design), Honoured artist of Ukraine O. Bonkovsky (art metal) and others.
21 graduates of the Academy became T. Shevchenko prize-winners. Modern development of the Academy is impossible without active collaboration with home and foreign higher educational institutions. First of all it concerns long and productive collaboration with Kyiv National Academy of Fine Arts and Architecture and the Kharkiv Academy of Design and Art. Among foreign educational institutions there are a good few of famous European art academies and institutes in Poland, France, Hungary, Austria, Bulgaria, Russia, Baltic countries. It is especially actual in terms of European educational integration. In 1993 the Educational – Scientific and Creative Complex was founded on the basis of the Academy. Its activity became the effective methods of realization of state programs. Twenty-two educational institutions of Ukraine of the 1st – 4th accreditation form parts of it. These educational institutions train specialists in art, design, restoration and art criticism.
Faculty of design
Faculty of decorative and applied arts
Faculty of fine arts and restoration
Monumental and Decorative Sculpture
Restoration of Works of Art
Faculty of history and theory of arts
History and Theory of Art
Languages and Literature
Faina Petryakova – a distinguished professor, doctor of sciences, researcher in the field of Ukrainian glass work, porcelain and Ukrainian Judaica.
Lviv Polytechnic National University (Ukrainian: Національний університет “Львівська політехніка”) is the largest scientific university in Lviv. Since its foundation in 1844, it was one of the most important centres of science and technological development in Central Europe. In the interbellum period, the Polytechnic was one of the most important technical colleges in Poland, together with the Warsaw Polytechnic. Today the University is also the National Defense University (Military Institution).
The history of the Lviv Polytechnic National University begins during the Austrian Empire, and extends through the Second Polish Republic, the Nazi Occupation, the Soviet Union, and into independent Ukraine.
In 1817, the Austrian Empire opened a secondary technical school in Lemberg, divided into a technical school and a commercial school. However, the official change to a technical academy began in 1844, as noted in the following timeline:
November 4, 1844: The school was upgraded to the Technical Academy Lemberg. Its first director was Austrian Florian Schindler, former director of the Technical College in Brünn (Brno). The building was situated at the corner of Virmenska and Teatralna streets in the building of Darovsky. The school had two departments – technical and commercial. Education lasted three years.
November 1, 1848: During the Revolutions of 1848, the town’s center was shelled by the Austrian artillery of General Wilhelm Hammerstein. The building of the Technical Academy was destroyed by fire. Lectures were held in Town Municipality building (3rd floor) and continued there till 1850.
December 4, 1850: Studies resume in the newly restored building.
1851: The number of students at the Technical Academy was 220, out of which 98 were Polish, 50 Jewish, 48 German, 19 Ukrainian/Ruthenian, 4 Czech and 2 Hungarian. In the same year, professor Wawrzyniec Zmurko (graduate of the Vienna Polytechnic) became director of the Department of Mathematics, as the first Pole in the history of the school. Zmurko is considered as founder of the Lwów School of Mathematics.
1852/1853: The beginning of the Academy reorganization, which was suggested by Josef Weiser. He wanted the Academy to be modelled after Paris Polytechnic, with two-level education.
1857-1868: Rudolf Günsberg was the assistant of Chemistry and the assistant Professor of Technological Chemistry.
1870: A Decree of Emperor Franz Joseph I of Austria established Polish as the official language of the school. Most professors who were not proficient in Polish left the Polytechnic.
1872: The Ministry of Affairs of Religions and Education gave permission to teach chemical technologies. Rudolf Günsberg started as the full Professor of Applied Chemistry.
March 12, 1872: Professor of physics Feliks Strzelecki was elected as the first Rector.
April 1, 1874 – October 1877: Academy obtained permission to build new academic premises. Julian Zachariewicz was elected as the construction superintendent. He ordered that the facade of the building be modelled after the building of the Munich Polytechnic.
October 7, 1877: The first telephone conversation on the territory of the Austro-Hungarian Empire took place, followed by a lecture of Doctor Roman Gostkowski. The Telephone line connected the Assembly Hall of the Main Building with the premises of the Department of Technical Chemistry.
November 15, 1877: Inauguration of the new Rector – Professor of architecture Julian Zachariewicz. On the same day, consecration of newly constructed school’s building took place, carried out by three Lvov’s Archbishops – Roman Catholic, Greek-Catholic and Armenian-Catholic and witnessed by Governor of Galicia, Alfred Potocki.
1877: Technical Academy was renamed to Polytechnical School (Technische Hochschule). However, the rector as well as other professors refrained from using a German-sounding name, and insisted on calling it in Polish Szkola Politechniczna.
September 13, 1880: Emperor Franz Joseph I visited the Polytechnical School. During that visit he ordered Jan Matejko to depict the technical progress of mankind in 11 pictures. Now these pictures decorate the Assembly Hall. The Emperor signed a guest book in Polish, the book is now kept in Wrocław.
Images of the Aula of the Polytechnic, with 11 paintings by Matejko.
1893: Due to efforts of Stanislaw Madejski, Minister of Education of Galicia, diplomas of the Polytechnic are regarded equal to diplomas of other renowned European schools of this kind.
1894: The 50th jubilee of the Polytechnical School. To commemorate that date, Professor Władysław Zajączkowski published the book “The Imperial Polytechnical School in Lviv. Historical essay on its foundation and development as well as its present state”.
February 13, 1894: The Polytechnic School Statute was adopted.
1905: Lviv Polytechnical School possessed the second place in the number of students after Vienna.
1914: As there were no limits on foreign students, in that year, students from the Russian part of Poland were some 30% of all. In that year, the school owned 11 laboratories and an astronomical station, and its library had some 20000 books.
Russian occupation shut down the Polytechnic University for the 1914/15 academic year.
Second Polish Republic
November 1918: Students and professors of the Polytechnic take part in the Polish-Ukrainian war over Eastern Galicia. Among those fighting on Polish side, there are Kazimierz Bartel, Stefan Bryła and Antoni Wereszczynski, who later became the rector.
November 8, 1919: Polish Government Unifies the Agricultural Academy in Dublany and Higher School of Forestry (Lwow) with Politechnical School.
June 28, 1920: Adoption of the New Statute and renaming the Polytechnical School into Lviv Polytechnic (Polish: Politechnika Lwowska).
November 19, 1922: The Polytechnic is awarded by the Polish Government with Cross of Defenders of Lwów. Earlier in that year, Marshal of France Ferdinand Foch comes to Lwow and is awarded the title of doctor honoris causa of the school.
February 23, 1931: Council of the Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry of Polytechnic conferred academic rank of Honorary Doctor to professor Nils Handson (Stockholm, Sweden).
1934: Construction of the building of the Library on Professor Street 1 was finished.
November 11, 1936: President Ignacy Mościcki awards the school with Order Polonia Restituta in appreciation of its achievements.
October 1939: The Polytechnic was renamed to Lviv Polytechnical Institute.
July 4, 1941 (at night): On Vuletsky Hills German occupiers, shot professors of the Polytechnic Institute – Wlodzimierz Krukowski, Antoni Łomnicki, Stanislaw Pilat, Włodzimierz Stożek, Kazimierz Vetulani, Kasper Weigel, Roman Witkiewicz, Tadeusz Boy-Żeleński and others.
July 26, 1941: Professor Kazimierz Bartel was murdered in the basements of Gestapo headquarters.
Spring 1942 – Spring 1944: Special three-month courses for electrical engineers, road and bridge civil engineers, agrarian engineers, etc. were working in the premises, of the present Mechanical Technology Department. After the war, these classes were continued in Gliwice.
Autumn 1944: The 100th jubilee of Lviv Polytechnical Institute was celebrated very quietly in Lviv – the Second World War was still going on.
1945: The Geodetic Department was founded. Most professors of Polish ethnicity, leave Lviv for Poland. The Polish traditions developed at the Polytechnic were continued at the Silesian University of Technology in Gliwice and Wrocław University of Technology.
October 1946: The Lviv Polytechnical Institute began to publish the periodical newspaper “Lviv Polytechnic”.
1952: The Radio-engineering Department was founded.
1962: The Automation, Electromechanical and Mechanical Technology Departments were founded.
1966: The Economical Engineering Department was founded.
1967: The Department of Technology of Organic Substances was founded.
1970: The second building of the Library was erected.
1971: The Heating Engineering Department was founded.
1989: Democratic changes began at Polytechnical Institute
April 10, 1991: Inauguration of the first democratically elected Rector for the last 50 years – Yu. Rudavsky.
1992: Computer Engineering Department and Information Technology Department were founded.
1992: Institute of Humanities was founded on the basis of the following chairs:
History of Ukraine, its Science and Technology
Foreign Languages (English, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Japanese)
1993: The Department of Applied Mathematics was founded.
June 1993: The Lviv Polytechnical Institute got the status of university, becoming Lviv Polytechnic State University.
1994: Lviv Polytechnic got the status of national university becoming Lviv Polytechnic National University.
July 8, 2009: The Lviv Polytechnic received the status of self-governing (autonomous) national research university.
Lviv State University of Physical Culture (Ukrainian: Львівський державний університет фізичної культури) is a Sports University in Lviv, Ukraine.
Lviv State University of Physical Culture – higher educational institution, which appeared on the centuries-old traditions of national physical culture, which is a significant part of Ukrainian culture in general.
The traditions of the national physical culture, despite the foreign oppression, never interrupted, and they develop the next generation. Fixing these traditions and active education, initiated “Rus Trinity”, the late XIX – first half of the twentieth century signaled a particularly active sports movement.
It was theoretically grounded in the writings of Vasyl’ Nahirny, John Bobers’ky, Kyrylo Tryliovs’ky, Taras and Peter Franks, Stephen Hayduchka, Edward Zharskyj, Roman Dashkevych and other.
It stimulated the creation of numerous sports associations (“Sokil”, “Sich” “Plast”, “Lyg”), sports clubs (“Ukraine” Lviv, “Syanova Seagull” in Przemysl, “Dovbush” in Chernivtsi, “Rus” in Uzhhorod, etc.), construction of sports facilities (stadium “Sokol- Father” in Lviv), establishment of Ukrainian sports periodicals (magazines “Proceedings of Zaporozha”, “Sokilske Vesti”, “Sports”, “Sports Vesti”, “Ready,” and some other). So in the first half of the twentieth century at Western was a well developed national system of physical education, which were based on domestic theoretical developments, a number of organizational forms and sport specific infrastructure.
For the first time in Ukraine, in Lviv, a hundred years ago was originated the following kinds of sport: football, basketball, hockey, water polo, archery, cycling. Already in 1912 at the Olympic Games in Stockholm Galicia had a representative – sprinter Vladislav Ponurskoho. In general, long before the establishment of the National Olympic Committee of Ukraine, Lviv 96 athletes, speaking at the Olympics under the flags of Austria-Hungary, Poland and the USSR, participated in the competitions of 19 kinds of sports, from where they brought 46 medals: 15 gold, 16 silver and 15 bronze. So creation in Lviv in 1946 Lviv State Institute of Physical Culture had presupposition.
In May 7, 1946 by order of the USSR Council of Ministers on basis of the College of Physical Culture was established Lviv State Institute of Physical Culture. His task – to prepare highly qualified personnel especially for the western regions of the USSR and scientific development of physical education and sports, scientific and methodological assistance to various sports organizations. Initially in the institute was a teaching faculty, 15 departments, 150 students enrolled.
In May 1958 institute was given consultative point of correspondence of the Kiev Institute of Physical Culture. Actually, it started in LDIFK distance learning, and in 1964 formed a separate department.
It should be noted that in 1959 the Institute opened a school coaches with two years of training, which lasted until 1964. In addition, in 1960 began working evening division.
In 1969/1970 was opened in LDIFK sports department. At that time specialists were trained at three faculties: teaching, sports and correspondence. If the 1956 school was 542 students, then in 1974 trained 1,245 people in stationary and 434 extramural students.
In the 70s years in the institute taught: Victor Chukarin – absolute world champion in 1964, USSR – 1949, 1951, 1955; XV-XVI Olympic Games; Andrievsky Vadim – USSR Champion in Fencing (1946), honored coach of the USSR, Vladimir Safronov – champion of the USSR (1975), silver medalist in gymnastics world Cup (1975) and many other celebrities.
In 1981 Lviv State Institute of Physical Education, one of the leading sports educational institutions of the country, celebrated its 35th anniversary. Then he had a structural reorganization. New perspectives for the development of the institute came after proclamation of independence of Ukraine in 1991.
Given the centuries-old traditions of the Ukrainian Physical Culture, it was necessary to create a national system of physical education and sports, from the introduction of the Ukrainian language in spravoznavstvo and teaching, curriculum development and programs, publication of educational literature, the introduction of new disciplines, including history of Ukraine, history of Ukrainian culture, history of Ukrainian sports movement, processing and finishing and developing Ukrainian sports terminology and education specialists sports profile, including athletes who have felt the connection with the state in which they were born, live, study, for which they compete in different sports forums.
To address these challenging tasks it needed not only proper material resources, financing, but also nationally conscious professionals. This was possible under favorable political, economic and spiritual situation in the country. Certainly, the leadership of the Lviv State Institute of Physical Culture had to overcome the difficulties which experienced the young state.
With appointment to the post of rector, the famous sports specialist, master of sports, champion of Ukraine and the USSR Honored Coach of Ukraine Miroslav S. Hertsyka, in the development of the institute entered a new period.
To expand the areas and improve the quality of training in the sports department in 1996 was established the department of rehabilitation and recreation, and the Department of Economics of Sports, Recreation and Physical culture theory and methodology of Olympic and professional sports. With Ukraine’s accession to the Bologna Convention LDIFK purposefully moves to credit modular system, are introduced new forms and methods of training. Institute, according to the list of specialties within their field of physical culture and sports, trains specialists of different levels – bachelors, and masters.
At the meeting on the occasion of Institute 60 years the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine declared an order of August 3, 2006
The Administrators of the university are as following:
Administration status Administrator
Rector of Lviv State University of Physical Culture, professor, Doctor of Pedagogics, Honoured Scientist and Engineering’s Worker of Ukraine, Member of Ukrainian Academy of Sciences, Honoured Worker of Physical Culture and Sport. Yevhen Prystupa
Vice-rector at Educational Work, PhD of Biological Sciences, Docent, Excellent Worker of Ukrainian Education, Honoured Worker of Physical Culture and Sport Fedir Muzyka
Vice-rector at Science and External Relations, PhD of Pedagogical Sciences, Professor Mykhaylo Lynets
Vice-rector at Administrative and Supply Work. Roman Lobay
The following Faculties exist at the university:
Faculty of Human health and tourism
Faculty of Physical Training
Faculty of Sport
Faculty for heightening qualification, retraining, postgraduate and distance education
IN 1996 Alina and Michael Senytsi created Theatre of Sport Living Silver.
Theatre of Sport is laureate of international festivals, competitions and presentations in Ukraine, Slovakia and Poland.
It includes leading sportsmen – masters of sports of Ukraine: male group – members of the national team of Ukraine, absolute winners of the championship of Ukraine, winners of European championship, European Championships and World Cup on sports acrobatics (Rostislav Romanyak, Konstantin Hnatiuk, Andrey Moskwa, Roman Petsukh); female couple – finalists UEFA European Under (Catherine Kotsur, Elena Moskwa), Master of Sports of Ukraine, winners of national and international competitions in acrobatics, gymnastics, aerobics and fitness, sports dance, hopak.
The University maintains creative relationships with organizations and universities of Australia, Belarus, Georgia, Estonia, Canada, Netherlands, Germany, Poland, Slovenia, USA, Hungary, Russia, Czech Republic.
LDUFK is a member of:
since 1998, the European Network of Sport Science, Education and Employment (ENSSEE);
since 2001 – the member of the International Council of Health, Physical Education, Recreation, Sport and Dance (ICHPER-SD);
since 2002 – member of the Association university athletic profile in Eastern Europe and Central Asia
since 2008 – member of the network “European Athlete as Student” (Sweden).
since 2007 scientific publications Lviv State University of Physical Culture registered in East European Bibliographical Society «Index Copernicus», where they are given the rating.
The international activity of the university directed to further integration into European and world sports structures.
University of Physical Education does not stop there, and wants establish partner relations with other countries.
The faculties of the university are:
Department of theory and methodology of physical education
Department of theoretical and methodological foundations of sport
Department of Recreation and Physical Culture of Recuperation
Department of Physical Rehabilitation
Department of Anatomy and Physiology
Department of Biochemistry and Hygiene
Department Valeology and Sports Medicine
Department of Sport Games
Department of Athletics
Department of athletic sports
Department of winter sports
Department of Water Sports
Department of fencing, boxing and national odnoborstv
Department of gymnastics and choreography
Department of Technical and shooting sports
Department of Tourism
Department of Economics, Informatics and kineziolohiyi
Department of Education and Psychology
Department of Philosophy
Department of Foreign Languages
Lviv University (Ukrainian: Львівський університет) or officially the Ivan Franko National University of Lviv (Ukrainian: Львівський національний університет імені Івана Франка) is the oldest continuously operating university in Ukraine and one of the oldest in Europe. It is located in the historic city of Lviv in Lviv Oblast of Western Ukraine.
The university was founded on January 20, 1661 when King John II Casimir of Poland issued the diploma granting the city’s Jesuit Collegium, founded in 1608, “the honour of the academy and the title of the university”. The Jesuits had tried to create the university earlier, in 1589, but did not succeed. Establishing another college in Poland was seen as a threat by authorities of Kraków’s Jagiellonian University, who did not want a rival and for many years managed to halt plans of the Jesuits.
King John II Casimir was a sympathizer of the Jesuits and his stance was crucial. The royal diploma was confirmed by another act issued in Częstochowa on February 5, 1661. Creation of the school was also stipulated by the Treaty of Hadiach (1658). One of its articles stated that a Ruthenian academy was to be created in Kiev and another one should be created in an unspecified location, most likely in Lwów/Lviv, which was an important center of the Greek Catholic church.
In 1758 King Augustus III issued a decree, which described the Collegium as an Academic School, in fact equal to the Jagiellonian University, with two departments: theology and philosophy.
§Under Austrian rule
In 1772 Lwów/Lviv was annexed by Austria (see: Partitions of Poland). In 1773 the Society of Jesus was dissolved by Rome (Dominus ac Redemptor) and, as the partition of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth caused that the school was excluded from the Commission of National Education reform, it was renamed into Theresianum by the Austrians, i.e. State Academy. 21 October 1784 the Austrian Emperor Joseph II signed an act of foundation of the secular university. He started germanisation of the institution by bringing German-speaking professors from the various parts of the Empire. The University had four departments – theology, philosophy, law and medicine. Latin was the official language of the school, with Polish and German as the supportive ones.
In 1805 the university was closed, as Austria, then involved in the Napoleonic wars, did not have sufficient funds to support it. Instead, a high school was established. The university reopened in 1817; officially Vienna described it as an act of mercy, but reasons were different. The Austrian government were well-aware of the pro-Polish policies of Russian Emperor Alexander I and they wanted to counterbalance it. However, quality of education was not high; Latin was replaced by German and most professors were mediocre. The few good ones regarded their stay in Lviv as a springboard to other careers.
In 1848, when pan-European revolution reached Lviv (see: Revolutions of 1848), students of the university created two organizations—the Academic Legion and Academic Committee—demanding that the school be polonized. The government in Vienna answered with force, and on November 2, 1848, center of the city was shelled by the troops of General Hammerstein striking buildings in the university, especially the library. Soon afterwards, curfew was established and the university was temporarily closed.
The school was reopened in January 1850, with limited autonomy. After a few years the Austrians relented and on July 4, 1871 Vienna declared Polish and Ruthenian (Ukrainian) official languages at the university. Eight years later this was changed. The Austrian authorities declared Polish as official and Ruthenian and German as auxiliary. Examinations in two latter languages were possible as long as the professors spoke them. This bill created unrest among the Ruthenians (Ukrainians), who were demanding equal rights. Finally, a Ruthenian student of department of philosophy, Miroslaw Siczynski murdered in 1908 the Polish governor of Galicia, Andrzej Potocki.
Meanwhile the Lviv University was thriving, becoming one of two existing Polish language colleges (the other one was the Jagiellonian University in Kraków). Its professors were famous across Europe, with such renowned names as Wladyslaw Abraham, Oswald Balzer, Szymon Askenazy, Stanislaw Zakrzewski, Zygmunt Janiszewski, Kazimierz Twardowski, Benedykt Dybowski, Marian Smoluchowski and Ludwik Rydygier.
In the 70s of the 19th century Ivan Franko studied at L’viv University. He entered the world history as a well-known Ukrainian scholar, public figure, writer and translator. The newly founded Chair of World History and the History of Eastern Europe was headed by Professor Mykhailo Hrushevskyi (1866-1934), the most outstanding scholar of Ukrainian History, author of the ten-volume “History of Ukraine-Rus'”, hundreds of works on History, History of Literature, Historiography, Source Studies, founder of the Ukrainian Historical School.
§Jan Kazimierz University (1919–39)
The main building of Lviv University was constructed to house the Diet of Galicia and Lodomeria
From 1919 until September 1939, in the Polish Second Republic era, the university was known as Jan Kazimierz University (Polish: Uniwersytet Jana Kazimierza) in honor of its founder King John II Casimir Vasa. The decision to name the school after the king was taken by the government of Poland on November 22, 1919.
Jan Kazimierz University was the third biggest academic center of the country (after the University of Warsaw and the Jagiellonian University in Kraków). On February 26, 1920, the university received from the Polish government the building formerly used by the Sejm of the Land, which has since been the university’s main edifice. Its first rector in the Second Polish Republic was the famous poet Jan Kasprowicz.
In 1924 the Philosophy Department was divided into Humanistic and Mathematical-Biological Departments, thus there were five departments:
Theological – 222 students in the academic year 1934/35,
Law – 2978 students in the academic year 1934/35,
Medicinal – 638 students in the academic year 1934/35 (together with the Pharmaceutical Section, which had 263 students in the academic year 1934/35),
Humanistic – 892 students in the academic year 1934/35,
Mathematical-Biological – 870 students in the academic year 1934/35.
Altogether, in the academic year 1934/35 there were 5900 students at the university, among which:
3793 were Roman Catholic,
1211 were Jewish
739 were Greek-Catholic,
72 were Orthodox
67 were Protestant.
Ukrainian professors were required to take a formal oath of allegiance to Poland; most of them refused and left the university in early 1920s. The principle of “numerus clausus” had been introduced following which the Ukrainians were discriminated when entering the University (not more than 15% of the applicants’ total number, the Poles enjoying not less than the 50% quota at the same time).
§Ivan Franko University
In 1939, after the Polish September Campaign and the accompanying Soviet invasion, the Soviet occupiers permitted classes to continue. Until late 1939, the school worked in the pre-war Polish system. On October 18, however, the Polish rector, Professor Roman Longchamps de Bérier was dismissed, and was replaced by a prominent Ukrainian historian, Mykhailo Marchenko, grandfather of Ukrainian journalist and dissident Valeriy Marchenko. Marchenko was determined to transform the University of Lwow into the Ukrainian National University. On January 8, 1940, the university was renamed Ivan Franko Lviv State University. Polish professors and administrative assistants were increasingly fired and replaced by Ukrainians or Russians, specializing in Marxism, Leninism, political economics, as well as Ukrainian and Soviet literature, history and geography. This was accompanied by the closing of departments seen as related with the religion, free-market economics, capitalism, or the West in general; this included Polish geography, literature, or history. Lectures were held in Ukrainian and Polish (as auxiliary). In the period 1939-1941 the Soviets also executed over a dozen members of the Polish faculty.
In July 1941 the Nazi German occupiers closed the university, followed by the massacring two dozen Polish professors (as well as members of their households and guests, increasing the total number of victims to above forty), who included members of other academic institutions, too. The extent to which Ukrainian nationalists may have been involved in identifying and selecting some of the victims is still a matter of debate, as Polish historian Adam Redzik wrote, while the Ukrainian nationalist students helped prepare lists of Polish intellectuals, it is unlikely they expected or knew about their intended purposes (i.e., the executions).
In the summer of 1944, the advancing Red Army, assisted by Polish Home Army forces locally implementing Operation Burza, pushed the Wehrmacht out of Lviv and the university reopened. At first, its academic staff consisted of Poles, but within the following months most of them, together with the Polish population of the city, were “evacuated” in the expelled, as Stalin had moved Poland’s borders far to the west. The traditions of Jan Kazimierz University have been preserved at the University of Wrocław, which was established after the German inhabitants of that city had been expelled following Stalin’s establishing Germany’s eastern border farther to the west.
Ivan Franko University (2013)
The proclamation of the independence of Ukraine in 1991 brought about radical changes in every sphere of University life. Professor, Doctor Ivan Vakarchuk, a renowned scholar in the field of Theoretical Physics, had been Rector of the University since 1990 till 2013. Meeting the requirements arising in recent years new faculties and departments have been set up: the Faculty of International Relations and the Faculty of Philosophy (1992), the Faculty of Pre-Entrance University Preparation (1997), the Chair of Translation Studies and Comparative Linguistics (1998). Since 1997 the following new units have come into existence within the teaching and research framework of the University: the Law College, The Humanities Centre, The Institute of Literature Studies, The Italian Language and Culture Resource Centre. The teaching staff of the University has increased amounting to 981, with scholarly degrees awarded to over two thirds of the entire teaching staff. There are over one hundred laboratories and working units as well as the Computing Centre functioning here. The Zoological, Geological, Mineralogical Museums together with those of Numismatics, Sphragistics and Archeology are stimulating the interests of students.
Faculty of Applied Mathematics and Informatics ()
Faculty of International Relations ()
Faculty of Biology ()
Faculty of Journalism ()
Faculty of Chemistry ()
Faculty of Law ()
Faculty of Economics ()
Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics ()
Faculty of Electronics ()
Faculty of Philology ()
Faculty of Foreign Languages ()
Faculty of Philosophy ()
Faculty of Geography ()
Faculty of Physics ()
Faculty of Geology ()
Faculty of Preuniversity Training ()
Faculty of History ()
Department of Pedagogy ()
§Research divisions and facilities
Scientific Research Department ()
Zoological museum ()
University Library ()
Journal of Physical Studies ()
The Institute of Archaeology ()
Ukrainian journal of computational linguistics ()
Media Ecology Institute ()
Modern Ukraine ()
Institute for Historical Research ()
Regional Agency for Sustainable Development()
Botanical Garden ()
NATO Winter Academy in Lviv ()
Scientific technical & educational center of low temperature studies ([
Mykolaiv National Agrarian University (also known as MNAU, Ukrainian: Миколаївський національний аграрний університет (МНАУ)) is a public agricultural college in Ukraine.
Mykolayiv National Agrarian University is the leading institution of higher education in the south of Ukraine.
According to the rating of the agrarian institutions of higher education (III-IV levels of accreditation) our University is the second and it won the honorary title of “The Leader in Modern Science and Education”
National Aerospace University – Kharkov Aviation Institute (KhAI) is a university in Ukraine which specializes in aviation and space engineering. The KhAI was founded in 1930.
The KhAI was founded in 1930. Its history is closely connected with the development of aircraft engineering and science. The university is famous for its creation of the first in Europe high-speed airplane with a retractable landing gear and the creation of the design of the turbojet engine developed by teacher of the KhAI A. M. Liulka who afterwards became the academician and designer of many structures of aircraft engines including the engine of the aircraft Su-27.
The KhAI is a unique higher educational institution where the airplanes developed by the Institute Design Bureau under the supervision of professor I. G. Neman were produced serially at the aircraft plants and run on passenger airlines.
From 1977 to 1984 the Designer General O.K. Antonov ran the department of airplane structure at the KhAI.
In 1978 the KhAI was given the name of N. Ye. Zhukovskiy. In 1980 the institute was awarded with the order of Lenin. In 1998 the N. Ye. Zhukovskiy State Aerospace University “Kharkiv Aviation Institute” was founded on the basis of the KhAI and in 2000 the University got a status of the National higher education institution and was renamed the National Aerospace University AKA Kharkiv Aviation Institute.
§Students and faculty
The university has trained about 60,000 engineers. More than 80% of the specialists with higher education who work in Ukrainian aerospace area are the graduates of the KhAI.
At present about 9500 students and 160 post-graduate students are trained at the university; 650 teachers and 2.5 ths employers work here. Among them there are 120 professors and candidates of science. Among the teachers of the university there is one USSR State Lenin Prize winner, seven USSR State Prize winners, 28 Ukraine State Prize winners, 11 USSR Council of Ministers Prize winners.
In 1992 the KhAI resumed the training of foreign students over 500 foreign citizens from 40 countries of Asia, Africa and America are trained annually at the University.
§Memberships and programs
The KhAI is a member of International Association of Universities; Global Association, Organization of Industry and Airport Technology; it is in the International Catalogue and belongs to the Association of higher education institutions of Kharkiv city INTERVUZ, as well as to the Aerospace Agency of Ukraine.
The KhAI is a co-executor of some programs which are carried out with universities and companies of USA, Japan, Germany, France, Mexico and China. The university takes part in the program of creation of “Alfa” international space station.
The KhAI covers a separate territory of the city in the forest-part zone of about 25 hectares. The university has eight academic buildings, research institute and laboratories, library will 1 million volumes, sports complex, swimming pool, preventurium clinic of first medical aid, dining halls, bank, children garden, nice landscape view, etc.
The National Agriculture University of Ukraine is a university located in Kiev, Ukraine.
National Aviation University (Ukrainian: Національний авіаційний університет) is a university located in Kiev (Kyiv), Ukraine. It started in 1933 when the Kyiv Aviation Institute was founded on the basis of the mechanical department of Kyiv Polytechnic Institute. The University consists of 16 institutes, 2 separate faculties, 1 Aviation Academy (KFA NAU), 3 lyceums, 6 colleges and 12 research institutes including their subdivisions and 8 departments. The university has its own center for culture and arts, medical center, library, “Aviator” newspaper and a yacht club. University also supports the State Aviation Museum.
Main historical dates
1898 – Mechanical department of Kiev Polytechnic Institute
1933 – Kiev Aviation Institute
1947 – Kiev Institute of Civil Air Fleet
1965 – Kiev Institute of Civil Aviation Engineers
1994 – Kiev International University of Civil Aviation
2000 – National Aviation University
The history of the National Aviation University dates back to August 1933. Since its founding, the National Aviation University has prepared thousands of experts which work in Ukraine and almost 90 countries around the world. It became the leading institution for training specialists in civil aviation. Some of the alumni are notable industry organizers, scientists, state and military figures. They head educational institutions, air companies, design bureaus, factories, organizations and services within different departments. The university has powerful scientific schools in the fields of mechanics, management, electronics, materials science, electrical engineering, computer science and computer facilities. Academic activities are performed by a highly skilled scientific and pedagogical team, including 23 academicians, corresponding members of the Academy of Science of Ukraine, 280 doctors of sciences, professors, 830 candidates of sciences and senior lecturers, 54 honored people in science and engineering of Ukraine and winners of State prizes.
International activities of the University
The University has joined the Bologna Convention that makes it possible for students to get diplomas of international standard and improve students’ mobility. The university professors and students collaborate internationally with universities in Spain, Great Britain, Germany, the Netherlands, France, South Korea and other countries. The University also cooperates with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). Two ICAO European Regional Training Centers are successfully functioning for aviation personnel training and upgrading.
The university occupies a total area of about 90 hectares. There are 14 academic buildings standing on 150 000 square meters. The university has 42 aircraft engines, 75 airplanes and helicopters, 240 on-board systems, 3 aircraft simulators, test benches and about 2500 modern computers being used in the educational process. The scientific and technical library has a resource of about 3 million books. The National Aviation University, the only one in Ukraine, has a unique hangar, radio equipment, a training aerodrome with aviation ground handling equipment, an aerodynamic training complex equipped with a wind tunnel, and the State Museum of Aviation. Students of the university also have access to the Sports Complex, the Arts and Culture Centre, the Medical Centre, accommodation in one among the 11 hostels, a cafeteria with a seating capacity for 1000 people at a time, memberships in the Billiard Club and e-club, all located within the students’ campus.
Structure of the University
More than 10,000 students study at the National Aviation University today, among them 1200 foreign students from more than 50 countries.
The National Aviation University consists of:
16 institutes: Information-diagnostic Systems Institute; Aerospace Institute; Electronics and Control Systems Institute; Institute of Computer Technologies; (ICIT); Institute of Municipal Activity; Management and Economics Institute; Legal Institute “Institute of Air and Space Law”; Preparatory Institute; Humanities institute; ICAO Institute; The Institute of Extramural and Distance Education; Institute of Innovative Technologies; Institute of Continuing Education; Land Use and Information Technologies Institute; Institute of Management Technologies; Institute of International Relations (Kiev)|Institute of International Relations;
2 separate faculties: Foreign students faculty; Department of military preparation;
1 Aviation Academy: Kirovograd Fight Academy of National Aviation University (KFA NAU) (http://www.glau.kr.ua/)
3 lyceums: Aerospace Lyceum; Aviation Lyceum #1; Aviation Lyceum #2;
6 colleges: College of Information Technologies, Geodesy and Organization of the Use of Land; Industrially-economic College; Slovyansk College; Kryvorizkiy College; Kremenchuzkiy College; Vasylkivskiy College;
12 research institutes and subdivisions: Research Institute of Technological Systems within Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine and; Ministry of Industrial Policy; Research Institute of Integrated Telecommunication Technologies; SRI of the Fleeting Processes; SRI of Design; SRI “Aviatest”; State Research Institute of Aviation; Aerospace Center (http://www.asc.nau.edu.ua); Aerodynamic Research Center of National Aviation University of Ukraine; The Research Design Bureau “Buran”; Center “Air traffic service”; Training Center (gymnasium); Ukrainian National Research Center of Certification of Combustive-lubricating Materials and Technical Liquids;
8 departments: Department of Humanitarian Development; Department of Education and Methodology Main Office; Financial Department; Bookkeeping; Department of Work With Separate Units; Personnel and Documentary Administration; Juridical Department; Foreign Affairs Department.
The National Mining University (Ukrainian: Національний гірничий університет), colloquially known in Ukrainian as NGU (Ukrainian: Національний гірничий університет – НГУ) is located in Dnipropetrovsk, the third most populous city in Ukraine. It was founded in 1899 as the Yekaterinoslav Higher Mining School. The task of the university then was to provide the mining industry with highly qualified specialists, a goal that has continued to direct the university’s leadership right up to the present day, although in recent years its academic offer has developed beyond the confines of mining-related subjects. Currently, its structure consists of nine faculties (academic departments). During the Soviet era, NGU was one of the country’s top specialised institutions of higher education. It is ranked as one of Ukraine’s best universities in many rankings and today attracts a large number of foreign students.
The National Mining University is one of the leading establishments of higher education in Ukraine. According to the ratings of UNESCO it achieved 6th position among the 200 Top universities in Ukraine in 2009.
At the University there are 53 departments (27 of which are major-based) united into 9 faculties of full-time education. There is also an Institute of Extramural Learning and a number of post-graduate and doctoral courses. The university has an Interbranch Institute of Continuing Learning, Scientific and Research Unit, Ukrainian-American Linguistic Center, Linguistic Center, Ukrainian German Cultural Center, Ukrainian-Spanish-Latin-American Center, Center for Ukrainian-Polish Cooperation, and Energy Saving and Energy Management Center. NGU also has links with the Prydniprovsk Science-and-Technology Center of Information Protection, Ukrainian-American Lyceum, Marganets College, Pavlograd Technical School and Motor Transport Technical School.
Currently there are 16,000 students enrolled on programs at the university, whilst post-graduate and doctoral students are taught in 27 modern specialties. The licensed amount of student admission for entering the University each year is 1,400 students. The academic process is provided by 600 teachers including more than 100 doctors of science, professors and 350 candidates of Science and associate professors. The infrastructure of the University (general area of constructions and buildings is 126049 square meters estimated at 29,8 mln. hryvna cost), modern computer basis (more than 1000 modern computers) local and global computer nets, library funds with more than one million volumes, strong material and technical laboratory basis, ensures a high standard of education.
A monument to some of NMU’s most outstanding alumni.
Over the 100 years of the university’s existence more than 56,000 highly qualified specialists have been prepared, more than 500 monographs and 250 study-books widely known beyond Ukraine have been published, and about 150 Doctors of science and more than 1,750 Candidates of science have been trained. The university’s graduates are today authors of more than 2600 inventions in foreign countries, where they obtained more than 300 patents. In recent years, four fundamental innovations of the university’s scientists have been recognised as scientific discoveries.
The foundation ceremony of Ekaterinoslav’s Higher Mining Technical School (EHMTS) was conducted on October 12, 1899, and in April of the next year construction of the institution’s new educational buildings began. To begin with the Higher Mining Technical School had only two departments, those of mining and factory-production, but their academic curricula differed only very slightly (the main difference between the two faculties was to be found in the number of taught hours conducted for students).
The Higher Mining Technical School was founded during the reign of Nicholas II.
The curriculum according to the “Regulation for the EHMTS” foresaw an initial total of 23 taught disciplines: theology, higher mathematics, analytical mechanics, construction mechanics, applied mechanics, mine-factory mechanics, physics, chemistry, electrical mechanics, mineralogy, geology and deposit science, geodesy, mining art, ore and coal dressing, surveying, metallurgy, technology of metals, design and geometric design, accounting and mine-factory economy, technical translation from German and French and first aid at accidents. The provision of training was undertaken by a total of 13 full-time employed teachers.
Construction of the Mining Institute in the late 1890s.
From the date of its foundation the university was equipped with a two department library, a mineralogical museum, chemical, mechanical and probe laboratories, and offices for each discipline. Nevertheless the Technical School had a lot of problems for a long time. Ten years after EHMTS establishment there were only 9 teachers, and the stable cadre was constantly decreasing. This made the issue of equalising the Technical School’s rights with other higher educational institutions more urgent, and thus eventually the school was turned into the Ekaterinoslav Mining Institute. On June 19, 1912 the State Legislative body adopted a resolution on restructuring the EHMTS into a fully equipped Mining Institute. Since July 1 a number of outstanding scientists, mainly graduates from Saint-Petersburg Mining Institute, then joined the institute.
The institute became well known for its many publications in scientific periodicals. The EHMTS edited and produced the “News of Ekaterinoslav Higher Mining Technical School” since 1905 and up until 1917 the school published 23 collections of “News”, in which around 500 scientific works were published (including monographs and study books).
§The Soviet era
In 1918 the Mining Institute opened two new departments: surveying (closed in 1921) and Geological Prospecting, and obtained the right to award scientific degrees through public defence of a scientific dissertation. Later, in 1921 the Mechanical Faculty was created with two departments, those of Mining-Factory and Electrical Engineering. The implementation of new specialties was from then on dictated by industrial development. Finally a distance learning faculty was opened.
The model of breast badge awarded to graduates of the Mining Institute during the Soviet era.
In 1930 the Mining Institute began training specialists only for the mining industry and geological prospecting works, and in 1932 a number of new faculties were established in place of the departments: Mining, Electrical Engineering, Geological-Surveying. In the 20s and 30s the process of forming scientific schools was continued, and therefore during the late 1930s the Dnipropetrovsk Mining Institute lost a significant part of its staff (about 30 persons, among which there were a number of outstanding professors),however, the institution withstood these losses and kept preparing highly professional specialists for industry and science.
As a result of the Second World War in 1941–1945 about 300 teachers, staff members and students left for the front within the first few days of hostilities commencing. The institute evacuated to Sverdlovsk and Karaganda, to where a significant part of its equipment was brought and where its faculty began to work alongside the scientific staff of the Sverdlovsk Mining Institute and the Filial of Moscow Mining Institute, which by that time had come to Karaganda too. A great number of the Dnipropetrovsk Mining Institute’s staff occupied engineering positions at mining enterprises of the Urals and Soviet Republics of Middle Asia, working for victory over Nazi Germany.
The remains of Dnipropetrovsk’s Mining Institute, which was burnt-out by German forces during the Second World War.
The Institute finally resumed its teaching activities in 1943, first in Karaganda, and later in Dnipropetrovsk. However, after the German invasion of the USSR and later Lower Dnieper Offensive, many of the institute’s buildings were in ruin and required extensive reconstruction before the staff was able to move its educational activities back into them. After the war, on November 21, 1949 the Dnipropetrovsk Mining Institute was awarded with the Order of the Red Banner and a number of its staff members received high state awards (26 orders and 17 medals) for scientific achievements and success in training engineering and technical staff for the national economy. By 1951/52 academic year all the buildings of the institute had been completely rebuilt, with a new experimental study range for boring, a geological museum, and new laboratories and dormitories being put into use. In 1951 the Mine-Construction Faculty was established.
By its 50th anniversary the Institute had 165 professors, associate professors and lecturers, 1,942 students, 34 departments, 22 laboratories, 25 cabinets, a geological museum, library, experimental study range and experimental workshops.
In 1970 the Dnipropetrovsk Mining Institute employed 474 teachers, including 34 professors. At that time the amount of graduating engineers equaled 1,200 persons and the amount of specialists studying in full-time education was increasing, although part-time and extramural study forms also functioned.
In May 1993 according to the results of State accreditation for higher educational institutes, the Dnipropetrovsk Mining Institute gained the status of an autonomous IV-accreditation level state higher educational institution and received the name of the State Mining Academy of Ukraine. In February 2002 the institution was finally restructured into its current form as the “National Mining University”. Today it is one of the leading higher educational institution of the country in geological prospecting and mining fields. In 2009 celebrations were held to mark the 110th anniversary of the university’s foundation.
Bondarenko Volodimir Illych, an NGU professor, in the institute’s formal attire.
The university currently has 846 full-time professors, and employs 218 other full-time and part-time workers. Amongst the academic staff there are 179 full professors, 371 associate professors and a further 296 teachers lacking doctoral level degrees. This equates to around 65% of the university’s academic staff being holders of doctor-ships. In addition to this, amongst the universities academics there are 34 members of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, 11 laureates of the State Prize of Ukraine in science and technology, 11 ‘honoured scientists’ of Ukraine and 11 ‘distinguished educators’ of Ukraine.
The National Mining University’s placing in the annual rankings of universities in Ukraine:
The faculties of the university are:
Institute of Power Engineering
Institute of Economics
Institute of Mining
Faculty of Construction
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
Faculty of Geological Prospecting
Faculty of Law
Institute of Extramural Learning
Interbranch Institute of Continuing Learning
The National Mining University is a primarily campus based university. Much of the university is located on a central site in the city of Dnipropetrovsk, close to the municipal historical museum and scientific library. The main building (1st Corpus), built in 1899 is a protected monument of architecture; it is a large structure with a neo-classical front elevation which serves as the main entrance to the university’s territory. Over the years the campus has developed with the addition of numerous new buildings. One of the first of these was the 2nd Corpus which was built specifically for the Mining School (originally as the School of Chemistry), whilst soon after the No. 1 municipal school for girls on Politseyskaya Street, was acquired for use as the institution’s 3rd Corpus. Later, in the 1960s and 80s the university’s fourth to tenth corpuses were built. There is no particularly dominant architectural style present amongst the university’s buildings other than the Russian interpretation of 19th century neo-classicalism which defines the pre-Soviet era structures present on the territory of the university. Interestingly, the university’s 7th Corpus, a large 14 story constructivist building built in the 1970s, was built on a site just slightly to the east of the crossing of Olesya Honchara Street and Shevchenko Street (formerly Politseyskaya), thus dividing Shevchenko Street into two sections and enclosing the section from O. Hochara Street to Gagarin Street within the grounds of the Mining University. The university’s sport’s facilities are located in and around the 6th corpus, which is also located on the grounds of the university.
The university’s admissions department is located in the 4th corpus, to the side of the main building. In addition to the academic facilities located on the main campus, the university also owns a number of student hostels, one of which (Hostel No. 1) is located just across from the university on Olesya Honchara Street.
Within the immediate vicinity of the university’s campus a number of important institutions can be found. Amongst others these include the Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture, the National Metallurgical Academy of Ukraine, Dnipropetrovsk State Hospital for Students, Menchikov Regional Hospital, Dnipropetrovsk Medical Academy and the Ukrainian State Chemical-Technological University. There are also a number of shopping centres in the area. The university is well connected to the city’s public transport network (by tram No. 1 and various bus routes) and it is expected that by 2015 the Muzeina station (currently under construction) of the Dnipropetrovsk Metro will connect the University are to the larger Western area of Dnipropetrovsk and its many residential neighbourhoods.
§Museums and collections
The National Mining University is currently home to two museums. These museums are entirely run by the institution’s staff and students and are funded from its budget; the collections are expanded with the help of donors and items which are taken on loan. The two museums are both currently located in the main building (1st Corpus) of NMU on Karl Marx Prospekt.
The university’s museum of geology and mineralogy
Alexander Pol University Historical Museum – This museum was organised in the early 1970s and opened its doors on 12 October 1974 when the university was still known as the Dnipropetrovsk Mining Institute. Its subject material covers the entire history of the institution from its foundation in 1899 to the present day, and has a number of exhibits relating to the way in which students studied and were taught over the years. The Historical Museum is also devoted to recording the changes made to the university’s property over the years; to that end it maintains a large collection of photographs detailing the construction, destruction and remodelling undertaken at the university over its lifetime.
Museum of Geology and Mineralogy – Opened 19 August 1935, the university’s museum of geology and mineralogy is one of the largest of its kind in Europe. However, during the course of World War II it suffered greatly and lost all but 10 items of its 20,000-piece collection. After the war, the reconstruction of the collection took around 11 years and the museum was not reopened until 1955. The exposition contains about 3,000 exhibits, its area is over 350 square metres (3,800 sq ft), and there are 44 glass cases and 45 separate rests for samples in it. There are three main subsections of the museum, made up of: Mineralogy, Crystallography and Petrography, Historical Mineralogy and Paleontology, and finally Useful Minerals. Nowadays over 19,500 objects of interest from all around the world constitute the museum’s collection, and it is visited by around 5,000 people annually.
The National Mining University owns a number of hostels for the use of its students who wish to live on or near the grounds and facilities of the university. The capacity of the six combined hostels amounts to around 3,050, with Hostel No. 6 being the largest and catering for the greatest amount of students. However demand for places in the university’s hostels is often very high, making it impossible to house all the students who wish to live in them. Advantages of living in the university’s accommodation are largely centred around the low (rental) cost of living there.
Current hostels owned by the university are located at the following addresses:
Hostel № 1 – Karl Marx Prospekt, 21
Hostel № 2 – Karl Marx Prospekt, 17
Hostel № 3 – Gargarin Prospekt, 61
Hostel № 4 – Gargarin Prospekt, 59
Hostel № 5 – Gargarin Prospekt, 57
Hostel № 6 – Kirov Prospekt, 111-б
National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy (NaUKMA) (Ukrainian: Національний університет «Києво-Могилянська академія» (НаУКМА), Natsional’nyi universytet “Kyyevo-Mohylians’ka akademiya”) is a national, coeducational research university located in Kiev, Ukraine. The Kyiv-Mohyla Academy, the school’s predecessor, was established in 1632. The NaUKMA is located on the Academy’s grounds in the ancient Podil neighborhood. In 1991, it was re-organized, and teaching began the following year. NaUKMA has the highest level of accreditation as outlined by the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine, and is one of the thirteen educational institutions in Ukraine having a status of a research and autonomous university. NaUKMA takes part in numerous international university collaborations, such as the European University Association. The university is bilingual in Ukrainian and English. It is one of Ukraine’s few universities with internationally recognized diplomas.
With around 3000 students, NaUKMA is one of the smallest universities in Ukraine. Alumni of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy played a formative role in the intellectual and church life of Ukraine and Russia in 17th and 18th centuries. Among the most notable alumni were hetman Ivan Mazepa and philosopher Hryhori Skovoroda. The university is known as pro-Western and served as headquarters for Orange Revolution activists.
The predecessor of NaUKMA – The National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy – is one of the oldest academic and theological schools among Orthodox Christian East European countries. The Academy was first opened in 1615 as the school of the Kyiv bratstvo (“brotherhood”). In 1632 the Kiev Pechersk Lavra school and Kiev Brotherhood School merged into the Kyiv-Mohyla Collegium (Latin: Collegium Kiyovense Mohileanum). The Collegium was named Mohylyans’kiy (as of Mohyla after Petro Mohyla), the proponent of Western educational standards at the institution. In 1658 under the terms of the Treaty of Hadiach the Collegium obtained the status of an Academy, similar to Kraków Academy (Poland), and in 1694 was recognized as an Academy by the Russian Tzar Ivan V of Russia, then in 1701 reaffirmed by his brother, Tzar Peter I of Russia (Peter the Great).
The Academy educated Russian and Ukrainian political and intellectual elite in the 17th and 18th centuries, and it was highly acclaimed throughout Eastern Europe with the students from modern day Ukraine, Russia, Poland, Belarus, Moldavia, Serbia, Bulgaria and Greece. The admissions were open to all social classes. Due to the exceptional quality of the language program its students often continued their education abroad, which at the time required many of them to convert their religion from the Orthodox Christian to a Roman Catholicism. However, upon their return to Ukraine, they were turning back to their Orthodox roots, which also was necessary in order to attain positions in the clergy or Academia. By keep sending the students abroad for education the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy played a very important role in obtaining from Western Europe the knowelege of the Renaissance and adopting it by Ukraine and Russia. The Kyiv-Mohyla Academy also supported a number of other colleges built on its model, such as the Vasilian College in Moldova (Moldavia).
Hetmans – military leaders of the Zaporozhian Cossacks – were close to the monarch and actively supported the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. The school flourished under the term of Hetman Ivan Mazepa, an alumnus.
§Kiev Theological Academy
Main article: Kiev Theological Academy
Seal of the old Kyiv-Mohyla Academy.
Kyiv-Mohyla Academy was closed in 1817 by Tzar Alexander I of Russia. In response alumni of the Academy made a numerous unsuccessful petitions to the monarch regarding to turning Kyiv-Mohyla Academy (Kievo-Mohylyans’ka Academy) into a University. Instead, in 1819 Kyiv-Mohyla Academy (Kyivo-Mohylyans’ka Academy) was turned into Kiev Theological Academy- a purely clerical institution. On comparable terms to its predecessors admissions became open only to the children of the existing clergy. The key positions were held mostly by the alumni of the Saint Petersburg Seminary.
In years the need of a new type of the higher educational institution in the Capital of Ukraine Kiev has-been realized certainly. The psychological pressure of the mass upon the higher authorities for allowing an establishment of such a school was growing, but it took a long time before the actual event have happened. Thereby Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv, as the first European type secular (modern) University of Kiev, was established in 1834 by the Tzar Nicholas I of Russia.
During the Soviet Union (USSR) era Kiev Theological Academy was closed, its library plundered and the main church of the school -Bogoyavlenskiy Cathedral- was destroyed. A military school have been developed instead . As of today the University building outside wall still bears mosaic portraying a military ship and the quotes by Vladimir Lenin as a remembrance of the school’s totalitarian past.
§Reestablishment as a modern University
Mosaic on NaUKMA building portraying Soviet State symbols and the quotes by Vladimir Lenin: “To study, to study, and only to study…” and “Party – the mind, the honor and consciousness of our epoch”. This mosaic have replaced the image of an open Bible previously presented at the Kiev Theological Academy wall.
Following the Perestroika and fall of the USSR in 1991 as a result, Kyiv-Mohyla Academy have been reestablished with the great assistance of Vyacheslav Bryukhovetskiy, who became the first president of the NaUKMA – National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. The reestablished institution was structured and remodeled on the basic concepts of the North America post secondary educational system and Bachelor degree and Master degree are offered according to the requirements of an academic credit system . In 1992, 24 August – first celebration of the National Independence Day of Ukraine – the first students were matriculated into the classes of NaUKMA – National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. As of June 1995 there were first six new graduates of NaUKMA. The Research Center named “Legacy of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy” was founded to get establish a continuity of the old Kyiv-Mohyla Academy in the newly recreated Kyiv-Mohyla Academy and such after the two-century-long gap of Its existence. The NaUKMA also initiated the revival of another historical Ukrainian educational institution – the Ostroh Academy. The NaUKMA widely got to be known for being the first university of which students and professors (among the other parties of the Orange Revolution in Kyiv) openly protested against the massive electoral selection fraud during the Ukrainian presidential election in 2004. After those events a museum dedicated to the Orange Revolution (Pomarancheva Revolyuziya-ukr.) was opened at the NaUKMA – National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy.
§Claims on continuity of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy traditions
Besides NaUKMA, there are two modern theological schools, which also claim the continuity of the old Kyiv-Mohyla Academy academic tradition. These are Kyiv Theological Academy and Seminary of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate) and Kiev Orthodox Theological Academy of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church (Kyiv Patriarchate).
NaUKMA -National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy – claims to be the oldest institution of tertiary education in Ukraine. Currently, Lviv University founded in 1661 is the oldest continuously operating university in Ukraine. It is disputed whether Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv (established in 1834) or NaUKMA is the oldest higher education institution in Kyiv since NaUKMA formally exists as a university only from 1991 and has a long break from 1817 till 1991 in its history.
Faculties of NaUKMA
Faculty of Computer Sciences
Faculty of Economics
Faculty of Humanities
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Natural Sciences
Faculty of Social Sciences and Social Technologies
University Department of English Language
University Department of Physical Training
Kyiv Mohyla Business School
NaUKMA holds the highest accreditation level given by the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine and is organized similarly to North American post-secondary institutions. The academic year runs on a trimester system with the longer fall and spring trimesters and a short summer trimester. Fall and spring terms include an extra week of independent study which is aimed to assist students needing to catch up with their coursework and prepare for exams. During undergraduate study students have an academic major and can choose either a minor or electives. Each course is assigned a number of credits based on credit hours and grading is done on a 100 point scale.
NaUKMA Bachelor’s degree holders can continue their studies in any of the Masters programs at the university. Graduate academic programs leading to a Master of Business Administration, Candidate of Science (PhD) and Doctor of Science are also offered at NaUKMA. The university was first in Ukraine to join the reforms of the doctoral education within the Bologna process.
NaUKMA is a bilingual institution with Ukrainian and English being the languages of instruction, although the primary language is Ukrainian. The university offers business courses in English to the general public, in partnership with Grant MacEwan College of Edmonton, Canada. NaUKMA organizes an annual summer school in Ukrainian studies for international students and an English-language term program for international students entitled “Transitional studies: Ukraine and post-soviet space”. Recently a Master program “German and European studies” is offered in collaboration with the University of Jena. The program is offered in German.
Similarly to other public universities in Ukraine, students receive modest monthly scholarship payments from the government. The amount varies according to the student’s grades in the previous trimester. Additionally, a number of private scholarships are given to the best students on a merit system. Further, students are rewarded scholarship monies for their social activities, thus awards are given to those who make the greatest contribution to the revival of NaUKMA or to those who excel in the promotion of Ukrainian language and culture.
NaUKMA is a state university and governed by the Supervising Board appointed by the Government of Ukraine. The highest university official is the President of NaUKMA, who is Prof. Serhiy M. Kvit. Education and research at the university are coordinated by the Scientific Board. Several public bodies consult the management of the university. These include the International Consulting Board, Board of Trustees, Student Council and Arts Board.
Main entrance to the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy
Admission to NaUKMA is open to both Ukrainian and international applicants. Admission is granted based on entrance examination scores. Entrance exams are administered as multiple choice tests covering several subjects including Ukrainian, English, law, mathematics, history of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy, humanities (literature or history) and one of the natural sciences with the tests being machine scored. The admissions procedure was introduced in order to stem alleged corruption in the admission process. Admission tests are considered challenging and cover a broader range of subjects than the typical entrance examinations held at the majority of other universities in Ukraine. Testing the knowledge of history of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy is exceptional among Ukrainian universities. It was introduced because of the role of the university in Ukrainian history. The university also has a Department of Preuniversity Training, which organizes test preparation courses for prospective students as well as trial testing sessions.
Vyacheslav Bryukhovetskyi, who initiated the revival of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy was awarded the title Hero of Ukraine for this.
In 2009 Delovoy magazine ranked NaUKMA as the second best university in Ukraine, being nationally the strongest in humanities, third best in economics and second best in law. According to the independent ranking of 228 universities in Ukraine performed by Compas, NaUKMA was ranked second best in Ukraine regarding the adequacy of alumni to the labor market of Ukraine. In 2007, both the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine and the Dzerkalo Tyzhnia, a weekly national newspaper ranked NaUKMA in third place among the Ukrainian universities. Likewise, the university’s business school has the best reputation in the country. The Delovoy magazine ranked the Kyiv Mohyla Business School as the best business school in Ukraine in 2007. NaUKMA was ranked as number four in the ranking “Top-200 Ukraine” conducted by UNESCO in 2007.
In the international Webometrics Ranking of World Universities the university features at 2,055 out of 8,000 ranked institutions and second best among Ukrainian universities.
NaUKMA often hosts visits of foreign and national politicians. Among the latest visitors were Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, Alejandro Toledo, David Kilgour and Jean Chrétien.
NaUKMA in the rankings of universities in Ukraine:
Ranking 2007 2008 2009 2010
Compas 2 2 2 4
Zerkalo Nedeli/UNESCO 3 9 8 –
Dengi 2 2 2 –
Korespondent.net 2 3 – 2
Kommentarii: – – – 2
Kyiv student council – – 3 –
Webometrics – – 9 2
4 International Colleges & Universities – – – 9
§Institutions associated with NaUKMA
Following its reestablishment, NaUKMA has been active in the revival and founding of institutions sharing a common vision of educational standards. Thus, NaUKMA assisted with the development of the National University of Ostroh Academy, the Taras Shevchenko Pedagogical University of Kremenets, and the Petro Mohyla State University of Mykolayiv until they became separate independent universities. However, these schools still share a common admissions system with NaUKMA. Moreover, NaUKMA is an umbrella institution for a network of high schools throughout Ukraine called the collegiums. The curricula of collegiums aim to prepare the students for the NaUKMA entrance exams.
The university publishing house “Kyiv-Mohyla Academy”, which specializes in publishing scientific and educational literature in Ukraine, is situated on the NaUKMA campus.
Science at NaUKMA is organized into six faculties, 29 departments and 24 research centers. An annual scientific conference Dni nauky NaUKMA (The Days of Science at NaUKMA) takes place in the last week of January. The main focus of research at the NaUKMA is in the fields of economics, law and humanities. Many faculty members hold permanent positions at the research institutes of the National Academy of Science of Ukraine and NaUKMA students are allowed to use its facilities for scientific and educational purposes.
The Mazepa building houses the NaUKMA research library.
The library of the old Kyiv Mohyla Academy contained a notable collection of the books. However, the archive was plundered in 1920s when the academy was closed. The university administration focuses on creating a research library equipped to modern standards. In addition to the central undergraduate library there is a number of the departmental libraries as well as reading halls for research and periodicals. Further, several international cultural organizations such as the Goethe-Institut(e), British Council and American Library are located on campus premises and are open to the public. Also all the NaUKMA students have an access to the Vernadsky National Library of Ukraine.
The Halshka Hulevychivna house belonging to the university is the oldest civil building in Kyiv.
The university occupies the grounds of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy in the Podil neighborhood, from Kontraktova Square to the Dnieper River. The campus of NaUKMA is composed of a number of buildings constructed in the times of its predecessor institutions. The oldest buildings date from the 17th century, and include the Halshka Hulevychivna house and the old academic building also called the Mazepa building in honor of its financier Hetman Ivan Mazepa. The Mazepa building contains the congregation hall for ceremonial events, the Center for Contemporary Art and the research library.
In the same neighborhood is the historical museum complex of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy, although the building is undergoing renovation. The complex contains a sundial and the house of Halshka Hulevychivna, which was the first building of the Kiev Brotherhood School. Another historical building called the bursa faces the Dnieper River and was used as a student dormitory during the time of the Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. The Blahovishchenska (Annunciation) Сhurch built in 1740 for students is also on the NaUKMA campus. Most other buildings were constructed during the time of Kiev Theological Academy with some additions made during the Soviet era. The dormitories are situated outside the main campus.
An environmentally friendly office called the Green Office was recently opened at the Department of Environmental Studies at NaUKMA and uses modern energy saving and environmentally friendly technologies. The project was largely the initiative of students and is the first example of an office based on sustainable development in a Ukrainian educational institution.
The university turtle named Alma is passed around the new students and graduates who make wishes while touching her shell.
Following reestablishment, the NaKUMA academic community has attempted to restore the traditions of its predecessor. However, during NaKUMA’s reincarnation, several new traditions have been founded. Every year on 15 October the school celebrates Academy day and NaUKMA students wash the monument of the noted Kyiv-Mohyla alumnus philosopher Hryhorii Skovoroda. This action is called clean Skovoroda. The monument of Skovoroda in front of the university is also decorated with a mortarboard during the annual graduation ceremony held on 28 June. Another tradition during the ceremony is to carry the university turtle named Alma around the new graduates who make wishes while touching her shell. A student tradition connecting the old Kyiv-Mohyla Academy and NaUKMA is theatrical performances called verteps. Verteps possibly were introduced by the students of the old Academy. They are performed during different festive events. Lastly, it is a tradition to open each academic year with a welcome event for the new students, followed by a lecture by a renowned scientist, who is given an honorary professorship at the University. The ceremony of new NaUKMA student initiation includes taking a traditional student oath. During the first term at NaUKMA, students of all faculties introduce themselves to the academic community during the acquaintance ball.
Despite the relatively small number of NaUKMA students (about 3000 in 2006) there are a number of extracurricular activities on campus. NaUKMA students are also known for their activism, which is also supported by the university administration. Notable among the student organizations on campus are: the Student Council, the Christian Students Union, Mohyla Intellectual Club, the Student Brotherhood, the ecological club Zelena Hvylya, and the Youth Center for Humanities. The NaUKMA student portal Bo.Net.Ua is an online platform for student and alumni communication.
Sports courses are compulsory for NaUKMA students in their two years of study. These courses include elements of calisthenics, sport (soccer, basketball, volleyball and swimming) and fitness exercises. Additionally, there are a number of student sport groups ranging from Combat Hopak to Go.
Arts and music at NaUKMA are represented by the Center of Culture and Art and the Center for Contemporary Art.
§Kyiv-Mohyla Academy in literature and popular culture
Mazepa building of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy on 500 hryven’ banknote.
Kyiv-Mohyla Academy is mentioned in a number of novels. The main characters of Nikolai Gogol’s novel Taras Bulba Ostap and Andriy Bulba were alumni of the old Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. Kyiv-Mohyla Collegium is mentioned in several novels by Pavlo Zahrebelnyi including Southern Comfort and I, Bohdan. Kyiv Theological Academy is mentioned in Nikolai Leskov’s Pecherskie antiki.
To note the importance of the university in Ukraine’s history, a postage stamp dedicated to Kyiv-Mohyla Academy and its revival was issued in 1992. Moreover, a building of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy is portrayed on the 500 hryven’ banknote.
§Notable alumni and faculty members
Main article: List of National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy people
Ivan Mazepa – hetman of Ukraine.
Alumni of the old Kyiv-Mohyla Academy have played an important role in Ukrainian professional life. Many hetmans of Zaporozhian Cossacks, political leaders of Ukraine in the 17th and 18th centuries, were educated here. These include Ivan Mazepa, Pylyp Orlyk, Pavlo Polubotok, Ivan Skoropadsky and Ivan Samoylovych. The Grand Chancellor of Russia Alexander Bezborodko was of Ukrainian origin and an alumnus. The Kyiv-Mohyla Academy was a religious school of note in the Orthodox world and archbishops of the Russian Empire such as Stephen Yavorsky and Feofan Prokopovich as well as the metropolitan bishop of Rostov Dimitry of Rostov were all alumni.
Hryhori Skovoroda – philosopher.
More recently, several generations of writers, artists and scholars have been schooled at the Kyiv Mohyla Academy. Examples include writer Simeon of Polotsk, architect Ivan Hryhorovych-Barskyi, and composer Artemy Vedel. Ukrainian philosopher Hryhori Skovoroda was another alumnus of the university. Mikhail Lomonosov, Russian scientist and founder of Moscow University was briefly a student at Kyiv Mohyla Academy.
After 1819, when the university was turned into a purely religious institution, it still upheld its international reputation and has been an alma mater for the Moldavian poet Alexei Mateevici and metropolitan bishop of the Romanian Orthodox Church Visarion Puiu.
Alumni of NaUKMA are employed by national and international companies, research and governmental institutions and many graduates continue their studies abroad. Journalist and politician Andriy Shevchenko and the contemporary Ukrainian writer Maryna Sokolyan studied at NaUKMA.
National University “Ostroh Academy” (Ukrainian: Національний Університет Острозька Академія, translit.: Natsional’nyi Universytet Ostroz’ka Akademiia) is a Ukrainian self-governed (autonomous) research university that was opened in 1994 by the Presidential Decree of April 12, 1994. The university considers itself a continuation of the historical Ostroh Academy.
The school occupies the buildings of the former Rococo Capuchin monastery (built in 1779). Since October 2000 the university carries a title of National. It is one of the 14 research universities in Ukraine since July 2009. Ostroh Academy is the only elite university of Ukraine that is not located in a regional capital.
International Exchange Programmes
Students of Ostroh Academy take part in many international exchange programs.
The implementation of youth exchange project Canada-Ukraine (CORE) gives the students of the university an opportunity to live in Canada for several months, gain experience in economical, social, administrative, educational and other spheres, and improve English and French.
Implementation of the Canadian-Ukrainian exchange «CORE / ECO» annually allows 20 university students to stay for several months in Canada, the master of the country experience in the field of environmental protection, gain leadership skills, and get to know people of different nationalities living in Canada.
The program «CORE / HEALTH» – annually provides an opportunity for students to improve their skills in public health, spread among university students and local residents the information and materials about healthy lifestyles.
The program Net Corps, a Ukrainian-Canadian enables students to improve their professional skills in the sphere of informational technologies and programming.
The programs are coordinated by Canada World Youth organization, which has operated for 40 years in more than 50 countries. The partnership between Canada World Youth and the National University of Ostroh Academy has lasted for over 15 years. Some 225 students have participated in the programs.
For the last 10 years the students of the National University of Ostroh Academy have annually participated in such internship and educational programmes as Canadian-Ukrainian Parliamentary Program (CUPP), Fulbright Graduate Program, Edmund Muskie Program, Lane Kirkland Program, Study Tours to Poland, one year degree and non-degree studies at Warsaw University, four year studies at University of Marie Curie Sklodowska.
The Department of Political Studies and Information Management
The Department of Quantitative Economics
The Department of Finance
The Department of Romance and Germanic Languages
The Department of Law
The Department of International Relations
The academy was ranked in the 6th place among Ukrainian traditional Universities according to official rating of the Ministry of Education & Science of Ukraine; 9th place among Ukrainian Universities according to “Ukrainska Pravda” newspaper; 3rd place among Ukrainian traditional Universities according to Correspondent Journal
The Yaroslav Mudryi National Law University (Ukrainian: Національний юридичний університет імені Ярослава Мудрого» (НЮУ), Natsional’nyi yurydychnyi universytet imeni Yaroslava Mudroho) is a self-governing (autonomous) state higher law educational establishment of the IV level of accreditation, a national university, located in Kharkiv, Ukraine, named after Yaroslav the Wise.
Kharkiv Empire University
The history of the academy began in the 19th century by the order of Alexander I with the establishment of the Kharkiv Empire University on 5 (17) November 1804 and the ethics and political department as its part. In 1835 it was officially renamed as the Law Department of the Kharkiv Empire University. At different times famous lawyers worked here, such as professors M.M. Alekseenko, L.E. Vladimirov, M.A. Hredeskul, V.P. Danevskyi, I.I. Ditiatin, L.N. Zahurskyi, D.I. Kachenovskyi, O.V. Kunitsin, M.O. Kuplevaskyi, O.I. Paliumbetskyi, A.M. Stoianov, M.O. Taube, I.F. Timkovskyi, M.P. Chubinskyi and others.
Institute of National Economy/Institute of Soviet Construction and Law
In 1920 by the decision of the Government of Ukraine the Institute of National Economy was established on the basis of the Law department of the Kharkiv Empire University. It was the basis of the Law Institute which trained lawyers for state and economic bodies. The first lecturers of the law faculty – the founders of the Institute – were famous law professors: V.M. Hordon, V.M. Koretskyi, O.D. Kisilev, V.F. Levitskyi, M.O. Maksimeyko, M.I. Palienko, V.I. Slivitskyi, V.S. Trakhterov and others who worked at the Kharkiv University before. They were holding scientific and teaching positions for many years and made a great contribution into formation and development of law science, lawyers’ education and training. In 1930 The Institute of National Economy, taking into consideration its status of an institute of higher legal education, received a new name: the Institute of Soviet Construction and Law. On May 1933 the Institute was renamed into the Ukrainian Communist Institute of Soviet Construction and Law.
Kharkiv Law Institute
In 1937 for the purpose of improvement of lawyers’ training it was rearranged into the Kharkiv Law Institute. Throughout the history of the Institute it’s rectors (directors) were P.I. Fomin, Ya.O. Sokolin, L.I. Levikov, E.O. Kustolian, K.K. Brandt, M.M. Eminnik, F.M. Tsaregradskyi, S.M. Kanarskyi, V.O. Barachtian, S.I. Vilnianskyi, O.A. Nebotov, V.P. Maslov; pro-rectors – V.M. Koretskyi, K.K. Brandt, V.V. Krivitskyi, E.O. Kustolian, G.V. Sodin, G.V. Eminnik, D.K. Piatak, M.I. Levikov, S.L. Fuks, S.I. Vilnianskyi, M.V. Hordon, A.l. Rogozhin, I.M. Danshin.
In the pre-war period the academic staff of the Institute included prominent law scholars, experienced scientists and pedagogues, such as R.M. Babun, K.O. Bernovskyi, M.S. Bokarius, G.I. Volkov, S.I. Vilnianskyi, M.V. Hordon, M.M. Hrodzinskyi, M.M. Eminnik, S.M. Kanarskyi, V.L. Kobalevskyi, V.M. Koretskyi, S.N. Landkof, B.V. Popov, N.M. Romaniuk, S.E. Sabinin, A.S. Semenova, Ya.O. Sokolin, O.I. Stroev, S.L. Fuks.. Some of them had practical legal experience in the Supreme Court of Ukraine, the Prosecutor’s Office and other law enforcement organs and made a great contribution in the latter development of the Institute. In the post-war period and the following years such famous scholars as professors M.I. Bazhanov, O.T. Barabash, M.I. Bary, S.I. Vilnianskiy, Yu.O. Vovk, M.M. Hrodzinskyi, M.V. Hordon, V.M. Horshenev, V.V. Hrechko, V.O. Zherebkin, S.Yu. Kats, O.N. Kolisnichenko, V.P. Kolmakov, V.V. Kopeichikov, V.M. Koretskyi, I.Yu. Krasko, I.O. Lozo, V.P. Maslov, G.A. Matusovskyi, V.L. Musiiaka, O.A. Nebotov, R.S. Pavlovskyi, Z.A. Pidoprigora, A.O. Pinaev. P.T. Polezhai, O.A. Pushkin, A.L. Rivlin, A.I. Rogozhin, I.P. Safronova, O.I. Svechkarev, V.I. Slivitskyi, V.S. Trakhterov, S.L. Fuks, V.O. Chefranov, V.S. Shelestov, I.M. Sherstiuk, B.M. Yurkov, O.M. Yakuba, M.V. Yanovskyi worked at the Institute (and the Academy later on).
In the post-war period and the following years such famous scholars as professors M.I. Bazhanov, O.T. Barabash, M.I. Bary, S.I. Vilnianskiy, Yu.O. Vovk, M.M. Hrodzinskyi, M.V. Hordon, V.M. Horshenev, V.V. Hrechko, V.O. Zherebkin, S.Yu. Kats, O.N. Kolisnichenko, V.P. Kolmakov, V.V. Kopeichikov, V.M. Koretskyi, I.Yu. Krasko, I.O. Lozo, V.P. Maslov, G.A. Matusovskyi, V.L. Musiiaka, O.A. Nebotov, R.S. Pavlovskyi, Z.A. Pidoprigora, A.O. Pinaev. P.T. Polezhai, O.A. Pushkin, A.L. Rivlin, A.I. Rogozhin, I.P. Safronova, O.I. Svechkarev, V.I. Slivitskyi, V.S. Trakhterov, S.L. Fuks, V.O. Chefranov, V.S. Shelestov, I.M. Sherstiuk, B.M. Yurkov, O.M. Yakuba, M.V. Yanovskyi worked at the Institute (and the Academy later on).
National Law Academy of Ukraine
In accordance with the resolution of Rada of Ministers of Ukraine of March 20, 1991 the Kharkiv Law Institute was rearranged into the National Law Academy of Ukraine. Under the president’s decree of March 30, 1995 No. 267 the Academy was given the status of the national self-governed (autonomous) state higher educational establishment and by decree of November 4, 1995 the name of Yaroslav the Wise. In accordance with the decree of the president of Ukraine No. 457 of May 21, 2001 «The question of Yaroslav the Wise National Law Academy of Ukraine», recognizing its considerable role in training specialists for bodies of state authorities, law enforcement organs, various fields of law practice, considering the necessity of keeping and further development of generated scientific schools in the Academy, it was given additional rights with the approval of statute by the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine. In accordance with the decree of the president of Ukraine No. 485 of May 25, 2009 and the resolution of Cabinet of Ministers No. 796 of July 29, 2009, «The question of Yaroslav the Wise National Law Academy of Ukraine» the Academy was given the status of a self-governed (autonomous) scientific national higher educational establishment, which carried out their activity in accordance with its statute with the right to:
– set up a research institute of legal science; – take final decisions on awarding scientific degrees and titles; – realize experimental educational plans and programs for training specialists for state authority bodies, organs of local government, law enforcement organs, various fields of legal practice, research and educational staff.
In accordance with the decree of the president of Ukraine #1194/2010 of December 24, 2010 and the resolution of Cabinet of Ministers # 2213-p of December 8, 2010, Yaroslav the Wise National Law Academy of Ukraine was renamed into National University “Yaroslav the Wise Law Academy of Ukraine”.
Campuses and buildings
The main academic premise is of 22,000.00 square meters, located in Kharkiv on Pushkinska street, 77; architect O.M.Beketov built it in 1893. There are 26 departments, 8 lecture halls, sports premises and halls, 2 computer rooms, and library with reading rooms, equipped with computer networks, 2 halls of the Academic Council and the administrative units of the University. Criminalistics Department building is of 3,000.00 square meters, located on Pushkinska street, 84; it has 3 lecture halls, 4 photo-laboratories, 2 computer labs, Internet-studio video center, museum and forensic testing ground, These educational buildings are architectural monuments. The educational building located on Pushkinska street, 79/2 (2,700.00 square meters) has 5 lecture halls, classrooms, computer lab.
Premise of Crimean Law Institute with total area of 4,000.00 square meters has 4 lecture halls, lecture rooms, conference hall, library, food catering premises, hostel, sports premises, etc.
Total area of Poltava Law Institute premise is 13,917.00 square meters. There are six lecture halls, classrooms, lab for distance education, two conference rooms, two computer labs, a library, museum of criminology, 9-storied hostel of 5,607.00 square meters adjacent to main building, etc.
Currently University has premises with total area 246,611.07 square meters: 18 premises for educarion of 111,820.57 square meters including sports and cultural centers; 16 hostels of 113,684.00 square meters for 6861 persons; administrative buildings of 10,793.00 square meters; medical and food catering premises of 10,313.10 square meters.
The Academy has significant research and educational potential. Teaching, research and tutorial work are realized by 34 departments, employing more than 800 lecturers. Among them 100 Doctors of Law, professors, about 600 Juris Doctors, associate professors; 1 Full Member of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine; 15 Full Members of the National Academy of Law Sciences of Ukraine; 20 Corresponding Members of the National Academy of Law Sciences of Ukraine; 15 Honoured Science and Technology Workers; 2 Honoured Art Workers of Ukraine; 1 Honoured Higher School Worker; 15 Honoured Public Education Workers of Ukraine; 14 Honoured Lawyers of Ukraine; 1 Honoured Lawyer of Russia; 1 Honoured Builder of Ukraine; 7 Honoured Professors – Elders of the National Law Academy of Ukraine named after Yaroslav the Wise; 5 Honoured Culture Workers of Ukraine; 5 Honoured Artists of Ukraine; 10 State prize laureates.
The University carries out scientific research concerning fundamental and applied problems of jurisprudence, apparently 17 targeted complex programs are being developed on four scientific directions, famous scientific schools known in Ukraine and abroad have been formed.
The University makes a major contribution to the perfection of a jural state in Ukraine, improvement of legislative and law enforcement processes. The University’s scholars took direct participation in the development of the Constitution of Ukraine currently in force and other laws and normative legal acts, are actively influencing law enforcement practice in the country. The University cooperates with the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, Secretariat of the President, Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine, ministries and departments, bodies of local government in the legislative field. Many of the University’s scholars are consultants, members of consultative councils of the Supreme Court of Ukraine, Higher Economic Court, General Prosecutor’s Office, Ministry of Interior Affairs, Central Electoral Commission of Ukraine and others government bodies.
The University takes a leading position in national legal education. It is confirmed by the results of Ukrainian rating of higher educational establishments «Compass», which taking into account the rating of employers and graduates, according to which, the University is the leader among legal educational establishments of Ukraine. The University has been awarded by the Gold Medal of XIII International Exhibition of educational establishments “Modern Education in Ukraine 2010″ in the nomination «Innovations in using IT technologies in the educational process» for the innovative project «Modern architecture of informative educational environmental» (foresight-project); has taken the first prize and awarded by Diploma in the nomination of «Innovation in higher education» for the innovative project «Semantic informative educational portal of the National University “Yaroslav the Wise Law Academy of Ukraine”» in the international exhibition-presentation «Innovation in the education of Ukraine»; has taken the Grand Prize «The Leader of the higher education of Ukraine» in the international exhibition «Modern educational establishments 2010».
The University has wide international contacts. It established cooperation and signed agreements with educational establishments of Great Britain, Vietnam, Spain, Germany, Poland, Russian Federation, USA, Uzbekistan, France and other countries. It is a participant of joint European projects in the network of «Tempus-Tasis» program and many other international projects. On September 18, 2004 the University signed the Bologna Process. On December 14, 2007 the University became the member of the European University Association. On November 20, 2011 a chapter of the International Law Students Association was established on the basis of the University’s international law society.
The Prosecutors Training Institute
Economic law Faculty
Personnel Training Institute for the Ministry of Internal Affairs of Ukraine
Personnel Training Faculty for the Ministry of Justice of Ukraine
Juridical Personnel Training Institute for the Security Service of Ukraine
Military Law Faculty
Personnel Training Faculty for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine
Professional Judges Training Faculty
Personnel Training Faculty for the State Penitentiary Department of Ukraine
Personnel Training Faculty for the Pension Fund of Ukraine
Correspondence Faculty № 1
Correspondence Faculty № 2
Crimean Law Institute
Poltava Law Institute
Nizhyn Gogol State University (Ukrainian: Ніжинський державний університет ім. Миколи Гоголя) is an academic institution in Ukraine, located in Nizhyn, Chernihiv Oblast. It is one of the oldest institutions of higher learning in Ukraine. It was originally established as the Nizhyn Lyceum of Prince Bezborodko; since then it has changed its name for several times. Currently, it consists of seven faculties and about 8,000 students study there.
The chronicle of higher school in Nizhyn dates back to 1805, when Count I. Bezborodko, in reply to his request, received the tsar’s permission for the construction of a Gymnasium in Nizhyn. On 25 July 1805 the Russian senate adopted a resolution on founding Prince Bezborodko’s Gymnasium of Higher Learning in Nizhyn.
The main building of the gymnasium was designed in the style of classical architecture by a famous 19th-century architect, Luigi Rusca. After I. Bezborodko’s death in 1815 the construction of the gymnasium was continued by his grandson, O. Kushelyov-Bezborodko, who later became its honoured administrator.
Prince Bezborodko’s Gymnasium of Higher Learning was opened for studies on 4 September 1820. The gymnasium focused on the Humanities and it was initially an educational establishment for the sons of the gentry. Its nine-year programme offered a classical education with instruction in Religion, Classical and Modern Languages, Geography, History, Physics and Mathematics, Political Economy, Military Science and the Arts.
The first director was Vasyl Kukolnyk, an outstanding scholar, Doctor of Law, Philosophy, Arts. He taught Chemistry, Technology and Agriculture, Physics, the Roman Law etc.
During the 200 years of the existence of the Higher School in Nizhyn it has changed its role several times: Prince Bezborodko Gymnasium of Higher Learning (1820-1832), Technical (Physics and Mathematics) Lyceum (1832-1840), Law School (1840-1875), Prince Oleksandr Bezborodko Historical-Philological Institute (1875-1921), Nizhyn Institute of People’s Education (1921-1934), Nizhyn Gogol State Pedagogical University (1998-2004). On 15 October 2004 it became Nizhyn State University named after Mykola Gogol.
Nizhyn State University has seven faculties: Philology, History and Law,Social and Humanitarian, Foreign Languages, Culture and Arts, Nature and Geography, Physics and Mathematics. The university comprises 31 chairs: Teaching Techniques, English Language, English Philology, etc.
There are postgraduate departments in 10 specialties; Lyceum; Two educational-methodological centres in Pryluky and Novhorod-Siversky; Preparatory department; Post-diploma education.
At present, there are 8,500 students: 3,500 students are full-time and 5,000 are extramural.
The university campus is on the bank of the Oster river right in the centre of Nizhyn.
There are five academic buildings. The most significant is the main building called the Gogol building. The memorial plaque over the entrance says “Gogol studied here: 1821-1828”. Being one of the first students of the Nizhyn Gymnasium, Gogol became an outstanding writer. Over the plaque the university motto reads “Labore Et Zelo” (“By work and diligence”).
In front of the main building is Gogol Square with a memorial to the victims of World War II. To the left of the main building is the monument to Count Bezborodko, the founder of the institution. It was unveiled in 1990 owing to the efforts of its former rector academician F. Arvat.
The new academic building of the university was erected in 1970 to mark the 165th anniversary of its foundation and the 150th anniversary of its opening. The four-storey construction hosts the university administration and Social and Humanitarian, Physics and Mathematics faculties.
In front of the new academic building there is a monument to the teacher, which is the first in Ukraine. The university park, the Count’s Park, behind the university buildings, is 200 years old. On the campus there are two more academic buildings for the students of Culture and Arts, Nature and Geography departments. Next to the administrative building you will see two dormitories, canteen, and sportsground.
The Gogol Museum is the oldest university museum. It was opened in 1909 on centenary anniversary of Gogol. The main aim of the museum was to elucidate for the present generations Gogol’s life and his creative work of the Nizhyn period. The materials are arranged on 15 stands of the two museum rooms. The exhibits include the portraits of Gogol’s parents, painted by the 19th-century artists, photocopies of the teachers and the Gymnasium students’ portraits, their progress lists, textbooks and training aids of that time.
The university library is a unique book collection, which dates back to 1820. In 1899 a separate library building was erected in Gogol Street.
During the Gymnasium’s transformation the library funds were accumulated in various ways. Much work in the formation of the book funds was done by its librarians: professors K. Shapalynsky, I. Landrazhyn, M. Solovyov, and D. Aman. Nowadays the library boasts over 1 million books and periodicals. The library has the Museum of Rare Books, the Gogol Research Centre, five reading halls for 600 readers.
The Museum of Rare Books
The Museum of Rare Books boasts over 100,000 volumes of rare books. About 2,000 books are exhibited in its two halls. Among them are the ancient editions of the 16th-18th centuries such as the Iliad and Odyssey by Homer, Eneid by Vergil, Grammar by M. Smotrytsky, Arithmetic by L. Magnytsky, etc.
The museum was opened in 1985. The great contribution to the work of it was done by the famous philologist H. Vasylkyvsky. That is why the museum was named in his honour.
The Gogol Research Centre
The Gogol Research Centre was set up in 1995. There are a number of works concerning Gogol’s life and his literary activities published by the professors and lectures of the university. About 2000 copies of books about Gogol are exhibited in its two rooms.
The University Picture Gallery
The picture gallery occupies three halls next to the Gogol Museum. Opened in 1957, it consists of 230 paintings by Ukrainian and West European artists of the 14th-20th centuries. The Renaissance school of painting is most vividly represented here. The paintings by the famous Byzantine, Italian, Flemish and Dutch artists, such as Carracci, Rubens, Van Laar and one of the famous paintings “Mary Magdalene”, painted by Titian himself, are exhibited.
Famous alumni and academics
Many outstanding writers and poets studied in Nizhyn Higher School: M. Gogol, Ye. Hrebinka, V. Zabila, L. Hlibov, M. Herbel, Yu. Zbanatsky, Ye. Hutsalo, etc.
The history of higher school in Nizhyn is connected with the names of artists: Ya.-de-Balmen, M. Samokysh; actors: F. Stravynsky, M. Kazmin. Among the graduates of Nizhyn Higher School are well-known educators, scholars, statesmen, cultural figures: academicians M. Derzhavin, A. Bohomolets. Its alumni S. Holub, L. Kostenko and others became Honoured Art Workers.
At the time of the Prince Bezborodko Gymnasium of Higher Learning a group of qualified teachers worked there: professors K. Shapalynsky, M. Belousov, F. Zinher and the artist K. Pavlov.
The university history started on September 18, 1918. Over years of its existence ONPU launched into professional life thousands of youth. Among its graduates are many talented engineers, scientists, heads of scientific organizations and universities, top management staff at different industries, as well as political actors.
Today the university represents a huge training center of high-qualification personnel in the south Ukraine. The Odessa National Polytechnic University figures among 14 Ukrainian universities, members of the European Universities Association, as well as among four Ukrainian universities, members of International Universities Association.
ONPU created a “polytechnic university” complex consolidating licea, high schools, colleges, and technical schools of the whole southern Ukraine region. 20,000 of students, graduate employees, post-graduate students are trained here, the process being effected by 4,000 lecturers, researchers and practical engineers. There are 57 academicians and corresponding members of both special Ukraine Academies of Science, more than 120 professors and Doctors of sciences, almost 450 senior lecturers, Ph.D., 21 honoured workers of Science and Engineering of Ukraine, honoured worker of the National Education of Ukraine, 13 academicians of international academies.
The teaching process follows a multistage system: Bachelor, Specialist (practical engineer), Master of Science, Candidate of Science (Ph. D.) and the Doctor of Science. The Odessa National Polytechnic University structure includes 11 institutes, teo faculties, 62 departments, technical school and college.
Extramural Engineering Studies Institute
Undergraduate Institute (Preparatory Studies)
Institute of Radioelectronics and Telecommunications
Industrial Technologies, Design and Management Institute
Machine-Building Engineering Institute
Foreign Students Preparatory Institute
Institute of Computer Systems
Power Engineering Institute
Electromechanics and Energy Consumption Institute
Business, Economics and Information Technologies Institute
Atroschenko Vasily Ivanovych, graduated in 1931, Doctor (Engineering), Academician by the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic Academy of Sciences, Honoured Actor of Science of Ukrainian SSR, Laureate of USSR State Prize, Hero of the Socialist Work, awardee of the two Lenin Orders and an Order of the Red Labour Banner.
Boreskov Georgy Konstantinovych, graduated in 1929 року, Doctor (Engineering), Academician by the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics Academy of Sciences, three times awarded with the Laureate of USSR State Prize, Hero of the Socialist Work, Director of the USSR Academy of Sciences’ Siberia Branch Institute of Catalysis.
Gorbenko Mstislav Mstislavovyc, graduated in 1970, alpinist, Master of sports in alpinism, Ist category instructor, holder of “Snow Leopard” prize, Master of sport of international category, Honoured Master of sport of USSR, Honoured Trainer of Ukraine, Honoured Worker of Physical Culture and Sports, National rank referee, awarded with “Deserved Merits” IInd and IIIrd degree Orders, “Edelweiss” Ist and IInd degree Orders, “50 years of summiting the Everest” jubilee medal by Nepali King. First Ukrainian, who in 1990 within an international expedition, uprised the highest altitude peak Everest.
Еnnan Alim Abdul-Amidovych, graduate of 1958, Doctor (Chemistry), Professor Honoured Actor of Science and Technology of Ukrainian SSR. Awardee of: The Yaroslav the Wise Vth degree Order, Medals: “Valuant Labour, 100-years V.I.Lenin jubilee”, “Labour veteran”, sign of distinction by the Ukraine Ministry of Education and Science “Scientific achievements”. Director of the Physical Chemical Institute of the Environment and Human Protection.
Nudelman Aleksandr Emmanuilovych, Doctor (Engineering), five times awarded with the Laureate of USSR State Prize, Laureate of the Lenin Prize, twice awardee as a Hero of the Socialist Work, Chief Engineer of the SKB-16.
Lobanovsky Valery Vasilievych, graduate of 1966, Honoured Trainer of Ukraine and USSR, Master of Sport of USSR in football. Hero of Ukraine. Awardee of the Red Labour Banner Oder, “Deserved Merits” IInd degree Order, medals “Badge of Honour”, “Valuant Labour”, “70th jubilee of the Armed Forces”, “Labour veteral”, the FIFA supreme sign of merit – “Desrved Merits” order. Senior trainer of USSR team, silver winner of the European Championship of 197(6?), twice times winner of the Cup of Cups, Supercup competition. Senior trainer of “Dinamo” Kyiv FC.
At the rating calculated annually among more that 400 Higher educational institutions and Universities of Ukraine (evaluated by the International Staff Academy and the Ukraine Academy of Pedagogy) the Odesa National Polytechnic University holds 15–18 rates and during last five years is rated steadily in the number of TOP TEN from among technical and technological Ukrainian Universities.
The Odessa I. I. Mechnikov National University (Ukrainian: Одеський національний університет імені І. І. Мечникова, Russian: Одесский национальный университет имени И. И. Мечникова), located in Odessa, Ukraine, is one of the country’s major universities, named after the scientist Élie Metchnikoff (who studied immunology, microbiology, and evolutionary embryology), a Nobel prizewinner in 1908. The university was founded in 1865, by an edict of Tsar Alexander II of Russia reorganizing the Richelieu Lyceum of Odessa into the new Imperial Novorossiya University. In the Soviet era, the University was renamed Odessa I. I. Mechnikov National University (literally, “Odessa National University named after I. I. Mechnikov”).
During the century and a half of its existence, the University has earned the reputation of being one of the best educational institutions in the Ukraine. The excellence of the University is also recognized outside the Ukraine; Odessa National University is one of the highest-ranked universities in the world, occupying 48th place in one rating of universities worldwide.
Odessa I. I. Mechnikov National University comprises four institutes, ten faculties, and seven specialized councils. The University is famous for its scientific library, the largest and oldest of any university in the Ukraine (3,600,000 million volumes, ranging from the 15th century to the present
The main building of Odessa National University.
Odessa I. I. Mechnikov National University is one of the oldest in Ukraine. It was founded in 1865, when by Edict of the Russian Tsar Alexander II the Richelieu Lyceum (Рішелівський ліцей, which had existed in Odessa since 1817) was reorganized into the Imperial Novorossiya (New Russia) University. All academic and scientific life of the university – from the day of its foundation – was directed by the Statute of 1863 that formed the liberal-democratic tradition of the Higher Institution which has been preserved in spite of all the disturbances in the social and political life of the country. From the very first years of its existence, the Imperial Novorossiya University became an important center of science and for training the scientific and educational cadres of the northern Black Sea coastal region.
World-famous teachers and scientists have worked at Imperial Novorossiya University during different times of its existence, including the Nobel Prize winner I. I. Mechnikov (after whom University was later renamed), Professors I. M. Sechenov, A. A. Kovalevskiy, N. F. Gamaleya, N. Y. Zelinskiy, D. L. Mendeleyev, physicist G. A. Gamov, mathematician A. M. Lyapunov, and others. Through their activities, the Imperial Novorossiya University quickly became one of the centers of the culture of the Ukrainian, Russian, and other peoples dwelling along the northern coast of the Black Sea, and the university began to play an important role in the development of science. The first Rector of the university was Professor I. Y. Sokolov. At different periods of time, the university was headed by Professors P. N. Lebedyev, A. l. Yurzhenko, A. V. Bogatskiy, V. V. Serdyuk, I. P. Zelinskiy—all prominent specialists in different branches of knowledge. At the present time,[when?] the Rector of Odessa I. I. Mechnikov National University is the Fellow of the Academy of Higher School of Ukraine V. A. Smyntyna, a specialist in surface physics.
Odessa I. I. Mechnikov National University is situated in two parts of the city and occupies summarily 70 hectares. The university is divided into a number of faculties. These faculties are directly administered by the university. Structurally, the University consists of 10 Faculties, 4 Institutes, College, two Preparatory Departments for citizens of Ukraine and foreign countries, 15 scientific-research laboratories, five scientific institutes, administration departments, experimental training shops and nine dormitories for students, post-graduates and trainees. The University has a sports- and health-rehabilitation complex with its own stadium and rest-base for the students, personnel and university guests in a picturesque section of Odessa, the village of Chernomorka. In all the areas of the University location, there are cafeterias, cafes, bars and medical sections.
Department of Biology
Department of Chemistry
Department of Cybernetics
Department of Geology and Geography
Department of Economics and Law
Department of History
Department of Philosophy
Department of Physics
Department of Philology
Department of Roman–German Philology
Institute of Mathematics, Economics and Mechanics
Institute of Social Sciences
Institute of innovation and postgraduate education
11 Scientific research laboratories
Botanic garden of ONU
Scientific-Research Institute of Physics (director – Doctor of physics and mathematics Professor A.V. Tyurin)
Study in Ukraine — Official Website
7 in Ukraine and 1844 in World — Ranking Web of Universities
Open International University of Human Development “Ukraine” is non-profit, non-state higher education institution, established in 1998.
Peter M. Talanchuk – President of University “Ukraine”, honored Scientist and Technician of Ukraine, Doctor of Technical Sciences, Professor, member of the Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine, the initiator and president of the Academy of Engineering Sciences of Ukraine, member of four international academies, honorary rector of the National Technical University of Ukraine „Kyiv Polytechnic Institute”, the first Minister of Education of independent Ukraine.
Establishment and development
The Open International University of Human Development “Ukraine” was decided to be established at the first meeting of founders on June 30, 1998. Kyiv City State Administration, the Ukrainian Union of Disabled, International Foundation for Human Development, Ukrainian Association of the Deaf, the International Foundation for Disabled Chernobyl and other entities and individuals were among the founders. By July 12, 1999 an Admission Board had started its work and 1616 first-year students were enrolled. The first branches of the university were opened in 20 cities throughout Ukraine that year.
In 2000 next two branches were established and the students were enrolled to 28 specialties. The total number of university students was around 6,000.
In 2001 the university “Ukraine” affiliates with 12,000 students’ enrollment in 24 cities of the country, in all administrative regions.
In 2002 the Institute of Generations Harmony for advanced people adaptation to the reality was organized in Kyiv. Students were being trained on 30 licensed specialties. And also a few were being prepared to be licensed. 22 branches and 2 academic consultation centers had been fully functioned. Over 17 thousand students were studying there and 1.5 thousand students with disabilities among them.
During 2003-2004, new branches and academic consultation centers (ACC) were opened. Geographically separated affiliates of the University continued to develop and the most powerful ones reorganized into institutions. The students were admitted on 47 specialties and different qualification levels. Nearly 25 thousand students study were studying at the university.
Providing educational services by distance learning methods was an educational experiment and a milestone of the University development. Innovation method was approved by the joint Order of The Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine and The Academy of Pedagogical Sciences of Ukraine. Thus, implementing the European standard education technology, University „Ukraine» offers education to persons with disabilities.
On February 24, 2004 the first local center of distance learning was established in the town of Polonne, Khmelnytsky region. Subsequently 16 regional centers of distance learning and over 300 local centers were established. As of July 1, 2004 nearly 33 000 students had been training on 50 different specialties of different qualification levels and 1514 persons of them by means distance learning.
April 19, 2005 the University „Ukraine” got the Шrd-IVth accreditation level. A new building of the University „Ukraine” was commissioned in 23 Lvivska Street in Kyiv. Three Departments (Economics and Management, Biomedical and Computer Technology) were located in it. “Universitet Ukraina” Publishing House began to function.
In 2007 University got the overall IV level of accreditation.
In 2008 the next building was commissioned and Department of Engineering Technologies and the Institute of Automobile Service.
During 2009-2010 the training and science units of the university were under a considerable consideration in order to bring their status according to the requirements of the current legislation of Ukraine. Five Departments were reorganized into institutes in Kyiv.
Now six institutes and one department compile 38 chairs. Students are trained for Bachelor, Specialist and Master degrees. Multi-disciplinary Osvita College trains junior specialists. Set into operation the Recreation Complex „Petrivs’ka Sloboda” (Mizhgir’ya region, Trans-Carpathians Mountains) always invites the students and faculty to rest. A modern student dining room was built and is functioning. The campus of the University „Ukraine” is becoming an adornment of the western part of Kyiv.
During its short history the university took a nationwide and worldwide recognition. According to the independent survey rating of higher education institutions of Ukraine being held in 2005, the University “Ukraine” took third place among 110 Ukrainian non-state universities.
After signing an agreement with the Japanese “Stars of Peace” NGO in 2006, University “Ukraine” was the first university in the world to be honored with a great University of Peace title for its high mission.
University „Ukraine” is considered to be a center of sports development, volunteer and scout youth movements. University has been awarded for his significant contribution to preventing HIV / AIDS in Ukraine. University has been noticed many times by the Kyiv city Center of Social Services for Families, Children and Youth, UNICEF, the National Scout Organization of Ukraine and others for taking systematic steps for improving the health and promoting sports activities among students. University initiated a new trend in sports movement of students with disabilities.
University President Petro M. Talanchuk is recognized by the world scientific circles. On January 6, 2003 Petro Talanchuk was elected as an Honorary Member of World Innovation Foundation (USA). The Foundation was established by the Economic Prosperity Institute in 1992 and its president Dr. Jerome Karl is a Nobel Laureate. In 2004 Petro Talanchuk was named the International Socrates Prize-winner established by „Europe Business Assembly” International Corporation of Social Partnership. The President of the University „Ukraine” is an Honorary Member of the Ukrainian Engineers’ Society in America.
Structure of the University „Ukraine”
The academic process is carried out in seven units in Kyiv:
The Institute of Law and Social Relations
The Institute of Economics and Management
The Institute of Philology and Mass Communications
The Engineering and Technology Institute
The Institute of Social Technologies
The Institute of Computer Technologies
The Faculty of Biomedical technologies
The university has 20 geographically separated affiliates (13 institutes, 3 branches and 4 colleges):
Bilotserkivska Institute of Economics and Management,
Vinnytsia Social and Economic Institute,
Gorlovsky Regional Institute,
Zhytomyr Economic- Humanities Institute,
the Carpathian Institute of Entrepreneurship (Khust),
Kirovograd Institute of Human Development,
Lutsk Institute of Human Development,
Melitopol Institute of Ecology and Social Technologies,
Mykolaiv Interregional Institute of Human Development,
Novokakhovka Humanities Institute,
Poltava Institute of Economics and Law,
Institute of Rivne,
Khmelnytsky Institute of Social Technologies,
Pridneprovsky Humanities and Economic College (Nikopol),
College „Osvita” (Kyiv).
A new building of the University „Ukraine”
Today University «Ukraine» is in comfortable buildings, well-equipped libraries, computer rooms, language laboratories, sports grounds, halls and rehabilitation centers in 20 cities. In Kyiv «Talan-studio» audio-video studio, „Universytet Ukraina” Publishing House, modern dining room and hostels are available for student study and activity. They have an opportunity to rest in the Recreation Complex „Petrivska Sloboda” in the Carpathian region or in the recreation centers in the Crimea and Volyn region. Year after year the facilities of University „Ukraine” are updated.
Science and international relations
The international cooperation of University „Ukraine” is ramified and integrated in European research and education process.
The priority of the University is the elaboration of educational technologies and simultaneous social, educational, psychological and physical rehabilitation of students with special needs. In this field the University takes a positive experience of foreign colleagues including educators from the U.S.A. Because the U.S.A as well as all developed European countries has been deeply involved in addressing to the people with special needs for a long time. Particularly in matters of equal opportunities for education of healthy and disabled, rich and poor, educators of the University „Ukraine” see the meaning of international cooperation with foreign colleagues.
Ангелы мира 2006
Collaboration of university Professors with Professor S. Raver-Lampman (Fulbright Program, USA) can be considered fruitful to improve the pedagogical support students with disabilities. With her help several meetings with the U.S. Embassy representatives in Ukraine were organized that promoted to get a grant for the project „Education in human rights perspective: improving the employability of university students with disabilities „ of the Democracy Fund of the U.S. Embassy in Ukraine. The realization of this extra important social project promoted to conduct the training seminars for students with disabilities on a career and employment issues and to continue the construction of the Career Development Center for students with disabilities.
University „Ukraine” actively cooperates with Professor K. Zaininger (USA), who regularly conducts the cycle of open lectures for colleagues and students of university. Systematic exchange of scientific and teaching materials with foreign colleagues: Professor P. Mittler (UK), Professor M. Koni M. Wisehaar (USA), Dr. I. Klaus (Germany) and with Professor E. Lindberg, Professor B. Linton (Sweden) and other leading academicians from Europe and the USA is carried out.
The university tends to widening and strengthening of international relationships. Institutes and regional affiliates promote collaboration with colleagues actively. Thus, Department of Organizations Management (Kyiv) effectively works with Information-Analytical Center of the U.S. Embassy in Ukraine. In recent years, international conferences such as the „Internet for Teachers”, „Marketing in the USA”, „Ethics Librarian” have been hosted.
University provides equal opportunities to students to express themselves in training and in leisure. Such kinds of activities are supported by student self-government and creative, initiative lectures staff.
Club of Cheerful and Quick-Witted (KVN) and Students’ Center of Amateur Activity with Studio Theater, Vocal and Dance Ensembles successfully run in the university. Bright and creative celebrations of noble dates such as Teacher’s Day, the Day of Fatherland Defenders and traditional Ukrainian holiday – Maslyana, St. Mykolay, Ivana Kupala are constantly held here. The Cossack competitions are held at the University on the holiday of Pokrov. In addition to traditional holidays, the University „Ukraine” organizes beauty contests and discos.
The „Sayvo Nadiy” (Glow of Hope) Talent Festival 2006
The „Sayvo Nadiy” (Glow of Hope) Talent Festival is dedicated to the international day of disabled people and has become the tradition in University „Ukraine”.
This event gives to the students with disabilities an opportunity to find and express themselves. The festival brings together students from many Ukrainian universities.
„The University Summer„ is a great event in the creative life of the institution.
The Scout movement has become very popular among university students.
Volunteers of University „Ukraine” take part in many all-Ukrainian youth events: „The Cossack Way”gathering-march, „Vytoky”, „Student Republic”, International Eco-cultural festival „[Trypilske Kolo]”. Students and faculty are the participants of the numerous sports events and competition at the university such as Sports Games, Physically Health Days especially for young people with different physical training. University has launched nationwide Sports Games for disabled students and many future champions have been found in them. Among the students and graduates of the University are many winners of national and international sporting events, and a real pride of the country is three Olympic champions and fifteen winners of the Paralympic and Deaflympic Games.
Outstanding students and teachers
Since the foundation University „Ukraine” has united the prominent scientists, philanthropists and patrons, artists and athletes of national and international level. Many lecturers of University „Ukraine” are Honored Educators. They have made a considerable contribution to the science and the image of this country in international scientific circles. Among them Doctor of Political Sciences, Professor Valery M. Bebyk; Honoured Journalist of Ukraine, Candidate of Philology Vasily Hubarets; Doctor of Engineering Sciences, Professor, Honoured Scientist of Ukraine Stanislav S. Zabara; Candidate of Philology, Doctor of Social and Economic Sciences, Professor, Honoured Journalist of Ukraine Vitaly Karpenko, a Candidate of Pedagogical Sciences, Professor, Honored Educator of Ukraine, Winner of the Socrates International Awards Ludmila P. Matvienko are among them.
Students of the university have achieved considerable success in sports. Including famous George Gutsalyuk, from Rivne, international class master of sports of Ukraine is a multi-winner world champion, European Champion – 2006, a multi-champion of Ukraine in kickboxing (WPKA) 2004-2009, World Cup Karate 2003, team captain of Ukraine. Many students are those whose got the victory through taking over their physical limitations. This fact is evidenced by the number of champions and winners of the Paralympic Games, among which Julia Batenkova (two silver and three bronze medals in biathlon and ski racing at the IXth Winter Paralympic Games in Turin (Italy)), Yury Kostyuk (gold, silver and double bronze medalist in biathlon and ski races IXth Winter Paralympic Games in Turin), Igor Litvinenko (second runner Paralympic Games Football (Austria), European Champion Cup) Dmitry Vynohradets (XIIIth Paralympic Games champion in swimming for athletes with lesions of the musculoskeletal system, Honorary Citizen of Poltava ) Anatoly Szewczyk (double Champion XII and XIII Paralympic Games in football athletes from injuries of musculoskeletal system, the champion of World Games for Disabled Athletes Football (New London, USA)).
Sergey Malyshevsky (runner of the Deaflympic Games in Australia, the bronze medalist of the XXIth Deaflympic Games in Taiwan, the world champion in Greco-Roman wrestling), Andrew Tkachenko (bronze medalist of the XXth and XXIst Deaflympic Games in Australia and Taiwan, silver medalist of the World Championship in Greco-Roman wrestling), Alexander Colodiy (the champion of XXIst Deaflympic games in shooting, was awarded with the Order of Courage III.), Julia Solyaruk (XX Deaflympic Games champion in volleyball) are among the winners and champions of Deaflympic Games.
Such Honored Coaches as Soslan G. Adyrkhayev, Roman P. Karpiuk, Gregoriy K. Sadoyan and others help students to achieve the highest results in sports. There are lots of creative people among students and lecturers of University „Ukraine”, whose songs, pictures and poems inspire others, and whose abilities are admired by advanced art critics. They are the artist Anatoly Lomovskiy, Honored Artist of Ukraine, singer Svetlana Myrvoda, writer Vasily Hubarets, journalist Vitaly Karpenko. The courage and creativity of already famous poets Yuri Titov, Gennadiy Horoviy, Oksana Radushynska; Olena Chynka and Michael Saveliev, who manage the Dance Ensemble, singer Inna Oliynyk and many others cause the extraordinary admiration.
Odessa University of Economics (ONEU, Ukrainian: Одеський національний економічний університет) is one of the leading and oldest Economics Universities of Ukraine. It was founded in June 1921.
Nowadays University consists of 6 campuses and 3 hostels located in the downtown of Odessa. In 2011 the university was afforded the status of ‘national university’.
The University is structured into 5 day-time departments:
Department of Management and Economics of Production
Department of International Economics
Department of Economics and Finance
Department of Economics and Credit
National University “Ostroh Academy” (Ukrainian: Національний університет «Острозька академія») is a national autonomous research university of Ukraine that is located in Ostroh. It is considered to be the first institution of higher education in Ukraine, dating to 1576 and founded by Polish nobleman of Ruthenian descent Konstanty Wasyl Ostrogski. The university was closed in 1636 and reopened only in 1994.
In the 16th century, all higher schools of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth were under influence of the Catholic or Protestant nobles. To counter this influence, Count Konstanty Ostrogski, one of the most influential people in the Crown of Poland (and later a major partisan of the Orthodox faith against the Union of Brest), founded a large school in his estate in Ostroh in what is now Ukraine. Ostrogski envisioned a lay school, that would however strengthen the Eastern Christian spirit in the country and prevent conversions to Protestantism and Catholicism, a process in full swing at the time. and as such was first mentioned in Piotr Skarga’s 1577 On the Unity of God’s Church under the Single Shepherd and on Greek Secession from this Unity.
The school was founded some time between 1576 and 1580, but it did not start full activities until 1585. Initially tasked only with translation of The Bible to Ruthenian (later published as the Ostrog Bible), with time it grew to become a permanent institution of secondary education.
A large part of the funding came from Princess Halszka Ostrogska’s testament of 1579, in which she donated “six times sixty thousand” (360,000) Lithuanian grosz to local school, hospital and Holy Spas’ (i.e. Savior’s) monastery near Lutsk.
The school, officially styled Academy, was modelled after Western European education of the epoch. It taught the trivium (grammar, rhetorics, dialectics) as well as the quadrivium (arithmetics, geometry, music and astronomy). It featured education in Latin, Greek and Ruthenian (predecessor to both modern Ukrainian and Belarusian), the only institution of higher education in the world teaching that language at the time.
The first rector of the academy was Herasym Smotrycki, a noted Eastern Christian writer of the epoch. With time, Ostrogski assembled a significant group of professors, many of them having been expelled from the Jagiellonian University (such as the first dean of astronomy Jan Latosz) or having quarreled with the king or the Catholic clergy. However, the political nature of the conflict between Ostrogski, Protestants and Catholics prevented the school from attracting enough professors of international fame. It did however invite numerous Greek scientists from abroad, including Smotrycki’s successor Kyrillos Lukaris, as well as Metropolitan bishop Kizikos, Nicefor Parasios, the envoy of the Metropolitan of Constantinople, and Emmanuel Achilleos, a religious writer. Some of the professors were also of local stock, including Jurij Rohatyniec, Wasyl Maluszycki and Jow Kniahicki. The religious character of the academy was underlined by close ties to Eastern Christian monasteries of Derman, Dubno, Slutsk and later also Pochayiv.
While the school failed to attract as many students as the founder had envisioned, it nevertheless became very influential as a centre of Ruthenian (that is Russian, Ukrainian, and Belarusian) culture and literature. Among the notable alumni were religious writer Zacharius Kopystensky, hetman Petro Konashevych-Sahaidachny, one of the fathers of Belarusian poetry Andrzej Rymsza and future exarchs of Lwów Gedeon Balaban and of Polotsk Meletius Smotrytsky, son of the first rector and a noted Orthodox writer and teacher. It also became the alma mater of professors of the so-called brotherhood schools for Orthodox burghers being founded in late 16th century all around the country in accordance with the royal decree of 1585 by king Stefan Batory. After the death of Konstanty Wasyl Ostrogski in 1608 the Ostroh Academy declined, but then was revived by his son Janusz Ostrogski as a Jesuit College.
June 18, 1578 – Ivan Fyodorov with help of teachers printed first book in Ukraine – Bukvar (Alphabet book) and “Greek-Rus’ Church Slavonic Reader”, which mentions about establishment of the Ostroh Academy.
March 9, 1579 – niece of duke Konstanty Ostrogski – princess Halszka Ostrogska confirms in testament her contribution for St. Spas Monastery, village Dorosyni and Ostroh Academy of amount of 6 000 “cop money” in lithuenian count. This was first contribution for Academy.
1580 – with assistance of teachers Ivan Fyodorov printed first in Ukraine printed “Book of New Testament”, Tymophy Mykhailovych’s “Книжка събраніе вещей нужнеѣйших вкъратцѣ скораго ради обрѣтенія в Книзе Новаго Завѣта” and first edition of science literature.
May 5, 1581 – was printed first religious poetic calendar “Которого ся мѣсяца што за старых вѣков дѣло коротко е описаніе”, known in modern science literature as Andrew Rymshi’s “Chronology”.
July 12, 1581 – was printed “Ostrog Bible”, with effort of Ivan Fyodorov and leaders of Academy this was first full printing of Eastern Orthodox’s Old Testament.
Petro Konashevych-Sahaidachny (1570 – March 20, 1622) — Ukrainian szlachta, Hetman of Ukraine (1614 – 1622).
Ostroh Сleric — pseudonym of Ukrainian unknown writer-polemnist (end of 16th – beginning of 17th century).
Meletius Smotrytsky (1577 – December 17(27), 1633) — Ukrainian linguist from Galicia, author and religious activist.
Andrew Rymsha — Ukrainian writer and translator at the end of 16th century.
The P.L. Shupyk National Medical Academy of Postgraduate Education (NMAPE) is a higher education institute in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. Through decades, the institute has established itself as a higher educational, methodological and research centre.
The Kiev Institute of Advanced Training of Physicians, nowadays the National Medical Academy of Postgraduate Education (NMAPE) named after P.L. Shupyk, one of the first academic and research institutions of Ukraine, was founded in 1918, in the period of the Ukrainian State system, in the time of revival of Ukrainian education, science and technology.
The institute got a new qualitative status in the year of the fifth anniversary of Ukrainian independence after the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine had issued the Resolution “On the formation of Kiev Medical Academy of Postgraduate Education” (13 May 1996), according to which the Academy was considered to be an educational institution of a new type and a higher IV level of accreditation.
In 1998, according to the Resolution of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine the Academy was given the name of an outstanding statesman and scientist, professor Platon L. Shupyk who twice was the Minister of Health of Ukraine. He contributed greatly to the development of the academy material, educational and scientific base.
In 2006, the academy acquired a national institution status according to a decree of the president of Ukraine.
§Campuses and buildinggs
The main building includes 7 dean’s offices, scientific educational and methodological center of distance education, teaching department, department of international relationship and scientific and pedagogical work with foreigners, department of treatment work, personnel department, legal department, budget department, chancellery, general service department, internet center, trade-union committee, library, accountancy office, methodological office, postgraduate education department, information support department, 5 Chairs, 1 auditorium.
Laboratory building includes 1 dean’s offices, consists of scientific department, central scientific research laboratory, scientific and research center, center of standardization of medical industry; scientific and methodological information department, 7 Chairs, Assembly Hall.
Through its existence the NMAPE has become a leading institution of postgraduate medical education as well as a great research centre with 6 faculties of general practice /family medicine, surgery, therapy, pediatrics, medico-prophylactic and pharmaceutical faculty, a faculty teaching staff’s advanced training and the Institute of Dentistry; there are 71 Departments where nearly 650 faculty Members work, including 2 Heroes of Ukraine, 20 Academicians and Associate Members of the NAS of Ukraine, the AMS of Ukraine, 225 Professors and Doctors of Sciences and Associate Professors; over 80 Scientists of the Academy have been given the titles of Honoured Science and Technology Worker of Ukraine, Honoured Physician of Ukraine, Honoured National Education Worker of Ukraine, Honoured Public Health Worker of Ukraine, Honoured Inventor and Rationalizer.
NMAPE is a leading centre of academic and methodological work in postgraduate fields which is authorized by the Ministry of Health of Ukraine to develop the majority of standard programs of the courses of precertification training, traineeship as computer attestation programs, applied by all medical institutions and faculties of postgraduate education.
Up to 60–70 curricula and programs of topical advanced training are developed and updated annually. Among them these are the original programs: “Digital technology in radiology”, “ Topical questions of quality maintenance and prevention of medicines adulteration”, “ Chemists’ work at the market”, “Untraditional methods of dental diseases treatment”, “Financing and management in health care in Ukraine”, “ Modern technologies in interventional cardiology”, “Ultrasound diagnosis of close defects of cardial septa”, etc.
The Department of Medical Information Technology, in particular, is an initiator, organizer and founder of one of the progressive modern form of distance education. Since 2006 the academic and methodological centre of distance education has been working at the Academy.
Physicians’ post-graduate education is composed of internship, master’s course and specialization, topical advanced training and precertification courses.
Over 20,000 physicians and pharmacists are trained at the NMAPE annually.
Scientific and research work at the academy is an integral part in training highly qualified specialists and is performed in accordance with the generalized plan of scientific and research activity. The plan includes the scientific and research activity in foreground trends that have purpose investment (funding scientific and technical programs, government orders, fundamental and applied scientific and research activity in the field of preventive and clinical medicine), initiative and competitive (department) extrabudget (state contractual) dissertations (doctor’s and candidate’s).
Scientific developments of the academy’s scientists have won 90 Medals of Exhibition of Economic Achievements, 22 of which are Gold Medals.
Of 74 departments, 61 are clinical ones. They are based in medical establishments subordinated to the boards of public health and medical maintenance of Kiev Municipal and Kiev Regional State Administration, the Ministry of Health and other boards. It is very important that 20 departments cooperate with 16 institutes of the AMS of Ukraine where medical scientific potential is concentrated.
The number of clinical bases of all property forms is 125; their potential amounts over 11,000 hospital beds.
Annually, over 20,000 surgical interventions are performed, 190,000 consultations are delivered and 100,000 patients are treated at clinical bases. NMAPE staff members implement up-dated methods of diagnosis, treatment and prophylaxis of diseases.
Within the framework of Ukrainian Emergency Medical Care Station, NMAPE staff members constantly go to regions of Ukraine to deliver consultations and medical care for patients suffering from the most severe pathology.
The teaching staff of the academy publish over 60 items of academic and methodological literature annually.
For the last five years, the results of scientific investigations have been published in 128 monographs, 27 textbooks, 177 educational manuals, 16 guides, 6 encyclopedias, 85 reference books, 38 collections of scientific publications, 7486 scientific papers and abstracts at a state level and 795 ones at international level; 51 normative documents have been worked out, 182 methodological guidelines, 69 information letters and 68 innovations have been published and distributed to different regions of Ukraine; an invention has been registered, 412 patents on inventions and 21 certificates on copyright registration have been obtained. The academy’s scientists have demonstrated their scientific achievements at 36 exhibitions and they have been organizers of 160 scientific forums. NMAPE is a co-founder of 23 journals.
§Honorable doctors and famous alumni
There worked following prominent scientists as academicians, member-correspondents of the Academy of Sciences, professors as: V.H. Vasylenko, B.M. Man’kovskyi, M.M. Amosov, O.O. Shalimov, D.F. Chobotariov, F.Yu. Bohdanov, L.I. Medvid’, O.M. Marzeiev, D.M. Kaliuzhnyi, O.I. Arutiunov, B.P. Komisarenko, V.D. Bratus’, L.V. Tymoshenko, M.H. Shandala, E.L. Macheret, M.D. Strazhesko, M.S. Kolomiichenko and others at the Academy.
At different times in Ukraine the founders of new schools became scientists of the Academy such as M.M. Amosov, Yu.P. Vdovychenko, Yu.V. Voronenko, I.M. Hanzha, O.A. Yevdoshchenko, Ye.V. Kohanevych, E.L. Macheret, O.P. Mintser, M.Ye. Polishchyk, M.M. Sergiienko, L.V. Tymoshenko, A.I. Trishchuns’kyi, O.O. Shalimov.
Academics, member-correspondents of National Academy of Science and National Academy of Medical Science such as H.V. Knyshov, V.I. Koziavkin, L.A. Pyrih, Yu.I. Feshchenko, Yu.V. Voronenko, M.Ye. Polishyk, M.M. Sergiienko, L.A. Pyrih, who are well known in our country and abroad work at the Academy today.
In 1993, the Department of International Relations and Scientific-Pedagogical Work with Foreign Subjects was organized. The major purpose of the department is to participate in developing and realizing international educational, scientific, clinical and humanitarian programs.
The relation of the Academy with foreign countries develops from year to year. Annually, over 30-50 foreign delegations visit the Academy. A number of agreements on cooperation with many countries have been signed.
Over 70 scientists visit other countries annually. Training visits are aimed at on-site training in the leading clinics, exchanging experience, establishing cooperation relations, participating in congress, symposia. Young scientists take traineeships in leading clinics of the West.
The Resource Center of training specialists for controlling HIV/AIDS infection under the WHO guidance has been created in conjunction with American International Health Care Association. Thanks to Zurich University, an International Center of Genenic investigations has been created. An International School of Classic Homeopathy has been founded owing to financing and support of George Vithoulkas.
Leading scientists of Germany, Greece, Sweden, Austria, and the UK are honorous professors of the Academy.
The academy’s partners are the University of Colorado (United States), the Jagiellonian University (Poland), the Scottish Royal College of General Practitioners (United Kingdom), the German Academy of Development Rehabilitation (Munich), the University of Bari (Italy), the Medical University of Lublin (Poland), the Slovak Medical University, the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich (Germany), the University of Maastricht (The Netherlands), the Medical University of Silesia (Poland), the International Academy of Classical Homeopathy (Greece), the Bielorussian Medical Academy of Post-Graduate Education, etc.
Great attention is paid at the Academy to training foreign citizens. Almost 400 foreigners from 54 countries are trained at NMAPE annually. Young scientists of the Academy take traineeships in leading clinics of France, Sweden, Poland, the United Kingdom, the United States, Switzerland, etc.
§Awards and reputation
Honorary diploma of national project “Leaders of Education and Science of Ukraine” for considerable contribution to the development of science and education of Ukraine (25.09.2012)
Grand Prix certificate “The Leader of Postgraduate Education of Ukraine” (1–3 March 2012)
The Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture (Ukrainian: Придніпровська державна академія будівництва та архітектури) is one of the major academic institutions of higher education in Ukraine, specializing in engineering and economics, located in Dnipropetrovsk. Founded in 1930 as the “Dnipropetrovsk Institute of Civil Engineering”, it currently has 7 faculties and 590 full-time faculty members (including 79 full professors and 266 associate professors). It is a member of several academic co-operations, including the IAU (1997) and АUF (2006).
Although the PSACEA officially opened its doors in 1930, the history of what became the current institution reaches back further. In the 1921, a College of Engineering was formed on the site and run by the government. In 1930 the сollege moved to its current location and was reorganized in Dnipropetrovsk Institute of Civil Engineering. Finally, it was given its current name in 1994. The campus is believed to be the location of the Krestovozdvijensky cathedral site.
Serving approximately 9,000 students primarily from the greater Dnipropetrovsk Oblast area, PSACEA has more than 55,000 alumni. The Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture operates year round on the semesters system. Two semesters, each 22 weeks in duration.
Today, the campus of the PSACEA consists of 3 buildings, which are connected by hallways. The area includes a library with four reading halls and twelve computing centres. It also holds an indoor swimming complex, weight-training facilities, a gymnastics practice facility, a shooting-gallery, fencing rooms and a sports camp. sports grounds which includes indoors swimming-pool, seven gymnasiums, shooting-gallery and sports camp. The Gymnasium can hold about 4,000 people for the home basketball, indoor soccer, women’s gymnastics and volleyball events. Students housing is available in eight dormitories, which offer catering services, recreational facilities and other amenities. There are a variety of group fitness programs at PSACEA. These programs are open to students, faculty, staff, and community members.
The Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture offers the following graduate programs (sorted by faculty) All programs lead to B.Sc and M.Sc.
Faculty of Civil & Industrial Engineering
Faculty of Architecture
Faculty of Mechanics
Faculty of Economics
Accounting and Auditing
Faculty of Construction
Faculty of Ecology and Environmental engineering
Ecology and Environmental engineering
With combination of knowledge and experience in higher education and research the Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture aims to train specialists (BSc, MSc and PhD).
§Bachelor’s degree programmes
The Bachelor phase starts each year in September and lasts four years and successful completion of a Bachelor’s program results in a BSc or BA degree.
§Master’s degree programmes
Program usually takes one year. Successful completion of a Master’s program is awarded with a Master’s degree, MSc.
§PhD degree programmes
Most departments, research institutes and faculties offer doctorate programs or positions, leading to a PhD degree. PhD programs last between three and four years. The results of the research are written down in a PhD thesis, often including papers published in scientific journals.
For some Bachelor’s and Master’s programmes in Mechanics and Economics the language of instruction is English. Programmes taught in French leading to Bachelor and Master degrees are offered at Civil Engineering and Architecture. Scientific and student exchanges are being realizing with nine foreign universities from France, Canada, China, Croatia, Poland, Slovakia, Macedonia, and Belgium. Every year over 30 students and post-graduate students are sent abroad to study there.
The library is the main resource for recorded knowledge and information supporting the teaching, research, and service functions of Prydniprovska State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture. Because of its size and depth, it is an important community and regional resource and a key part of institution’s role as a regional university. The library currently holds over 525 770 volumes, as well as having approximately 43 406 current subscriptions to print periodicals.
The Young Engineer is a student paper that used to publish twice a month.
The Sumy State University (SSU) (Ukrainian: Сумський державний університет) is located in Sumy Oblast, in the historical region of Sloboda Ukraine. According to the Webometrics Rating, Sumy State University ranks 6th in worldwide Internet rating among Ukrainian institutes of higher education as of July 2012
SSU history is closely connected with history of Public Joint Stock Company «Sumy Frunze Machine-Building Science and Production Association». During this period the foundation of Academic and Support Services (ASS) of Moscow Metal Industry Correspondence Institute (Moscow State University of Instrument Engineering and Computer Science) began. Due to the organization of Ukrainian Correspondence Polytechnic Institute (UCPI), ASS became UCPI branch in 1958. On May 1960 Sumy General Technical Faculty on the basis of Ukrainian Correspondence Polytechnic Institute (UCPI) was established. In 1965 Faculty became a branch of Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute (National Technical University “Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute”). In 1966 the educational institution in Sumy was reorganized into a branch of the Kharkiv Polytechnic Institute. In 1990 the branch was renamed the Sumy Institute of Physics and Technology. In 1993 the Sumy Institute of Physics and Technology was awarded the status of State University. In 1993 Sumy State University was founded.
Faculty of Electronics and Informational Technologies (Faculty ELIT)
Faculty of Foreign Philology and Social Communication (Humanitarian Faculty)
Faculty of Technical Systems and Energy Efficient Technologies (Faculty TeSEET)
Faculty of Economics and Management (FEM)
Faculty of Skills Upgrading and Pedagogical Innovations
Faculty of Law
Department for International Education
Regional Center of Distance Learning
Medical Institute of Sumy State University
The Shostka Institute of Sumy State University
The Konotop Institute of Sumy State University
Machine-Building College of Sumy State University
Ivan Kozhedub Chemical and technological College of Shostka Institute of Sumy State University
Politechnic School of Konotop Institute of Sumy State University
Industrial Pedagogical Technical School of Konotop Institute of Sumy State University
The Konotop Institute of the Sumy State University (ki.sumdu.edu.ua)
The Shostka Institute of the Sumy State University (shinst.sumdu.edu.ua)
The Machine-building College of Sumy State University (mk.sumdu.edu.ua)
About 85 Doctors of sciences, more than 535 candidates of sciences, associate Professors work at the university.
13,446 students are enrolled. About 1240 foreign students from almost 50 countries, including the USA, Western Europe, Australia, and all regions of Africa and Asia, are studying at Sumy State University.
SSU is a member of Magna Charta Universitatum, International Association of Universities, European University Association, Eurasian Association of Universities, and the World Health Organization.
It has close international relations with leading university and scientific organizations in Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Germany, Slovenia and Russia.
Annually SSU carries out about 400 scientific agreements, contracts and carries out over 70 international grants. SSU activity directs to the integration into scientific and education sphere. SSU has about 100 hundred partners and about 1240 foreign students, academic mobility, active scientific development cooperation with foreign universities, associations and funds, program of dual diplomas with European institutions of higher education.
Scientific activity at the Sumy State University is related with:
Fundamental investigations in physics and mathematics.
Production and optimization of: innovatory workflows, progressive methods of material processing, automatic lines, equipment, machines and tools for engineering industry.
Ecological problems of the applied chemistry. Elaboration of progressive technology and equipment for chemical industry.
Environmental ecological and economic problems and its protection.
Elaboration of simulators, methods and algorithms of the processes of designing and optimization of complex systems.
Investigation of immunity peculiarities of children, which live in environmentally unfavorable terrains.
The Superior Institute of Religious Sciences of St. Thomas Aquinas is an institution of higher education in Kiev (Ukraine), conducted by the Dominican Friars of the Vicariate General of Russia and Ukraine and, affiliated to the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum).
Taras Shevchenko University or officially the Taras Shevchenko National University of Kyiv (Ukrainian: Київський національний університет імені Тараса Шевченка), colloquially known in Ukrainian as KNU (Ukrainian: Київський національний універcитет – КНУ) is located in Kiev, the capital of Ukraine. It is the third oldest university in Ukraine after the University of Lviv and University of Kharkiv. Currently, its structure consists of fifteen faculties (academic departments) and five institutes. It was founded in 1834 as the Kiev Imperial University of Saint Vladimir, and since then it has changed its name several times. During the Soviet Union era, Taras Shevchenko University was one of the top-three universities in the USSR, along with Moscow State University and Leningrad State University. It is ranked as the best university in Ukraine in many rankings (see below). Throughout history, the university has produced many famous alumni including Nikolay Bunge, Mykhailo Drahomanov, Mykhailo Hrushevskyi, Nikolai Berdyaev, Mikhail Bulgakov, Viacheslav Chornovil, Leonid Kravchuk, and many
The University today
Taras Shevchenko University’s original building, the “Red Building”, today.
Taras Shevchenko University is named after Taras Shevchenko, a major figure in Ukrainian literature and art. It is an institution of higher education that trains specialists in many fields of knowledge and carries out research. It is considered the most prestigious university in Ukraine and a major centre of advanced learning and progressive thinking. It consists of more faculties and departments, and trains specialists in a greater number of academic fields, than any other Ukrainian educational institution.
Nowadays, as it has done throughout its history, the University retains its role of a major center of learning and research as well as an important cultural center. Its academics and students follow the long-standing traditions of the highest academic standards and democratic ideals. At present, the student body of Taras Shevchenko University totals about 20,000 students; this number includes almost 2,000 students at the Institute of International Relations which is attached to Taras Shevchenko University.
As training highly qualified specialists has always been the main goal, the faculties and departments constantly revise their curricula and introduce new programs. A number of faculties offer 4-year Bachelor’s and 2-year Master’s Degree programs, together with traditional 5-year Specialist Degree programs. Currently the stress is on student’s ability to work independently and meet employer’s requirements, thus practical experience in the field being of foremost importance. The curricula of all Taras Shevchenko University faculties are based on the combination of academic instruction with student’s research work and the combination of thorough theoretical knowledge with specific skills. Having acquired theoretical knowledge in the first and the second year, in their third year undergraduates choose an area to specialize in. At the same time they choose a field for their independent study, joining elective special seminars; the results of research are usually presented at the meetings of students’ scientific societies or at scientific conferences, the most interesting results are published.
Nicholas I of Russia, a founding father of the Saint Vladimir University in Kiev.
§Saint Vladimir University
An early 20th-century Russian postcard picturing Saint Vladimir University in Kiev.
The University was founded in 1834, when the Emperor Nicholas I of Russia signed the Charter about the creation of the University named after Saint Vladimir, the ruler who Christianized the Kievan Rus’. This name was chosen by the authorities of the Russian Empire, where the role of Orthodox Christianity was immense, and may have reflected the ongoing importance of Kiev as the cradle of Eastern Christianity for the entire Empire.
The university benefited from assets transferred from Vilnius University, which was closed in the aftermath of the November Uprising of 1831. The first 62 students started their studies at the university in 1834, in its one faculty, the Faculty of Philosophy, which had two Departments: The Department of History and Philology and The Department of Physics and Mathematics. There were new additions to the original department in 1835 and 1847: the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Medicine. Later on, the original Faculty of Philosophy was divided into two separate units: the Faculty of History and Philology and the Faculty of Natural Sciences. There were no more additions to the number of departments until the 1920s.
The walls of the main building are painted in red while the tops and bottoms of its columns are painted black. Ukrainian composer Mykola Leontovych’s Shchedryk was premiered at the Kyiv University on December 26, 1916 by the university’s choir directed by Oleksandr Koshyts.
§Taras Shevchenko University
In 1939, Saint Vladimir University was renamed after Taras Shevchenko (upon graduation from the Imperial Academy of Arts in Saint Petersburg, then the capital of the Empire, Taras Shevchenko returned to Kiev, and between 1845–1846, was employed by the Archaeological and Ethnographic Commission at the University until his arrest in 1847). Since 1960, when the first international students were admitted, over 20,000 highly qualified specialists have been trained at Taras Shevchenko University for 120 countries. The first foreign students of the Taras Shevchenko University came from Cuba, Guinea, Indonesia, Ghana, Togo, Nigeria, Cameroon, Benin, Zanzibar, Yemen, Algeria, and Afghanistan. They continued on to became doctors, engineers, agriculturists, diplomats, economists, and statesmen in their respective countries.
During the Soviet period, the Taras Shevchenko University received one Order of Lenin (1959) and one Order of the October Revolution (1984). Additionally, in 2002 the asteroid 4868 Knushevia was named in honour of Kyiv Taras Shevchenko University.
§Reputation and rankings
In 2009, Delovoy magazine ranked Taras Shevchenko University as the best university in Ukraine, being nationally the strongest in the greatest number of academic fields. According to the independent ranking of 228 universities in Ukraine performed by Compas, Taras Shevchenko University was ranked the first best position in Ukraine regarding the adequacy of alumni to the labor market of Ukraine. According to Scopus (2009), Taras Shevchenko University has the highest research paper output of any Ukrainian university, and is also the top research producer (as assessed by total paper citation count). The university features in the Webometrics Ranking of World Universities (2010) at 1,346 out of 8,000 in the world, at 63 out of top 100 universities of the Central and Eastern Europe, and a leading academic institution in Ukraine.
§Foreign Partner Universities
The University currently maintains relations and, in some cases, student exchange programs with universities of forty countries; a figure which includes a number of former republics of the Soviet Union and other countries which Ukraine traditionally, over the past 70 years prior to independence in 1991, did not have official bilateral relations with. A small selection of partner universities is displayed below.
Organisation and administration
§Schools / Faculties
These are the 15 faculties and 5 institutes into which the university is divided:
Faculty of Chemistry
Faculty of Cybernetics
Faculty of Geography
Faculty of Geology
Faculty of Economics
Faculty of Information Technologies
Faculty of History
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Mechanics and Mathematics
Faculty of Philosophy
Faculty of Physics
Faculty of Radio Physics, Electronics and Computer Systems
Faculty of Psychology
Faculty of Sociology
Institute of Philology
Institute of Journalism
Institute of International Relations
Institute of High Technologies
Institute of Biology
The Cybernetics faculty of KNU, located at the Akademmistechko campus.
Astronomical Observatory of the Taras Shevchenko University (Ukrainian)
Maksymovych Scientific Library
University Botanic Garden named after Academic O. Fomin (Ukrainian)
Kaniv Natural Reserved Park of the Taras Shevchenko University (Ukrainian)
Regional Cisco Networking Academy (Ukrainian)
Information & Computer Centre of the Taras Shevchenko University (Ukrainian)
Scientific and Research Department of the Taras Shevchenko University (Ukrainian)
Center of Ukrainian Studies
Ukrainian Physico-Mathematical Lyceum (Ukrainian)
Ukrainian Humanitarian Lyceum (Ukrainian)
Science Park Taras Shevchenko University of Kyiv
After its initial establishment the university was located in private rooms in Pechersk, and was named for St. Vladimir. Now the main building (built 1837-42 by architect V I Beretti) can be found at 60 Vladimirska Street, whilst a number of humanities departments are located at 14 Shevchenko Boulevard 14 (formerly the First Kyiv Gymnasium). Furthermore, there are departments located on Glushkov Street (building 6, built 1954-70) and Vasylkivska Street (Library is located in building No. 90, built in 1939). The university’s administration is housed in buildings 58-64 on Vladimirska Street.
§The red building
Main article: Red University Building
It was constructed from 1837–1843 and was built in the late Russian Classicism style, by a Russian architect of Italian descent, Vincent I. Beretti. The building forms an enormous square enclosing a courtyard; the length of the main facade is 145.68m. The walls of the building are painted blood red and the capitals and bases of the portico’s columns are painted black, corresponding to the colours of the ribbon of the Order of St. Vladimir (founded in 1782), as Kyiv University used to bear the name of this Order. The motto of the Order, “Benefit, honor and glory” (Pol’za Chest’ i Slava) also, subsequently, became the motto of Kyiv University. Local tour guides sometime state that Tsar Nicholas I ordered the entire main building painted red in response to student conscription protests during World War I to remind students of blood spilled by Ukrainian soldiers. The legend does not reflect the historical fact, as the building was painted red before WWI, in 1842. Nicholas I of Russia (1825–1855) died long before World War I (1914–1918). Built at the top of a hill, this building has significantly influenced Kiev’s architectural layout in the 19th century.
The botanical garden’s greenhouse.
The university’s A.V. Fomin Botanical Garden (named after Academician Aleksandr V. Fomin, 1869–1935) was founded in 1839 and planned by architect V. Beretti and botanist R. E. Trautfetterom. The total area covered by the garden is around 5.22 hectares; it has a collection of over 10 000 species, forms and varieties of plants. The garden’s greenhouse’s height, after reconstruction in 1977, is about 33 meters and is the largest in the world. The university’s first orangerie was built in 1846-49 for its collection of tropical and subtropical plants; a collection which has now over two thousand items and is one of the largest in Europe. The gardens are located at the city centre campus, to the rear of the red building; the nearest metro station is Universytet.
§Yellow building and Maksymovych Library
University’s library, part of the city centre campus.
The Humanities Building or ‘Yellow’ building of the university is located at 14 Shevchenko boulevard, built in 1850-52 it was designed in the classical style by the architect Alexander Vikentiyovych Beretti (1816–95), son of V. Beretti, the architect of by the main (red) building. The building initially belonged to the First Gymnasium (a grammar school, in which taught M. Berlin and M. Kostomarov, and students of which include: artists Nikolai Ge and V.Levandovskyy, M. Zakrevskii historian, economist M. Bunge, poet M.Herbel, sculptor P. Isabella, writers Bulgakov and K. Paustovsky and future academics E. Tarle and O. Bogomolets, A. Lunacharsky). In 1919 the academic Vernadsky, first president of the Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, took up residence in part of the building. Since 1959, the building has been part of the Kyiv National University.
The Maksymovych Library (58 Vladimirska Street), built in 1939-40, is a neo-classical building designed by architects VA Osmaka and P. Alyoshin as the university’s Humanities building. Currently the library holds around 3.5 million books, making it currently the largest research library in Ukraine. Along with the No.1 branch of the National Library of Ukraine (62 Vladimirska Street), which was designed by the same architects in the 1929-30, and the main (red) building of the university, the Maksymovych library forms an important and impressive architectural ensemble which is today considered to be one of Kiev’s key collective architectural monuments.
The building of the KNU Institute of International Relations and Institute of Journalism.
In the 1960s it became imperative that the Kyiv National University acquire more space for its greatly expanded number of departments. It was with this in mind that the building of a complex of new buildings for the university started on the southwestern outskirts of Kiev (opposite the National Exhibition Centre of Ukraine). The authors of the final project were architects V E Ladnyi, M P Budylovskyi, V E Kolomiets and engineer V Y Drizo.
The Institute of International Relations and Institute of Journalism’s joint building at 36 Melnikova Street, developed by Kyivproect architects O Nosenko, I Shpara, Yu Duhovichny, O Klishchuk and Y Vig, was awarded the State Prize of Ukraine in the field of architecture in 1995.
The astronomical observatory of Kyiv National University is located at 3 Observatorna Street; founded in 1845, it was initially planned to place an observatory in the Main Building of the university (as evidenced by existing architectural designs for the red building), however, it was later decided to build for a separate building to house the observatory. This task was again entrusted Vincenty Beretta, it was built in 1841-1845 and officially opened on February 7, 1845.
Taurida National V.I. Vernadsky University (TNU) (Ukrainian: Таврійський національний університет імені В.І. Вернадського (ТНУ)) is a public, coeducational university located in Simferopol, Crimea. The university was founded in 1918 with active participation of the geologist Vladimir Vernadsky. The university now bears his name. The university has 16 departments and 20 academic institutes. The university has the status of national and is accredited to the fourth level by the Ministry of Education of Ukraine.
The Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics
The Faculty of Physics
The Faculty of Biology
The Faculty of Chemistry
The Faculty of History
The Faculty of Philosophy
The Faculty of Geography
The Faculty of Slavic Philology and Journalism
The Faculty of Ukrainian Philology
The Faculty of Foreign Philology
The Faculty of Law
The Faculty of Economics
The Faculty of Management
The Faculty of Physical Training and Sports
The Faculty of Crimean Tartar and Oriental Philology
Institute of Advanced Studies
Sevastopol Economic-Humanitarian Institute
College of Taurida National V.I. Vernadsky University
Ternopil Ivan Pului National Technical University (Ukrainian: Тернопільський національний технічний університет імені Івана Пулюя) is a university in Ternopil, Ukraine.
Ternopil Ivan Pul’uj National Technical University (abbreviated TNTU) – the leading higher technical educational institution in Western Ukraine, founded in 1960.
Today it is the only higher technical educational institution that provides training of all academic levels, DScs and PhDs for such regions as Ternopil, Chernivtsi, Ivano-Frankivsk, Rivne and Khmelnitsky.
The History of the University
The origins of the university reach 1960, when Ternopil All-technical Department of the Lviv Polytechnic Institute with the extra-mural and part-time study forms was organized on the 11th of March. Stolyarchuk V.P., Ph.D. was appointed the Head of the Department; and the training was conducted by 12 teachers. In February 1962 Shcherbakov A.O., Ph.D. started working as the Head of the Department. At the same time full-time specialist training was opened.
On May 15th 1964 the Department was reorganized into Ternopil affiliate of Lviv Polytechnic University with the first chairs of higher mathematics, drawing geometry and graphics, technical mechanics, physics and energetics. Shcherbakov A.O., Ph.D. became director of the affiliate. In 1964-1968 new chairs were formed: the Chair of social and political sciences, theoretical mechanics, foreign languages, metal technologies, machine tools and instruments, physics, general and theoretical electrics and physical education. At that time the affiliate trained specialists in the following specialties: mechanical engineering, metal-cutting machine tools and instruments, electrical measuring equipment and radio equipment.
In March 1968 Polishchuk A.G., Ph.D. became director of the affiliate. The intense work on the necessary instrumentation of teaching rooms and laboratories, expansion of the teaching areas, replenishment of the teaching staff with Candidates and Doctors of Science, organization of the Extra-Mural Studies Department and creation of the chair affiliates at production was being conducted.
In October 1985 Shabliy O.M., Sc.D was appointed director of the Ternopil affiliate of Lviv Polytechnic University. He initiated the opening of new specialties: technology and equipment of the welding production, automation of the technological processes and productions, instrumentation, biotechnical and medical apparatuses and systems; construction of the new teaching building was conducted. Due to the active and effective work of the headsand staff on the 27th of February 1991, Ternopil InstrumentationInstitute was created on the basis of the Ternopil affiliate of Lviv Polytechnic University, being the second higher educational institution of this directionin Ukraine. The first rector chosen by the staff was Shabliy O.M., Sc.D. At that time the Institute comprised 3 departments integrating 13 chairs. The general quantity of students was 2420. 150 teachers worked at the Institute, 76 of them being Candidates and Doctors of Science. Since April 1995 the educational institution has carried the name of the outstanding Ukrainian scientist and public man Ivan Pul’uj. In accordance with the decision of the InterbranchAccreditation Commission, in 1994 the Institute was accredited as a IV level educational institution.
The creation of the Institute was a powerful impetus to the new quality changes and further growth. The restructuring of the economy of the region and the necessity of providing staff for overcoming the crisis helped change the orientation of the Institute and carry out its considerable structural reconstruction. The Institute has practically lost its narrow applied line gradually transforming into the multibranch higher technical educational institution.
Considering the real developments and achievements of the staff, the Regulation of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine № 1536 from the 30th of December 1996 approved the creation of Ternopil Ivan Pul’uj State Technical University on the basis of Ternopil InstrumentationInstitute. Academician Shabliy O.M. became the rector of the university.
University is an educational, scientific, engineering and cultural centre of the western region of Ukraine. Nowadays it is the only higher technical educational institution of the region providing the training of specialists of all qualification levels, Doctors and Candidates of Science for the region comprising also Chernivtsi, Ivano-Frankivsk, Khmelnytskyy and Rivne.
Since 1999 the university has been a full member of the European University Association – an organization uniting more than 600 European universities, it also holds membership in the national association of rectors from 43 countries which is the main representative organ for the higher educational institutions in Europe. The European University Association is a consultative member of the Supporting group of the Conference of Ministers of Education from European countries. The university takes active part in fulfilling one of the main tasks of the association which is the creation of the European higher education space where students, teachers and scientists would be able to accomplish their own intentions and ideas on the basis of the established European educational norms.
On the 16th of September 2005 Ternopil Ivan Pul’uj State Technical University joined the European Declaration of the higher educational institutions of the Magna Charta Universitatum comprising fundamental principles, rights and duties of the universities as the outposts of culture, knowledge and research and uniting more than 530 leading universities of Europe, among them 14 from Ukraine.
The range of specialties taught at the affiliate, institute and, finally, university has gradually extended, and presently the amount of specialties for bachelors, specialists and masters reaches the number of 20. Altogether they are united in 15 directions.
8 departments are functioning within the university: Computer Technologies Department, Department of Computer Information Systems and Program Engineering, Electrical Engineering Department, Food and Processing Production Department, Mechanical Engineering Department, Economy and Entrepreneurship Department, Department of Management and Business in Production, Department of Testing Instruments and Radio Computer Systems. The training is also conducted at the International studies centre and Pre-university studies centre. The re-training and skill upgrading is organized by the Post-graduate studies centre.
The educational process is assured by 34 chairs. Among them there are 5 humanitarian chairs (Ukrainian Studies and Philosophy; Psychology in Production; Foreign Languages; Sports and Physical Rehabilitation and Physical Education); 3 fundamental chairs (Higher Mathematics; Physics and Mathematical Methods in Engineering); 4 all-engineering chairs (Graphic Modeling; Information Science and Mathematical Modeling; Construction Mechanics and Electrical Engineering) and 22 specialized chairs (Mechanical Engineering; Computer Technologies in Mechanical Engineering; Food Biotechnology and Chemistry; Food Technologies Equipment; Production Marketing; Production Management; Entrepreneurship Management; Computer Sciences; Machine Tools, Device and Machines Design; Technical Mechanics and Agricultural Machine Building; Illuminating Engineering; Welding Production Technologies and Equipment; Apparatuses and Testing Instruments; Biotechnical Systems; Automation of Technological Processes and Production; Computer Integrated Technologies; Energy-Saving and Energy Management; Power Consumption Systems and Computer Technologies in Power Industry; Radio Computer Systems; Economic Cybernetics; Economic Theory, Finance, Registry and Control).
The following training centers are functioning at the university: Information technologies centre comprising the regional CISCO academy, regional centre for the certified specialists training on the programs of Microsoft IT Àñàdemy and SUN Microsystems, the laboratory of the Shnaider-Electricenterprise and certification examination centre of the European Virtual University. The graduates of the academy receive certificates of the international standard.
Ternopil Ivan Pul’uj Technical University also includes the Technical College in Ternopil and the Gusyatyn and Zboriv Colleges situated in Gusyatyn and Zboriv respectively.
Presently the general enrollment of students, masters and post-graduate students in the university alone comprises around 6000 persons. The general licensed amount of full time bachelors is 945 persons, masters – 325 and specialists – 695 persons; the amount of distance studies bachelors is 900 persons, masters – 320 and specialists – 865 persons.
TNTU has founded and is a leading member of the regional educational and scientific amalgamation “Technical personnel”, the Junior Academy of Sciences, educational and scientific complexes “Svitlo”, “Gazda”, “Dostatok”, “Agromash”, “Computer” and “Proforientatsiya”. Pre-university student training is conducted at the Technical Lyceum of the university and amalgamation “Vatra” as well as at the lyceum school in Dobryvody, specialized schools and gymnasiums.
In 1995 the university transferred to the specialist training pursuant to the educational and professional programs of the Ministry of Education of Ukraine. The education model approved envisions, besides the high professional training, the accomplishment of task-oriented programs of the intense fundamental training and computer education, modernization of the economic sciences teaching, humanization of the educational process, development of the foreign language teaching and advance in the legal education of specialists.
Faculty of Computer Technologies
6.050201 System Engineering
6.050202 Automation and Computer-integrated Technologies
7.05020201, 8.05020201 Automated Control of Technological Processes
7.05020202, 8.05020202 Computer-Integrated Technological Processes and Productions
Faculty of Electrical Engineering
6.050701 Electrical Engineering and Electric Technologies
7.05070103, 8.05070103 Electrotechnical Systems of Electricity Consumption
7.05070105, 8.05070105 Lighting Engineering and Sources of Light
7.05070108, 8.05070108 Energy Management
Faculty of Computer Information Systems and Software Engineering
6.050103 Program Engineering
7.05010302, 8.05010302 Software Engineering
6.050101 Computer Sciences
7.05010101, 8.05010101 Information Management Systems and Technologies
6.050102 Computer Engineering
7.05010201, 8.05010201 Computer Systems and Networks
6.170101 Information and Communication Systems Security
Faculty of Control-Measuring and Radio Computer Systems
7.05100302, 8.05100302 Instruments and Systems of Precise Mechanics
6.050901 Radio Engineering
7.05090102 Equipment of Radio Communication, Radio Broadcasting and Television
6.050902 Radio-Electronic Devices
7.05090204, 8.05090204 Biotechnical and Medical Devices and Systems
Mechanical Engineering Faculty
6.050502 Engineering Mechanics
7.05050201, 8.05050201 Technologies of Mechanical Engineering
7.05050401, 8.05050401 Welding Technologies and Equipment
6.060101 Civil Engineering
8.06010101 Industrial and Civil Construction
6.070106 Automobile Transport
Faculty of Management and Business
7.03010201, 8.03010201 Psychology
7.03060101, 8.03060101 Management of Organizations and Administration
8.03060102 Management of Innovative Activity
8.18010012 Innovation Management
Faculty of Economics and Entrepreneurship
6.030502 Economic Cybernetics
7.03050201, 8.03050201 Economic Cybernetics
6.030504 Economics of Enterprise
7.03050701, 8.03050701 Marketing
6.030508 Finance and Credit
7.03050801, 8.03050801 Finance and Credit
6.030509 Accounting and audit
7.03050901, 8.03050901 Accounting and audit
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering and Food Technologies
6.050503 Mechanical Engineering
7.05050301, 8.05050301 Metal-Cutting Machine Tools and Systems
7.05050312, 8.05050312 Agricultural Machines and Equipment
7.05050313, 8.05050313 Food Industry Processing Equipment
6.051701 Food Engineering and Technologies
7.05170107, 8.05170107 Fruit and Vegetable Storage, Preservation and Processing Technologies
7.05170108 Milk Storage, Preservation and Processing Technologies
6.070101 Transport Technologies (according to the types of transport)
6.051702 Technological Expertize and Food Production Security
6.051702 Engineering Expertise and Food Products Safety
Foreign Students Faculty
English language of study
6.050101 Computer Sciences
7.05010101, 8.05010101 Information Control Systems and Technologies
7.03060101, 8.03060101 Management of Organizations
6.050502 Engineering Mechanics
Ukrainian language of study: All accredited fields of study and specialities
Teaching staff is represented by more than 200 teachers, including one corresponding member of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, one member of the New York Academy of Sciences, 10 academicians and corresponding members of the specialized academies, 24 doctors of sciences, professors, more than 140 PhDs, assistant professors. Among them well-known and respected scholars and teachers: PhD, Professor P. Yasniy, Academician of Engineering Academy, PhD in Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Professor, Honored master of sciences and engineering of Ukraine O. Shabliy, Honoured inventor of Ukraine, PhD in Technology Sciences B. Hevko; PhD in Technology Sciences, Professor R. Rohatynskiy, PhD in Technology Sciences T. Rybak, professors: L. Didukh, V. Nikonenko, I. Zubchenko, P. Stuhlyak, V. Hrynchutskyy, B. Yukalo; Associate Professors: M. Mykhailyshyn, P. Kryvyi, B. Tartaryn, V. Lobas, B. Shelestovskyy, V. Kukharska, Y. Prots, M. Palamar, I. Bakushevych, B. Jaworskiy and others.
A lot of our graduates has connected their further work to the university, among them Academician of the Academy of Engineering Sciences of Ukraine, Rector, Sc.D. Petro Yasniy; Vice-Rector for Teaching and Educational Affairs, Sc.D. Ihor Lutsiv; the member of the Writer Association of Ukraine, public man, Vice-Rector for Humanitarian Education and Pedagogical Work, Ph.D. Oleg Herman; Head of Computer Technologies Department, Sc.D., Stukhlyak P.D.; Head of Mechanical Engineering Department, Ph.D., Yuriy Palyvoda; Head of Department of Management and Business in Production, Ph.D. Andriy Oksentiuk etc. We are proud of our graduates occupying responsible posts at Ternopil enterprises – amalgamation “Vatra”, Combine Factory, factory “Saturn” as well as other enterprises in different regions of Ukraine.
TNTU Specialized Councils
Specialized Council D58.052.01 to defend the thesis for the Doctor of Science degree in the field: 01.02.04 “Malformed solid body mechanics” (engineering sciences) 01.05.02 “Mathematical modeling and computational methods” (engineering sciences) Board chairman: prof. Petro Volodymyrovych Yasniy
Specialized Council D58.052.02 to defend the thesis for the Doctor of Science degree in the field 05.05.11 “Machines and mechanization of agricultural production” Board chairman: prof. Tymofiy Ivanovych Rybak.
Specialized Council K58.052.03 to defend the thesis for the Ph.D degree in the field: 05.02.08 “Engineering Technology”; 05.03.01 “Machining processes, machine tools and instruments”; Board chairman: prof. Bogdan Matviyovych Hevko
Specialized Council K58.052.04 to defend the thesis for the Ph.D degree in the field: 05.09.07 “Light Engineering and light sources” Board chairman: prof. Volodymyr Andriyovych Andriychuk
Specialized Council K58.052.05 to defend the thesis for the Ph.D degree in the field: 08.00.04 “Economics and Management of Enterprises” Board chairman: DSc in Economics Bogdan Mykolayovych Andrushkiv.
Specialized Council K58.052.06 to defend the thesis for the Ph.D degree in the field: 05.13.05 “Computer Systems and components” 05.13.06 “Information Technology” Board chairman: prof. Mykola Volodymyrovych Pryymak
Ternopil National Economic University, TNEU (Ukrainian: Тернопільський Національний Економічний Університет, Ternopils’kyy Natsional’nyy Economichnyy Universytet) founded in 1971. It is located in the city of Ternopil, Ternopil Oblast, Ukraine.
The University was founded in 1966, when the Department of Financial and Economic Faculty of Kyiv Institute of National Economy was opened in Ternopil. Within the years, the Department was transformed into the Faculty (1967), after that – into Financial and Economic Institute (1971), Institute of National Economy (1989), Academy of National Economy (1994). In March 30, 2005 the educational establishment became a University. In September 29, 2006 the National status was conferred to the University.
Campuses and buildings
Nowadays the TNEU complex includes 14 training and laboratorial complexes, a library, 4 sport gyms, 3 sports-grounds, 8 dormitories, 9 economic and service buildings.
Academic Departments by Faculty
[Faculty of Accounting and Audit]
[Faculty of Agricultural Economics and Management]
[Faculty of Banking Business]
[Faculty of Computer Informational Technologies]
Department of Information Computing Systems and Control
American-Ukrainian School of Computer Sciences and Technologies
[Faculty of Economics and Investment Management]
[Faculty of Economics and Management]
[Faculty of Finance]
[Faculty of International Business and Management]
[Faculty of Law]
[The Ukrainian-Dutch Faculty of Economics and Management]
[Faculty of Post-Graduate Studies]
Participation in international organizations
European Association of International Education (1999).
European University Association (2007);
Magna Charta Universitatum (2008);
Talloires Network (from 2012).
Agreements with foreign partners
Cooperation with 52 foreign educational institutions is established (16 higher educational institutions of Poland; 7 – of Russia; 4 – of Germany; 3 – of Belarus, Italy, the USA; 2 – of Bulgaria, Kazakhstan, China; 1 – of Austria, Greece, Denmark, Canada, Lithuania, Moldova, the Netherlands, Spain, Romania, France).